We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The White Lion

££ - £££
Contemporary, Diner, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Manley Road | Alvanley, Frodsham WA6 9DD, England
+44 1928 722949
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 12:00 - 21:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 288: English reviews
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited the White Lion for a family meal last Sunday evening and were delighted with the service, the food and the atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and chatty, and even though we didn't sit in the table service area, they were very attentive and helpful. The refurb is simply stunning and we love the Christmas decorations, it's a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann-Pim
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As recommend by good friends of ours, me and my partner went for dinner on Thursday night. I had the chilli burger off the specials and my partner had the cheese & onion pie, both were piping hot and very tasty! Staff were friendly, knowledgable and very persuasive...yes we had puds. We will definitely be returning :)

Helpful?
1 Thank jcdavies2016
Merseyside, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

had lunch today--disgusted to be presented with such an awful meal.had liver from specials board--could not cut the fat i was presented with.veg was cold.returned the meal.never to return--what a shame.

Helpful?
Thank cravenanthony16
broadoakpub, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this review

Hello cravenanthony16, Thank you for taking the time to open a Tripadvisor account to review us. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the appearance of the liver dish. It has been extremely popular this week and this is truly a shocking incidence. I am really glad, however, that we were able to swiftly replace your dish with... More 

Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Visited last week and had to wait half an hour for the drinks to arrive then another 45 minutes for the main course which we felt was too long. The staff seemed inexperienced and disinterested. When the food arrived it was fine and everyone enjoyed it. The dessert and coffee arrived a little more promptly.

Helpful?
Thank Joan396
broadoakpub, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this review

Hello Joan369, Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased to hear yourself and your party enjoyed your food and that the desserts and coffee arrived promptly- pudding is after all the most important part! It is rather strange you waited such a time for your drinks, I apologise for this as it is most unusual and... More 

Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

So looking forward to dining at the newly refurbished White Lion. So very disappointed, vegetables hard, roasters hard, lamb fatty and tough and most of all COLD did exchange but second one just as bad. Highly unlikely that we will return unless the meals improve, so sad after frequenting the White Lion for over 25 years

Helpful?
Thank Ann B
broadoakpub, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this review

Hello Ann B, Thank you for taking the time to open a Tripadvisor account simply to review us. I am sorry to hear you wee unable to enjoy your meal and you had to ask or a replacement. We appreciate that you alerted us of the error in an effort for us to rectify the situation- I am very sorry... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our second visit since the refurbishment and both times we thought the food was excellent. This latest visit was mid-afternoon and therefore the place was comparatively quiet but the service and food were great and we had a cosy seat by the fireplace. I really liked the Christmas decorations which had been put up since our earlier visit-... More 

Helpful?
Thank doryville
broadoakpub, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this review

Hello doryville, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and for such kind words. It sounds like you had the best seat in the house by the roaring fires and under the twinkly lights! I am so pleased your food was excellent as well, it realy is heartnening to hear of people's great experiences with us.... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Myself and a family party attended this evening and the service was sub-par from the start. The waitress who served our table was impatient and rude. I can only assume she was extremely new to her role and hadn't experienced such a large party of guests. As for the food, it was adequate to say the least. Nothing to be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
broadoakpub, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this review

Hello Lisa D, Thank you for taking the time to open an account just to review us on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry you felt your experience was sub-par. I am unsure who served you, none of our lot fit the description of impatient and rude! If you would like to forward some actual details of how this person 'behaved'... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really loved this pub/ restaurant even travelled about 15 miles from Liverpool. After refurb just like any boil in the bag pub grub what a shame, it might have been before, but the meals always felt as though they were freshly prepared although I am sure that they weren't completly. Been there tonight and not at all impressed, waited a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joan E
broadoakpub, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this review

Hello Joan E, Thank you for taking the time to review us again on Tripavisor. I am very sorry you felt the food was not to your standards this time. You have clearly been a regular guest and that is something we thrive on and we strive to look after our regulars! The refurbishment seems to have had the placebo... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My Husband and I have just returned from having a Sunday lunch at the newly refurbished White Lion. The refurb looks brilliant and gives a light and airy feel to the pub, whilst keeping and adding to the beautiful character of the building. However, the Sunday lunch left much to be desired. We both ordered a Sunday lunch with "all... More 

Helpful?
Thank GnR1408
broadoakpub, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this review

Hello GnR1408, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am so sorry your roast was below par. I remember your table well and we were really gutted that we fell short for you on this occasion. With regards to the market veg, we offered broccoli and cauliflower as you said, always at least two. I... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Sunday lunch with the family found us in a pub my family often frequents usually guaranteed a reasonable meal so I chose roast lamb, this was awful,reheated vegetable micro wave mash, fatty meat, really unpleasant and unacceptable, I left it embarrassingly I was unable to speak to the manager as I was a guest. Not good, poor quality food. Can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bee H
broadoakpub, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this review

Hello Bee H, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am saddened to hear to hear you didn't enjoy your food. It is a shame you felt you could not raise this issue at the time- I am especially confused as to the fact you felt you couldn't speak to a manager because you were... More 

Travellers who viewed The White Lion also viewed

Frodsham, Cheshire
Knutsford, Cheshire
 
Warrington, Cheshire
Frodsham, Cheshire
 

Been to The White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Contemporary, Diner, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Manley Road | Alvanley, Frodsham WA6 9DD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Frodsham
  • Phone Number: +44 1928 722949
Description
A cosy, traditional country pub with stunning grounds and al fresco dining area nestled in a quaint Cheshire village. We serve fresh food, including a children's menu, from 12pm-9pm and serve drinks from our varied bar selection until 11pm. Popular for good cask beers, good food and good people, The White Lion is the perfect pit-stop for a drink or a bite to eat. We cater for large parties and offer a buffet menu for guests to choose from, or simply pre-order from our delicious a-la-carte.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The White Lion and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The White Lion staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?