We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Steakhouse, Pub, Bar, Mediterranean, Vegetarian Friendly
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings

Location and contact

About
Enjoy freshly cooked Mediterranean food, wine, cocktails and cask ales in a beautifully extended pub and restaurant just 3 miles from Wakefield. Ego at The Bull’s Head is a must visit for its Mediterranean food, family friendly dining, al fresco dining terrace and kid’s playground. This Mediterranean inspired pub and restaurant is ideal for large groups, special occasions, family celebrations and intimate dining.
PRICE RANGE
US$9 - US$26
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Pub, Bar, Mediterranean
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveller rating
373
106
59
39
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
373
106
59
39
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken supreme steak mini desserts belly pork mixed kebab salmon fish cakes prawn cocktail tapas chilli fries pizza soup pudding bulls head our waiter the fixed price menu birthday meal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Rude Obnoxious manager Rude Obnoxious superviser Ordered a Well don Sirloin tinniest steak ever seen & burnt, onion rings soggy as a bag of wet fish All the Obnoxious Manager could say was Il knock you a couple quid off for the onion rings ......More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Ellie S
MariaSmithson, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded today

We're sorry to hear this Ellie and your feedback has been shared with the team.

Reviewed 3 days ago

We go to the Bulls Head quite often and are never disappointed. The food is good and the staff are excellent and always friendly.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank bwilko2017
MariaSmithson, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much. Glad you had a lovely time.

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I have been here twice in the last few months and the first time was very good but the most recent was disappointing. This second time we were left stood at the bar for ages despite the place having loads of empty tables we had...More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank hwarm815
MariaSmithson, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review although sorry to read about your experience. We do sincerely hope, that as you have visited before and it was very good, you give us another opportunity to WOW you and show your last visit...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Family visit to celebrate my daughters birthday. Our party of five included two vegetarians. Absolutely no problems at all in everyone being able to choose a good meal off the extensive menu. Everything coming from the kitchen looked so good. I can particularly recommend the...More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank The_Crofter
MariaSmithson, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you and we are so glad you had a wonderful visit for your daughter's birthday. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We went to this restaurant as heard good reviews for a friend's birthday meal. Booked table for 8pm and was. Told our table. Was. Ready do you mind waiting it won't be long. So we happily went to the bar had a drink. Only. To...More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank KatieS2386
MariaSmithson, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your feedback. It has been shared with the team to look in to further.

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This is the restaurant of choice of my daughter who lives nearby and came highly recommended by her. So hubby and I decided to take her and her fiancé here today to celebrate her birthday. Plenty of parking spaces in a private car park got...More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank DawnPace
MariaSmithson, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you Dawn what a lovely review to read through this morning. The whole team, Antonio and the chefs will be delighted to read about your experience. We hope to welcome you all back again soon.

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I have always rated this venue for food and a good atmosphere. However on this occasssion, Valentine's day it was clear that the management were only interested in profit. If you are advertising an event then then at least make some effort The only thing...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Sicardus
MariaSmithson, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review although sorry to read about your experience regarding the atmosphere. This feedback will be taken on board for next year's Valentine's and subsequent events in the future. Regards

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not impressed with the ambiance of the evening. No romantic music, no flowers or candles on the table. The menu was also misleading. Supposed to be a fixed price for a 3 course meal at £26.95 but then added an extra £3 if you choose...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Lyndann50
MariaSmithson, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to head your experience was below your expectations. Your feedback regarding the confusion on the menu has been passed back to our senior team who write and design the menus to ensure...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Ego at the bulls head on a Monday night so it was fairly quiet, but the service was very good. There is plenty of choice for all tastes and budgets with various deals on the meals, wine and cocktails. The food was very...More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank anthonygQ2148TI
MariaSmithson, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Anthony, Thank you so much for letting us know you had a lovely time with us when you joined us for our Monday night offer - we will pass on your great feedback to the kitchen team. See you again soon...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for my granddaughters birthday treat , was beautiful the restaurant is beautiful , very trendy with lovely glass wear and table settings , the seats were comfortable too. We ordered from the fixed menu , olives with out drinks , starters of calamari ,...More

Date of visit: February 2019
2  Thank angelas1966
MariaSmithson, Guest Relations Manager at Ego at The Bull's Head, Horbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning, Thank you for your lovely 5 star feedback - we are so pleased that you all enjoyed your Grandaughter's special celebration - we hope we helped to make it special for you all! We will pass on your comments to the team about...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
1,671 reviews
1.10 miles away
Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel
585 reviews
1.43 miles away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
697 reviews
1.71 miles away
Ramada Wakefield
339 reviews
1.85 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 15 nearby restaurants
Rich and Fancy
63 reviews
.24 miles away
Bistro 42 Horbury
252 reviews
.23 miles away
Retro Roadhouse Cafe
16 reviews
.27 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 3 nearby attractions
The Secret Garden
21 reviews
.97 miles away
Vintage Garden Spa
31 reviews
1.84 miles away
Boons
8 reviews
.22 miles away
Ossett Town Hall
19 reviews
1.86 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ian M
7 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from KarenSmith_13 | Reviewed this property |
Yes
2
Votes
Yorky111
24 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 51Capta | Reviewed this property |
Yes early evening, they do have a children's menu
1
Vote
Jade C
28 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ChrissieH | Reviewed this property |
Would suggest you ring them or call in as soon as poss , it is quite a large place , was formerly a pub, but depends when in December as probably get busy with Christmas parties,
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing