We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Beach Road | Dinas Dinlle, Dinas Dinlle LL54 5TW, Wales
+44 1286 830929
Website
Today
11:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Mon 11:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Popped down for a walk on the beach decided to have fish and chips and my husband had fish cake and chips... The food was cooked to order and the fish was delicious. My husband enjoyed his fishcake and chips.. Staff are so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely be popping down and going into the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tammy L
traethforwr, Public Relations Manager at The Surfer, responded to this review

thank you for your views and your custom. More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Well we have been a regular at this chippy this is our third season at the nearby caravan site ..... this year it has gone down hill. We had fish and chips each ......... the fish contained more batter than fish and the amount of chips you receive now is so tiny and not a fair portion it is not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bucksfizz9
traethforwr, Manager at The Surfer, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback.you asked for 2 lightly battered fish,which you had, we have to make sure the fresh fish is completely covered in batter before frying.if you had a problem with the amount of chips you should have taken a photo of the portion and put it on with your review.we all have a different concept about how... More 

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Freshly cooked fish was good. Children enjoyed the battered sausages. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed eating our food on the beach.

Helpful?
Thank Jay N
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Used to be nice, now gone down hill. Very tatty. Ice cream was old as it had a layer of skin. On it, tasted awful. Don't bother going there

Helpful?
1 Thank cerh88
traethforwr, Public Relations Manager at The Surfer, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback.could you tell me where exactly was tatty. is it the surfer you have been to.why did you not return the ice cream. was it easier to go on trip advisor. More 

Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We stumbled across this place on our travels the gentleman who owns it was very friendly and the cod and chips were great..the weather was grim but we didn't care .sat in my car watching the rain .munching on fresh fish.I couldn't of been happier

Helpful?
Thank geoffw421
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

On Thursday 4th August at about 12.00pm I went into the Surfer at Dinas Dinlle for a coffee and a piece of cake. I explained to the lady that was serving that I would eat the cake in the cafe but could she put the coffee in a takeaway cup as I would finish it whilst walking. I was walking... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
traethforwr, member of staff at The Surfer, responded to this review

there are always 2 sides to every story.above is your version of events.you were charged for a take away coffee which is 2.00,it is nothing to do with vat,cafe price is 2.25.your attitude towards the manager was that you had every right to stay in the cafe with a take away cup and that you would not leave, very arrogant.would... More 

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We have been going here for the past three years now (each time we visit North Wales). When visiting this year firstly in August it was very busy so the service was a little slow but the food as always was superb. When we came back in October we were disappointed that the restaurant was closed and no opening hours... More 

Helpful?
Thank SarahandPaul2017
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Perhaps the quality depends on who's working there (looking at the other reviews), but our experience was excellent, and this was the best seaside fish and chips I've had. The fish was battered and fried on order, and the chips were fresh. It was delicious. The ice cream from the attached shop was to die for. Creamy, rich ice cream... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Helen W
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the campsite this afternoon and after travelling we decided to go and get fish and chips. The weather was windy and raining so decided to sit in the cafe. We both ordered the cod special ( fish, chips, bread and butter and a mug of tea/coffee ) @ £8.95 each then we ordered a portion of peas... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank SarahBobWxm
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

After going down country roads and thinking I was lost we finally found this chippy. The only thing I can say is wow! The chips are absolutely amazing (we even had 2 servings) it's a small place and gets very busy but it's worth the wait.the staff are very friendly and made us laugh during our wait. There was a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank amanda c

Travellers who viewed The Surfer also viewed

Dinas Dinlle, Gwynedd
Dinas Dinlle, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Surfer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Fast food, Cafe, Seafood, British
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 21:00
Saturday
11:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Beach Road | Dinas Dinlle, Dinas Dinlle LL54 5TW, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Gwynedd  >  Dinas Dinlle
  • Phone Number: +44 1286 830929

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Surfer staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?