We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Hotel

31 High Street | IP17 1AF, Saxmundham IP17 1AF, England
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good33%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (9 reviews)
“fish platter” (4 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
British, European, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
31 High Street | IP17 1AF, Saxmundham IP17 1AF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 70 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

Visited the restaurant twice in December. The first time I had the burger, which was magnificent! Best burger I've ever had. The second time I had the lamb shank and it was beautiful. Everyone we came with (4 the first time 7 the second) said...More

Thank Jones626
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments, that is really good to hear. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 January 2016

I had high hopes for this hotel . Unfortunately it doesn't live up to its outward appearance. Last time I went I visited the bar and asked for a gin martini , the barmaid didn't know how to make it! Also the smell of cooking...More

1  Thank Lesleykrohn
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were dissapointed. We like to classify The Bell at Sax as a neighbourhood restaurant with rooms and not a hotel. We are an informal, friendly establishment serving local ingredients beautifully cooked, with fine wines, local...More

Reviewed 1 January 2016

An excellent hotel, the room we were in No10 was at the very top so a few stairs to climb, and hot water took a while to reach our level . Rooms are basic but just as good as a travel Inn or Premier Inn....More

Thank Graham J
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again.

Reviewed 30 December 2015

We went to this small hotel / large restaurant for lunch on Boxing Day when many other places were closed. There was on street parking close by but probably not on "normal" weekdays. Very friendly reception and waiting staff. Prompt and polite service. The choice...More

Thank seepybee
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Thank you, so pleased you enjoyed your food.

Reviewed 12 December 2015

This was the best food for a party booking that I have ever experienced. It was pre booked for 32 with a choice of menu. The food was excellent everyone served together which made for a very enjoyable evening. Happy Christmas to you all

Thank Rowena B
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

So pleased you enjoyed it, it's what we do best. Look forward to seeing you again soon. A very happy Christmas.

Reviewed 5 November 2015

excellent food very well presented very friendly staff mid week offer they have a 2 courses for £10 Did find drinks expensive

Thank ashley07Suffolk
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Glad you enjoyed the food and thank you for your comments.

Reviewed 3 November 2015

Went here for lunch today with my husband. Had a starter and a main course - both were very enjoyable, particularly the fisherman's pie. Had a very nice bottle of white wine from New Zealand to wash it all down. Far too full for a...More

Thank Diana E
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2015

Thank you very much for your comments. We try hard to accomodate all tastes and provide good value for money with our two course menu available throughout the week. We look forward to welcoming you back to perhaps try out our a la carte menu

Reviewed 3 November 2015

The food was really very good - both the evening meals and the breakfasts. Not over-priced and good portions, too! Definitely recommended. Good selection of real ales and wines, though the wines are a bit on the expensive side (but I say that as a...More

Thank MrNoManIsAnIsland
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2015

Many thanks for your review, so glad you enjoyed our food. We are constantly reviewing our menus including our wine menu so we do appreciate your comments. We take on board you comments about improvement required in other parts of the hotel and are updating...More

Reviewed 30 October 2015

Well worth a visit, excellent menu served in a quirky building. Had the best steak ever from the local Darsham Suffolk Red Poll Beef herd. Staff friendly and manager/head chef highly experienced with a good track record. 5 minutes walk from station. Offers accommodation. May...More

Thank David2010
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Thank you for your lovely comments, glad you enjoyed your experience at The Bell at Sax.

Reviewed 28 October 2015

This impressive looking restaurant-with-rooms in the centre of Saxmundam has a very attractively decorated dining room and an extensive menu, so extensive that much of it cannot possibly be cooked fresh to order. The dishes on offer are fairly standard for an upmarket pub. We...More

1  Thank Stephen T
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Firstly I would like to assure you that all our food is cooked fresh to order and not frozen as suggested, this includes our fish and we do pride ourselves on the standard of our ingredients. Our...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Trinity's at No.14
70 reviews
.05 miles away
Trawler's Catch
42 reviews
.03 miles away
Prince of Bengal
59 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Glemham Hall
8 reviews
3.52 miles away
Aldeburgh Music
31 reviews
3.54 miles away
Snape Maltings
470 reviews
3.55 miles away
Long Shop Museum
64 reviews
3.56 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
JuneSB999
26 October 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Jonathan N | Property representative |
Good evening unfortunately we do not have wheelchair access although we always have staff to help up and down the few steps in and out of the building. The 11th of november would be available if you would like to book please... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
08:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 21:00
Thursday
08:00 - 21:00
Friday
08:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31 High Street | IP17 1AF, Saxmundham IP17 1AF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Saxmundham
Description
Note that although this is an hotel, I believe it should have a separate listing as a restaurant. I shall post a restaurant review, when listed.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing