We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Country pub with locally sourced homemade Food, gorgeous views, B&B and huge pub garden. Free parking outside on the high street.
PRICE RANGE
£2 - £12
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly
Reviews (539)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
271
162
58
23
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
271
162
58
23
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pie sunday roast homemade chips beef scampi salad beer garden the pub evening meal bar area friendly place home cooked warm welcome stayed here lovely food at lunchtime home made
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

We had a very enjoyable over night stay in the Cottage Garden accommodation. Breakfasts were great a beautifully presented and Kayomi, in particular, was so attentive and is an absolute credit to the Turks Head.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had four different meals here on Thursday 6th June . All were of a good quality and presented well on there plates . Staff happy and smiling and most helpful. Looks like they have renovated the dining room as it was very smart. Excellent...value for money, Would recommend to all.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Noble, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your feedback & visit, we do hope to see you again :)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Terrible. Worst meal in years. Utterly disgusting. Ordered spanakopita & calamari. Simple Greek pie with feta & spinach. Everything. Soggy, untrimmed gritty spinach in some sort of revolting cheese sauce with soggy filo pastry reheated in microwave. No discernible feta flavour. Vile. Awful sticks of...frozen calamari cooked in dirty oil. Made a big fuss of cutting own chips by hand on the premises & twice cooked! Wow..they can cut a potato & cook it twice! Both times badly.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Noble, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry I really don’t know how to respond to this, I have checked in with the waiting & kitchen team regarding all orders over the last week. We’ve served 9 spanakopita this week, all eaten, no complaints & empty plates! We have several fryers due...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had dinner here and we were lucky enough to sit outside in the beer garden, under the cover to escape the showers that were threatening. The food was OK and decent value. Nothing special though.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Noble, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback:)

Reviewed 28 April 2024 via mobile

Very accommodating, lovely food and great outdoor area to sit with the dogs. Sunday dinner was so good and the range of food on the menu would satisfy anyone

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Noble, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

Thank you for your visit & review, much appreciated ☺️

Reviewed 17 April 2024

Rude manager when trying to check in on arrival. Rooms OK, breakfast staff Barbara and morning cleaner lovely Food GoodMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Noble, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2024

Ah Kim so sad to read this, after accepting your apology. You arrived already clearly unhappy when I asked for your a card to complete check in you refused, stating you’d pre paid & demanded the keys, you told me you’d had a long journey...More

Reviewed 1 April 2024 via mobile

After visiting Cragside, we came into Rothbury to find somewhere for lunch. Delighted we came across The Turks Head. A warm welcome and good food. Nice ambience. Food was really good, fresh and hot. Very good service. Would recommend if in the area. Prices are...reasonable too.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Noble, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2024

Thank you so much, we really appreciate your visit & review :)

Reviewed 19 March 2024

If I could give a higher score for the Turks Head I would. What I can say about it is wow. We stayed 4 nights in the quadruple room which was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The staff went above and beyond to make us...feel comfortable nothing was too much trouble. The food was exceptional. Overall the staff made you feel like they’d known you for years as a best friend. We will definitely book here again and would advise anyone to stay here.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Noble, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Wow. Just wow, thank you so much, we all do try our best, hospitality can be difficult but great guests make it a joy, we do hope to see you again soon ☺️

Reviewed 19 March 2024

Stayed for 4 nights in the Garden room, cannot give this pub a high enough recommendation, room was excellent, very cosy, comfy bed, great shower, Breakfast was very filling, did us for the whole day, Sunday roast in the bar was perfect. Locals very friendly,...Will definitely stay again.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Noble, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, we hope to see you again :) Thank you ☺️

Reviewed 6 March 2024

Stayed in The Garden Room for 2 nights. Facilities first class, room absolutely huge with separate sitting room. Breakfast both mornings delicious and top quality ingredients, served by an extremely friendly young lady. Only 40 minutes from home but definitely return for another visit. Well...done to the whole team.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Noble, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Thank you so much for your kind review, we do hope to see you both again :)

Reviewed 26 February 2024

No complaints regarding the quality of the food. Tall young woman wearing a hoody wasn't particularly friendly. When I went to pay she didn't offer me a receipt. No pepper on the table and vinegar bottle nearly empty. Must have been clear that we weren't...local, but no member of staff engaged in conversation, asked if we had enjoyed our meal or if we wanted coffee etc. Service was somewhat indifferentMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Noble, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

I have spoken to the members of the team working that day & appreciate your feedback. We normally get great feedback about friendliness of the team & don’t treat regulars differently to others customers (possibly more polite as there can be general banter/ well intended...More

Reviewed 25 February 2024 via mobile

Fantastic and proper pub Sunday roast. The roast beef was the softest and most tender I’ve ever had and all the veg was lovely. Such a warm atmosphere from the fantastic staff too, who welcomed us and our pooches. Service was very prompt and so...friendly. We popped in after a 3 hour hike over Rothbury tops and it was perfect; we will certainly return. Would highly recommend if you’re in Rothbury and want some delicious pub food.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Noble, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2024

Thank you so much, we really appreciate your lovely feedback:)

Reviewed 23 February 2024 via mobile

Amazingly quick service and lovely selection of non-hoppy draught beers. Food was tasty, and the staff were really accommodating. Perfect for a quick bite

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Noble, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

Thank you so much, really appreciate your kind feedback:)

Reviewed 23 February 2024

Lovely discovery for lunch in Rothbury today Would normally go to a cafe but found the ones of old had disappeared! Warm greeting, tables joined to fit us in and then prompt service though they were busy. All four of us had delicious meals from...the lite bite menu. Made our day out in Rothbury!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Noble, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

Thank you for your lovely review, I think you were the lovely lady who came & chatted after your meal as we talked about the cafes. So kind, we hope you come back again, thank you :

Reviewed 15 January 2024

Decided to call for lunch as I hadn't been for years. I had my favourite, Mince and dumplings, just perfect for a cold winter's day. The meal was huge and could only place a small amount of vegetables in the bowl with the mince and...dumplings. The food was served hot on a well-heated plate and everything was perfect. I thought that I had sufficient space for a dessert and ordered sticky toffee pudding. It was delicious but a big mistake to order it as I definitely did not have the capacity to eat anymore!!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Noble, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

Thank you, really appreciate this smashing review. Glad you enjoyed your visit & hope you visit again, hopefully not years this time 😬😂

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Linden Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2,863 reviews
6.81 miles away
The Hog's Head Inn
1,158 reviews
10.56 miles away
The White Swan Hotel
1,536 reviews
10.88 miles away
Premier Inn Alnwick hotel
163 reviews
10.92 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
La Mensa
181 reviews
.17 miles away
Newcastle House Restaurant
314 reviews
.05 miles away
Bewicks Rothbury
103 reviews
.06 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Narrow Nick
69 reviews
.24 miles away
Rothbury Riverside Walk
49 reviews
.40 miles away
Pots & Paws
76 reviews
.19 miles away
Coquetdale Art Gallery
19 reviews
.09 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
cockneyjohn504022
31 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from DebbieN447 | Property representative |
Language at the bar other than the staff I’m afraid I can do little about, we have a charity swear bar front & centre. Could you let me know when you are so I can investigate the kitchen issue. Wiping tables is something... More
0
Votes
chogwops
25 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from DebbieN447 | Property representative |
Sorry I don’t get message alerts so very probably too late! Yes we do :)
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE TURKS HEAD, Rothbury - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Turks Head

The Turks Head is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5