Wine Vaults

Wine Vaults

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1502 713381+ Add website
Hours
Sun
10:00 - 23:00
Mon
11:00 - 23:00
Tue
11:00 - 23:00
Wed
11:00 - 23:00
Thu
11:00 - 23:00
Fri
11:00 - 0:00
Sat
11:00 - 0:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
£5.00 – £25.00
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Contemporary, Wine Bar, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Is this a wine bar?
About
WELCOME TO THE BECCLES WINES VAULTS Beccles's friendliest Bar & Restaurant warmly invites you to eat, drink and relax in spectacular settings.Situated in the heart of Beccles, the restaurant covers three floors - down the remarkable cellars, ground floor bar and the first floor. The cellar can handsomely cater for private parties and functions.If you do not have the time to experience our great restaurant food then we offer a bar snack menu that can be eaten in the bar or the restaurant.Our traditional bar with its roaring log fire in the winter, deftly juggles drinking and dining with a couple of real ales, premium lagers such as Peroni, Kozel and Becks Vier, as well as Guinness and Aspall Suffolk cyder
PRICE RANGE
£5.00 – £25.00
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Contemporary, Wine Bar, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Gift Cards Available
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles614 reviews
Excellent
406
Very good
135
Average
40
Poor
23
Terrible
10
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Farmer_Terry
Derbyshire628 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 none
We ate here one night on our Broads holiday when we were moored up in Beccles. It is a busy little place, I would recommend booking, but covid restrictions were reasonably observed, and the staff were friendly. The standard menu is fairly basic with standard pub-type fare, but the specials board made the visit memorable. We both had the sea bream and it was excellent. It was accompanied by a glass or two from the wine list which also went down well. Overall the food was very good, well worth a return visit, but it is not cheap eats although we found it good value for money.
Written 13 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Otuama
88 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 none
We had a family meal here last weekend and I must say that we were pleasantly surprised. The menu is not extensive (a good thing) and the food is reasonably priced. Our steaks were cooked to our orders and the portion size was generous. A very good wine list at good prices is also available. The service was outstanding and we will certainly be returning.
Written 23 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Helen W
Leicester93 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 couples
Wonderful meal, staff and atmosphere! Thank you Jess and Jodie for making us welcome on Sunday evening and giving such a pleasant experience. The food was very good and the service exceptional! The rib eye was cooked exactly as ordered and the fish platter was delicious. We would strongly recommend The Wine Vault.
Written 22 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ness
10 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 none
I’ve been here twice now, the first time the food was lovely but overpriced for what you got, the second time, me & hubby went in for drinks, I ordered a pint of Diet Coke which unbelievably was not on tap!- they poured it out of a bottle which I hate as it’s always warmer, not as fizzy and the person that gets the last of the bottle, well bad luck as that’s always flat. My husband had a pint of cider which he had to return as it tasted like pi—, he asked me to sip it and I thought the taste was sh— so definitely a cistern flavour somewhere!! We sat in the courtyard where we could see the staff pushing arranging food around the plates with their fingers (during Covid times) needless to say we thought twice about the meal we had just booked with them at rapt he bar for a future date. Vanya.
Written 22 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Runner666
Dear Dietdream I’m so sorry you had to drink coke from a bottle rather then tap.What a disappointment! We are extremely sorry but due to where our cellar is unfortunately we can’t have coke/lem/soda on the tap. We would rather have it but bad luck for us and you. We keep our bottles in the fridge so it should be chilled. As you haven’t complained on the day I’m guessing it was ok, unlike your partner’s cider which you forgot to mention has been replaced, I’m glad you like the food the night before. Sorry to hear it was too expensive. Unfortunately to produce food like this we pay price choosing local produce and good chefs that don’t come cheap. I think you are totally out of order suggesting we are not following COVID 19 guidelines. Our staff can rearrange food as they sanitise they hands on regular basis. We have been following the guidelines and our very hardworking staff is extremely upset what you have put . Maybe next time you put a review you should think about business and what we have to go through in this very difficult times. You don’t have a clue!!!! Please don’t enter our premises again as we won’t serve you.
Written 25 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

kht1468
Weymouth226 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 couples
We lunched here this week after ringing to see if we could bring our small well behaved dog, (no problem in the bar or the courtyard). Superb service was given from the start, and the food was wonderful, hoisin duck with  pancakes to start, followed by a salmon with sweet potato, and a Korean duck breast with ginger and orange rice for myself. The only complaint I have is that we don't live nearby, as I know this would be a firm favourite! People of Beccles you are very lucky to have this on your doorstep!
Written 12 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

charlotte
Nottingham18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 couples
We found this gem on the off chance and the staff were extremely accommodating in finding us a table due to the governments new scheme. The menu gave plenty of choice for all tastes and choosing was extremely difficult! The starters were perfect and delicious, you could tell everything was fresh and homemade. Just perfect. Our steaks were on another level. Cooked to absolute perfection and tasted exceptional. The wine list has a vast array of wines ranging in taste and price, my Pinot was absolutely beautiful. They also had a good range of beers which satisfied my partner. The service was brilliant from start to finish and we wished we lived within the area as we would visit weekly! We will definitely be back - thank you for a very memorable evening.
Written 11 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

sue h
Lincolnshire2281 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 none
We were staying in Beccles for three days, we came here two night for an evening meal, we did book. It was a lovely restaurant with a lovely warm welcome with a log fire and friendly staff, our waitress even remembered what wine we had the other night and asked if we wanted the same, it was lovely so we had the same. Our meal on both nights was delicious very tasty, my husband had the steak pie he commented that he has never had so much meat in a pie before, even mine lol and I usually add a lot of beef. This was a very organised establishment with the problem of the virus, very clean. Many thanks
Written 22 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Keith B
Gravesend12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 none
Went here because it was dog friendly. Staff were dog and people friendly, food and ambience were great. I had the piri piri cod which was spicy without being overpowering and he had steak and kidney pie which was very generous. Drinks were not overpriced. Will visit again next time we're are in Suffolk.
Written 10 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

glbennett
Suffolk33 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
For the second time in recent months, we dropped into the Wine Vaults for an evening meal on a Monday. We hadn't booked but it is a quiet night in Beccles and both times we had a very warm welcome and there were plenty of tables free. Other customers did come in for drinks and food as the evening went on. I really like this place: the two ladies who served us were friendly and cheerful, despite the awful wet weather. There is a bar menu and a restaurant menu, plus several specials on the board. The open fire was very cosy, there was a good selection of local beers which particularly pleased one of our party and we had a delicious meal. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you to the Wine Vaults - you know how to please your customers!
Written 27 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

HollyCupcakes
London36 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 family
I took my Mum and Dad and my dog to the Wine Vaults for lunch today and we had a really lovely time. We were given a table in the bar area as that’s dog friendly and it was very comfy and a nice atmosphere. We were sat next to the bar and we enjoyed watching the 2 women working there, they were brilliant at their jobs. The staff were very chatty, happy women who obviously knew their customers and their menu very well. The wine was delicious and all of our food was very tasty and freshly cooked. We’ll definitely go again and recommend it to friends.
Written 19 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

patrick d
United Kingdom9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 couples
Hi. We came to the Wine Vaults in Beccles on Saturday 19/9/20 and i just wanted to thank you and all your staff for your tremendous professionalism as well as the quality and pricing of your food and drink. The setting is fabulous and i urge anyone visiting Beccles to make a point of booking a meal with you. Thank you for a thoroughly enjoyable experience and we look forward to returning to sample the atmosphere once again. Patrick D (Cambridgeshire).
Written 28 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Carolyne W
Leicestershire64 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 couples
Excellent food and friendly service. I had the crispy chilli beef from the specials board and it was delicious, my husband had the salmon which he said was also delicious. The wine was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful giving us some local knowledge on nearby beaches. Would definitely recommend and hope to return.
Written 20 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Paul B
Chesterfield1646 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 none
Greeted by very pleasant staff and made very welcome. Seating was down in the vaults. I ordered the mini beef Wellington and the meat was vastly over cooked and dry. The vegetables and thin gravy were uninspiring. One of our party had the belly pork which he said was disappointing. I mentioned my observations to the waiting staff. Whilst the food was underwhelming the staff were friendly and we still had a pleasant evening. Could do better !
Written 21 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Cathy H
Ashby de la Zouch345 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 none
Nice lively bar/restaurant with good service and a nice menu. However...... the Black Pudding Scotch Egg was superb but the Filo King Prawns were from the freezer cabinet in Iceland and completely tasteless - a total rip off at £7. The fish in my main course was nicely cooked but the French beans were so al-dente they were rock hard and unpleasant to eat. The belly pork dish was ok but nothing special. One of our drinks was missed off the bill which we would normally have pointed out but we felt it was compensation for the rip-off prawns.
Written 7 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

PMD
Leicester101 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 couples
We emailed the Wine Vaults on their closed day to see if they had space the following day and had a call back before 10am to say “yes”. It was a really good meal: relatively simple cooking done extremely well. The filo king prawns were hot and crisp, the cod loin special was delicious and the fish pie (a dish that far too often has too much sauce or potato and not much fish) was absolutely rammed with tasty fish. The cheese board was excellent too, all washed down with an excellent Muscadet - the wine list covers a broad range of tastes in both red and white. Service was prompt, friendly and cheerful. Well worth the 20 minute drive from Lowestoft; heartily recommended for anyone in the area.
Written 28 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 612
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Oakfired at Royal Oak
££ - £££ · Pizza
Easytiger Beccles
££ - £££ · Asian, Thai, Healthy
Graze At The White Horse
££ - £££ · European, British, Grill
Wheatacre White Lion
££ - £££ · British, Pub
The Three Horseshoes
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
Spindler's Cafe
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
The Wherry Inn at Geldeston
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
Baileys Delicatessen
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
The Fox
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
Ristorante Piatto
££ - £££ · Italian
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

WINE VAULTS, Beccles - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire