We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough at Leigh

Leigh Road, Hildenborough TN11 9AJ, England
+44 1732 832149
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good22%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (13 reviews)
“sunday roast” (10 reviews)
“lamb” (8 reviews)
Closed
12:00 - 21:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Leigh Road, Hildenborough TN11 9AJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 170 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We were sadly disappointed with our visit to The Plough Inn. The staff were unwelcoming. We all ordered roasts, 1 chicken and 3 lamb. When the food arrived it has to be said it looked good. The young waitress she would be back with some...More

Thank jeff261159
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a beautiful venue i can now understand why they picked it. The hog roast was fantastic and quickly served for the amount of people there. Thank you so much for being a part of a wonderful day with friends and family

Thank rakeevil
Hazel-and-Mick, Owner at The Plough at Leigh, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

And thank you for your 5 star rating and lovely review. It was an amzingly relaxed and fun wedding and we are so pleased you all enjoyed yourselves:)

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great Father’s Day dinner for 13 people (8 kids, 5 adults) in the Plough. Searched for a country pub in Kent where we could eat and kids could have a run around. This place ticks all the boxes! Lovely low beam Pub with outside wishing...More

Thank Sonnydniro
Hazel-and-Mick, Owner at The Plough at Leigh, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Morning to you and many thanks for taking the time to write us such an amazing review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your Father's Day so much and every box was ticked! We'll look forward to greeting you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here for a family pub roast. We were not sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. The service is great, the roasts were amazing (I had roast beef and my husband had the roast pork). By far the best Sunday roast we’ve...More

Thank JoE0110
Hazel-and-Mick, Owner at The Plough at Leigh, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Morning and thank you for your 5 star rating and lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and our amazing Father's Day roasts. I hope you also found time to visit "Bazaar" with us for their 20th year bringing India and Nepal...More

Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic. Attended a wedding there Sat. Beautiful setting, really friendly staff, gr8 food

Thank chuck1es
Hazel-and-Mick, Owner at The Plough at Leigh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Superb! So glad you all enjoyed yourselves - it was indeed a magnificent day :)

Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

My friends and I stopped at the Plough on our way to Tunbridge Wells as we got lost and were very hungry! It was the perfect find... great atmosphere, great food and superb service! Staff were friendly and attentive and overall we had and excellent...More

Thank Sofia D
Hazel-and-Mick, Owner at The Plough at Leigh, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Good Afternoon Sofia, Thank you so much for your wonderful review - thank goodness you got lost and found us! We'll look forward to greeting you again soon with more of the same:)

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Poor table service. Waitress forget one main course and bread for starters, had to ask 3 times for condiments and then tried to over charge us. Average pub food to be honest. Too many reviews on this page read like paid or promoted reviewers.More

1  Thank Nigel B
Hazel-and-Mick, Owner at The Plough at Leigh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Good Afternoon Nigel, We are bitterly disappointed in hearing you didn't enjoy your visit to The Plough.We will have a chat with the team as to what happened on your visit and retrain as it appears appropriate. Believe me however that no review has been...More

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Service is awful. Waitress forgot a main meal. We also brought a birthday cake with us which they tried to charge £12 for. This would be fine if mentioned. A real shame as the food itself is not bad.More

1  Thank Jonathan H
Hazel-and-Mick, Owner at The Plough at Leigh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Good Afternoon Jonathan, It sounds as if you were part of Nigels party and we are so pleased you enjoyed the food:) We are bitterly disappointed in hearing you didn't enjoy the service however and we will have a chat with the team as to...More

Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

I looked this up on TA and saw the excellent reviews so booked in advance and we were not disappointed an excellent hostelry. We were greeted by the Landlord and had an excellent meal our dog Buddy was welcomed in to the bar area.

Thank cravenwatson
Hazel-and-Mick, Owner at The Plough at Leigh, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to us during your holiday and felt well looked after. We'll look forward to welcoming you again if and when you are next in the area!

Reviewed 23 April 2018

Took dog for a walk across the fields and on arrival realised they had a wedding party on that afternoon. We sat in the garden dubious whether we could order any food or not, although the garden was jampacked. When the order arrived, three pork...More

Thank Henry H
Hazel-and-Mick, Owner at The Plough at Leigh, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thanks Henry for a lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and the open sanis! As general information and especially as we move into the garden and wedding season we do recommend you check social media for our opening times which can change...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Hildenborough Hotels
Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel
398 reviews
.96 miles away
Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge
504 reviews
1.46 miles away
Premier Inn Tonbridge Hotel
391 reviews
2.11 miles away
Salomons Estate
287 reviews
3.28 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Cinnamon Square
321 reviews
1.17 miles away
Gurkha Planet
219 reviews
1.33 miles away
Fleur de Lis
81 reviews
1.35 miles away
Cafe 1809
265 reviews
1.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Haysden Country Park
213 reviews
.73 miles away
Tonbridge Castle
180 reviews
1.46 miles away
Artspring Gallery
16 reviews
1.45 miles away
St Peter & St Paul
11 reviews
1.46 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Linda J
7 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Neil K | Reviewed this property |
About 25 miles but allow for traffic on M25
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Leigh Road, Hildenborough TN11 9AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Hildenborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1732 832149
  • E-mail
Description
We are a warm friendly Real Ale 16C Pub with atmosphere and a 17C Barn for your idyllic private party or Wedding. We offer a seasonal menu cooked from fresh produce. It's the small personal touches that makes us different. The homemade baking, preserve and chutney making, cooking & garnishing with foraged fruits from our own land and local surroundings. The use of vegetables and imagination in the preparation of our vegetarian dishes. There is something for everyone: Snacks, Open Sandwiches, Soups, Manly meat dishes and Ladies lunches, Veggie & Salads, Fish from the Kent Coast & Children's Menu serving real food.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing