We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£7 - £20
CUISINES
Mediterranean
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,595)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,595 results
Traveller rating
973
267
161
116
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
973
267
161
116
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken supreme steak kebab mini desserts calamari belly pork fries pizza cake bulls head birthday meal goats cheese lunch menu two courses lovely meal booked a table be visiting again
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today

Went to Ego as a special treat with my husband. Went 2 weeks ago food and service was 100% so we expected the same. Waiter explained the offers and menus. Very polite and knowledgeable. I had vegan Garlic mushrooms for starters. They were fresh and...delicious. Main was a Greek salad, waiter said can keep feta off, I asked for no cucumber. Came with cucumber, sent it back very politely. I also asked for some lettuce as it was a bit sparce, once again staff very helpful. What I didn't realise was salad is made in the morning, if you don't like an item the chef has to pick said item off your plate and send it back out to you. This they did, leaving some cucumber in.come on Ego, place was not busy, I really expected more. In my opinion, this is a lazy corner to cut.young waiter still very polite. Then in Came the big guns!!!!!!! I presume she was duty manager. Told me I had changed my tone of voice and insisted on calling me sweetheart or love, neither of these I am. They did knock £10 off the bill but I didn't want that. I know how difficult it is for restaurants in this climate. The lady was in for 10 rounds and didn't want to stop . So disappointing, left feeling so deflated and special day ruined. Will wait a while to return and will check who us on duty first I'm afraid.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Food ok. Best part was meeting a young female called Kirsty very friendly polite and really knowledgeable about her job.

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Smithson, General Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for the 5 stars, Andrea! We are glad to hear you had a great time dining with us. I will pass you thanks to Kirsty and the team.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic restaurant, the staff were excellent and they couldn’t do enough for us. We were there for a family 40th birthday the food was delicious as were the cocktails. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Smithson, General Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for the excellent review! We are glad to hear you and your family had a fabulous time celebrating with us and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in here, haven’t been for some time. Were shown to a nice table. Waitress was lovely! We chose from the fixed price menu, the food was really tasty and great value for money. We will definitely be back

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Smithson, General Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for the amazing 5 stars, Lizzie! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Whenever we visit Wakefield we always try to fit in a trip to Ego at the bulls head. The atmosphere is so relaxed and the surroundings just lovely! The staff are all so friendly and go the extra mile to make your visit enjoyable. Tonight...we were served by Caroline and Matt who ensured we had everything we wanted and all was meeting expectations! We started with tomato garlic bread - delicious!! We took advantage of Thursdays kebab night special and indulged in chicken piri piri and truffle fries. We then could not resist sharing a triple chocolate brownie sundae - OMG - amazing!!!!! Mr P and I left feeling like we had had a wonderful evening and Ego had treated us like family. We could not have asked for more and will definitely be returning soon xxMore

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Smithson, General Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for the fabulous feedback, Dawn! We are so glad to hear you all had a great time dining with us and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We used up my Birthday offer & took a friend with us. As ever the food was superb and the staff excellent. I had the pan roasted cod and my companions the trout fillets.

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Smithson, General Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Happy birthday, Ray! We are glad to hear you had great time dining with us.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fabulous food. Had the Moroccan Lamb which was so tasty with just the right amount of spices. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Definitely will be going again in the very near future.

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Smithson, General Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the excellent 5 stars, Janet! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good food. Excellent service and good value. We had the Dine out for 2 for £30.00 plus a bottle of wine for £10.A lovely place with a buzzing atmosphere, we will certainly revisit

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Smithson, General Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the 5 stars, Margaret - we hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful food & excellent establishment - will definately be returning soon. Very helpful & polite staff. Cocktails were 2 4 £9 which is excellent value too the Mrs was well impressed ! We were hoping to return for the bank holiday party on the 26th...but family illness prevented this but well be back there again for sureMore

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Smithson, General Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the amazing 10 out of 10 review! We hope to see you both again for some more cocktails.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a birthday meal at Ego at Horbury, as we wanted somewhere which was child friendly and had good food for the adults too. We had a good celebration, the staff were helpful and everyone enjoyed their food. There were some technical issues with...the system that made it harder for prebooking and working out the bill on the day. The staff had to work harder to check the bills, as the set meal prices were not registered properly on the system. We had some good discount vouchers that we used, and the staff were efficient, friendly and helpful and everyone had a good day. We have been back a few times since then as it is a good welcoming place with a good choice of food and we recommend it as having something for everyone.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Smithson, General Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the 4 stars, Elena! We are glad to hear you had a lovely time dining with us. We hope to welcome you all back soon to make it a 5 star next time.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good restaurant with a wide choice of foods but the wonderful Crème Brûlée is no longer on the menu. Rather annoying phone going off all the time as the staff never bother to answer it. Impossible to book by phone because of this. A good...way to lose business. Food and service excellentMore

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Smithson, General Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing this with us Hilary - we hope you can join us again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good food from a wide choice menu, pleasant surroundings and great staff/service. Enjoyed by us and our foreign visitors.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Smithson, General Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your great 5 star review - we hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The venue looked great and the outside play area was a bonus but the first interaction with a member of staff was at the bar and this was not a pleasant experience, it was appalling to be fair. She was rude, not engaging and just...was not friendly at all. This continued throughout our visits to the bar before we sat down to eat. The rest of the staff however were nice and helpful. As the weather was good the staff were relaxed with us not sitting down inside at our allocated time which was appreciated but I suspect that could have been because it wasn’t busy. The food itself was ok but the meat on the Sunday lunch was on the tough side and it took far too long to come out. Although you’d expect it, all 10 meals did come out together. Over all it wasn’t a great experience and I can’t see any of us returning any time soon - if at all.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Smithson, General Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit - please do always let us know if there are any issues with your food, or service during your meal - we can then try and rectify them for you. We will be...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It’s not the first time we have been here. Beautiful food, lovely surroundings and excellent service. I love the lamb tagine and the strawberry and passion fruit Eton mess was delicious. We will definitely be back again.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Smithson, General Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Lovely feedback to read, Denise - thanks so much and see you soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really good atmosphere and friendly staff. Good price offers and very clean. Good wirh children too. Nice outdoor space .

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Smithson, General Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for sharing your great 5 star review with us - we really appreciate it!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Holiday Inn Leeds - Wakefield M1, JCT.40, an IHG Hotel
834 reviews
1.71 miles away
Ramada Wakefield M1
679 reviews
1.86 miles away
Campanile Wakefield
458 reviews
2.03 miles away
The Mews Hotel
543 reviews
2.10 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Shepherds Arms Inc Nostalgic Kitchen
423 reviews
.30 miles away
Rich and Fancy
143 reviews
.24 miles away
Bistro 42 Horbury
394 reviews
.24 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Secret Garden
48 reviews
.97 miles away
Leisure Club at Cedar Court Wakefield
27 reviews
1.10 miles away
Ossett Brewery
24 reviews
1.63 miles away
Boons
15 reviews
.23 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Trips670
7 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Diane C | Reviewed this property |
Certainly. Not cheap but if you sign up for emails they send a treat for your birthday & lots of mid week discounts. Service is very good and we have found the food to be excellent. Enjoy!
2
Votes
Sharon B
24 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 51Capta | Reviewed this property |
Yes early evening, they do have a children's menu
1
Vote
Jade C
28 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ChrissieH | Reviewed this property |
Would suggest you ring them or call in as soon as poss , it is quite a large place , was formerly a pub, but depends when in December as probably get busy with Christmas parties,
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

EGO AT THE BULL'S HEAD, HORBURY - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury

Yes, Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5