We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Hotel

31 High Street | IP17 1AF, Saxmundham IP17 1AF, England
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good33%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (14 reviews)
“fish platter” (4 reviews)
“confit” (4 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
British, European, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
31 High Street | IP17 1AF, Saxmundham IP17 1AF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 60 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

Meals were great, nice selection of wine... not a very ale/beer led pub and unfortunately not very accommodating of younger guests.More

Thank Jamesmonaghan5437
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Thank you for comments, glad that you enjoyed your food. We do have guest ales on most weeks and take on board your comments. As to younger people, we do have a childrens menu, hi-chairs and are very happy to accomodate children, there are some...More

Reviewed 1 June 2016

Celebrated an anniversary booked at the last moment and we had excellent food, a good menu choice and friendly staff and service we will return

Thank 70jamie
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Fantastic and congratulations!

Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Myself, my GF and my parents had been to the Bell, also known as The Bell at Sax on a Groupon deal and really enjoyed it. This time we decided to go without a deal and weren't disappointed. Some comments have been about the decor...More

Thank gilescorenwannabe
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Thank you, so glad you had a lovely meal and we do try to provide value for money. Glad you liked the decor too, we have just had a new carpet laid in our front bar, so do like to update and upgrade the decor...More

Reviewed 14 May 2016

We dropped in while visiting Saxmundham on the off-chance. We saw The Bell from where we parked and bumped into a couple coming out and tried it on their recomendation - good job we did. They know their cask ales - the Adnams and Lacons...More

Thank BikerDon_56
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments. We do try to provide food to suit all tastes and budgets and really glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewed 6 May 2016

Called in at the Bell on Sunday after the Crown at Snape (which is yummy) was fully booked. On first impressions it was very dated inside, however the menu looked inviting despite there being no smaller lunch type options. I went for Roast beef my...More

1  Thank Lisa1232
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Very rarely do we get a negative comment, so when we do, we take it very seriously. If I may address a couple of your points; *The Brunch menu you were offered does have some smaller...More

Reviewed 2 May 2016

Visited The Bell on Friday night with a friend. Well appointed restaurant with friendly staff and very good food. Not cheap but reasonable value for money.

Thank Christopher L
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Thank you, glad you enjoyed your evening . We do try to use top quality local ingredients and still provide value for money.

Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

A lovely restaurant good selection and the lunch set menu is excellent value. This restaurant has delicious food. Great service and I have enjoyed the whole ambience.

Thank Hannah L
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments.

Reviewed 27 March 2016

Just returned from a fabulous lunch at The Bell. The food was excellent, well presented, plentiful and very tasty. The service was friendly and efficient (not over bearing or in your face). The atmosphere was warm and family orientated. Also very good value for money...More

Thank tonyZ8908LQ
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Thank you that is so nice to hear, it is everything we strive to achieve.

Reviewed 24 March 2016

I visited this restaurant on a Wednesday night as it is local to me and I had never tried it before, but i quickly became very disappointed. First of all our table of three ordered three simple drink, one cider, one cola and one lime...More

1  Thank hazza12016
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Thank you for your response, I am very sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable evening. We have addressed this issue with the member of staff in question and hope that you will find the service very different on your return.

Reviewed 16 March 2016

The Bell has had several owners/chefs in the past few years, but it seems well settled now. Jonny Nicolson, who'd been chef de cuisine at Southwold Pier took it over and has made a considerable success of it. He has judged his market well and...More

Thank Patrick S
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2016

Thank you, great to hear that we are getting things right and very pleased that we are well received by the community of Saxmundham and the surrounding area, something we have been working very hard to achieve.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Trinity's at No.14
71 reviews
.05 miles away
Trawler's Catch
45 reviews
.03 miles away
Prince of Bengal
62 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Glemham Hall
8 reviews
3.52 miles away
Aldeburgh Music
35 reviews
3.54 miles away
Snape Maltings
507 reviews
3.55 miles away
Long Shop Museum
75 reviews
3.56 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
threlfallsarah
9 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Jonathan N | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. We do food all day long and occasionally we do afternoon teas. We do not normally do them for less than 10 people and yes we can accomodate children. Do give us a call to discuss further... More
1
Vote
JuneSB999
26 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jonathan N | Property representative |
Good evening unfortunately we do not have wheelchair access although we always have staff to help up and down the few steps in and out of the building. The 11th of november would be available if you would like to book please... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
08:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 21:00
Thursday
08:00 - 21:00
Friday
08:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31 High Street | IP17 1AF, Saxmundham IP17 1AF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Saxmundham
Description
Note that although this is an hotel, I believe it should have a separate listing as a restaurant. I shall post a restaurant review, when listed.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing