We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
Mon, 5/23
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice


Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (692)
Filter reviews
692 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chateaubriand pizza steak lemon tart pate pork belly sea bass salad fries ice cream sunday roast the pub a great evening family meal lovely meal garden pubs
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

The Old Inn was lively and welcoming with a great atmosphere. We ate outside in the evening on a sunshine-and-showers day, and as the sun was in and out the waitress was really attentive to whether we (and other guests) were warm enough as the...evening progressed (there are heaters if required). The staff were all very welcoming, to us and our dog, and the food was excellent. I had the belly pork which was served on a bed of potato with nice, crisp veg on the side - all delicious. A good glass of red and fine food on an (intermittently) sunny evening in Dorset - what could be better?More

Date of visit: May 2022
Reviewed 4 days ago

Lovely village setting ,ample outside seating and indoor seating plentiful, good drinks selection, my only gripe was lack of sandwiches on menu, although that said the pizza i ordered was great,

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: May 2022
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

What a nice lunch we had today. Served quickly by young bubbly staff and everything was delicious. Have just moved nearby and very happy to discover this on my doorstep!

Date of visit: May 2022
Reviewed 1 week ago

We celebrated my daughter's 30th birthday here. The staff were so helpful right from the initial booking, providing helpful suggestions to make our celebration a success through to providing amazing service on the night to our party of 18 . Special mention must go to...the unflappable Conor who helped me set up the table and the wonderfully calm Karen who looked after us all on the night, making us all feel comfortable and relaxed . The food was great and enjoyed by everyone. We also loved the gardens which are so well planted. Someone here knows their plants! Thank you for making this a memorable evening.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent food, excellent service all provided in a upbeat modern environment. We chose the old inn at holt to catch up with our friends and had a fabulous evening from start to finish. The service was warm and friendly, we started with GnTs very nice,...starters of 3x white bait, 1 Camembert then we ordered a nice Pinot with our main, I wanted Pan fried Hake but it had sold out so I had Caesar salad, hubby had scampi, our friends had Salmon and seabass, all served beautifully! We finished off with more GNts and chatted till close!!!! A most for a great weekend night out!!!!! Next time we are going to check out the pizzeria out the back!More

Date of visit: May 2022
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Once again a wonderful meal, always a pleasure to dine here. The staff are very welcoming and efficient. Will be back soon.

Date of visit: May 2022
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to the Old Inn for lunch today. If you like good food, some of it not too hot, and you don’t mind waiting an hour and being served by rude staff, this the place for you.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Simon P, General Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for complimenting our food. Not sure why you are posting dishonest reviews on the web and what your problem is as pointed out on other reviews you have posted. You waited 35 mins for your food and there was a small 3 min...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow! We found this fab place during a short break and we are so glad we did. All of our party enjoyed the food, and for what we had we found the price really reasonable. If we are staying in/around the area again we will...definitely be revisiting. Lovely location, lovely food and great service.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Reviewed 12 April 2022

I have been here a few times for some casual drinks and £5.00 for a pint has been pricey but fine for me. However, came with my girlfriend and a double gin and tonic was £13! How on earth is a small bottle of tonic...£3.25. Over half the price of my pint! Absurd!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Reviewed 30 March 2022

The food was a little pricey, but amazing in quality and quantity and worth every penny We stayed overnight in the car park in our MoHo, which was level, with lovely views across the countryside and we didn’t hear any noise from the road Simon...and his team made us welcome and the service was second to none We can’t recommend this pub highly enough and we will be back!More

Date of visit: March 2022
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Minster Arms
70 reviews
2.83 miles away
Original White Hart by Marston's Inns
345 reviews
7.25 miles away
Village Hotel Southampton Eastleigh
156 reviews
7.70 miles away
The Castleman
185 reviews
7.74 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Renoufs (Wimborne)
224 reviews
2.69 miles away
The Wimborne Pig
1,052 reviews
2.68 miles away
The Stocks Inn
624 reviews
1.41 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Horton Tower
14 reviews
2.44 miles away
The Tivoli Theatre
409 reviews
2.67 miles away
Aurelia Gardens and Tea Rooms
14 reviews
2.65 miles away
Museum of East Dorset
107 reviews
2.77 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
16 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Foxfire22 | Reviewed this property |
My comments are always honest and as l have found things. This is a wonderful venue with amazing food and great staff as l have always said. This will always be one of our favorite places to spend time and enjoy food.
Kim G
26 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from GRUBP1X | Reviewed this property |
Nonsense the conversation was about how to escape and avoid being captured again.
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Inn

The Old Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4