We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wholemeal Cafe

££ - £££European, Cafe,
60 Commercial Street, Takaka 7110, New Zealand
+64 3-525 9426
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good32%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“curly fries” (3 reviews)
“quiche” (11 reviews)
“nachos” (4 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, Cafe, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
60 Commercial Street, Takaka 7110, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

This place has really great atmosphere and music. The food selection was good with lots of fresh, local ingredients. The staff are very friendly and quick. Right in the centre of the village/town with lots of nice little shops in walking distance. The next door...More

Thank Dev0n60
52scorpio, Owner at The Wholemeal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

thanks for a flattering review, it makes our day to get a response like this , to be fair the Dangerous Kitchen has just reopened after a 7 week winter break so just getting up to speed again , we all try for good reviews...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came for lunch with friends and sat out on the sunny deck, at the rear of the cafe. The food was good, although the nachos weren't as good as the first time. Freshly cooked, with lashings of green sauce. Worth a stop.

Thank Jared7707
52scorpio, Owner at The Wholemeal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for stoping in Jared , we appreciate you taking the time to write a review

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fast friendly service great food. Magnificent place to go with family or friends :). recommend to all. :)

Thank freerangernz
52scorpio, Owner at The Wholemeal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Freerange , appreciate the review thanks

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been dropping into the Wholemeal Cafe off and on for over 8 years now. It's always an interesting experience. From the notice boards on the way in to the quality of the food, it always delivers as an enriching event. The staff change fairly...More

Thank Alli C
52scorpio, Owner at The Wholemeal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Alli , we really appreciate positive review thanks for taking the time , we have a really solid team in the kitchen , chefs and baristas most have worked in the cafe a decade , yes fairly high turnover on the FOH

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautifully presented cafe, Amazing coffee and staff. Delicious food great vibe. If your in Takaka you MUST check it out!

Thank Todd P
52scorpio, Owner at The Wholemeal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Cheers Todd ,You made our day ,

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I normally don't get too excited about eggs at cafes and tend to order other things while out, but on this occasion I couldn't resist the eggs anatoki,as I love anatoki salmon. The salmon was perfect, just under and the touch of crispy skin made...More

1  Thank Gabrielle T
52scorpio, Owner at The Wholemeal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Gabrielle , A review like this means so much to myself and the team , and yes a good fresh free range egg well cooked is something to get exited about , we appreciate your positive review

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Happy to come back when I visit the area. Good food, good coffee, nice trendy place. Contrary to other reviews I read here, never experienced poor service.

1  Thank Antoine R
52scorpio, Owner at The Wholemeal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and a pleasant one is really appreciated ,its unfortunate that more people complain than complement . often it is more about having a bad day than a bad experience ,

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Arrived around 10.30am & ordered 2 cooked breakfasts. first one arrived quickly but the second one never showed up. Asked counter person where the second breakfast was & was told they would check. after 10 minutes no response so asked a second person where breakfast...More

1  Thank NewZealandWino
52scorpio, Owner at The Wholemeal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Cheers for the review as dismal as it is , yes it was a busy Sunday morning, we had a Chef off sick, no front of house manager and due to down season so extra staff to call in. This mistake was handled really badly...More

Reviewed 13 July 2017

Firstly, the coffee was very good. My nachos were OK with a lot of chilled salad pieces which made most of the meal cold and the corn chips were pretty soft. My partners soup was nice but rather thin. The place itself was a theatre...More

Thank Steve W
52scorpio, Owner at The Wholemeal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

thanks Steve , good coffee is a great start , we try hard to make every meal great , but what can i say a cafe is like a person and can have good and not so good days , i hope we do better...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We always visited The Wholemeal when holidaying here (now we live here, lucky us). Anyway...food is always great, excellent coffee. Be prepared for a small wait if they are busy, but so worth it

Thank PruNZ
52scorpio, Owner at The Wholemeal Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

thanks , the wholemeal team and myself really appreciate that you take the time to write a positive review

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Dangerous Kitchen
333 reviews
.02 miles away
The Brigand
212 reviews
.09 miles away
Roots Bar
60 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Golden Bay Air
186 reviews
3.25 miles away
Aroha Health Spa and Sanctuary
13 reviews
4.37 miles away
Adventure Flights Golden Bay
144 reviews
3.21 miles away
Anatoki Salmon
267 reviews
2.66 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Wholemeal Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 15:00
Monday
07:30 - 15:30
Tuesday
07:30 - 15:30
Wednesday
07:30 - 15:30
Thursday
07:30 - 15:30
Friday
07:30 - 15:00
Saturday
08:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 60 Commercial Street, Takaka 7110, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Nelson-Tasman Region  >  Golden Bay  >  Takaka
  • Phone Number: +64 3-525 9426
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing