We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rose & Crown Inn

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Rackenford Road, Calverleigh, Tiverton EX16-8BA, England
01884258612
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 108: English reviews
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very welcoming inn with fast service, excellent good nicely cook and well presented reasonably price food.. A really nice cosy county inn. You can almost see yourself back to the the days of horse and carriages. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Helpful?
Thank janemichael2017
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have had lunch here twice recently. Not the most inspiring lunch menu until you realise that everything on it is cooked to perfection. Staff were polite and friendly. Not rude or standoffish in any way, indeed we felt they couldn't do enough. Really lovely pub food. Not overpriced. In a really good country pub. We will be back to... More 

Helpful?
Thank chris h
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for a meal. Owner is rude and food is about the same quality as wetherspoons but with restaurant prices. Website isn't up to date and misleading. Land lady was rude and unwelcoming and the pub felt cold and empty. Absolutely no atmosphere. Don't waste your money.

Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma M
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We visited for a meal on a Saturday night. The pub was empty but we assumed this was because of it being Mother's Day and Easter shortly. In hindsight it's because of the rude and unfriendly lady owner. We were greeted by a friendly lad behind the bar. He was the reason we didn't walk out. Myself and my partner... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica M
Dream C, Owner at The Rose & Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, However I would like to clarify a few of your comments, Regarding your Burgers, the Menu you were given did not state Coleslaw or indeed BBQ Sauce. If It had of done I wonder why you didn't raise a query at the time? You refer to the Burger... More 

Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Hadn't booked our lunch but no problem. Greeted warmly by the bartender who was very friendly and asked where we would like to eat - in the bar or the restaurant. We enjoyed a good Sunday Roast and pudding with a good bottle of wine. Chef checked everything was ok for us and landlady came to chat with us, All... More 

Helpful?
Thank susanholland81
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Under the previous Landlords this was a fantastic pub, friendly, welcoming and they couldn't do enough for you. The new Landlord is the complete opposite of this. Very unwelcoming and very abrasive. Everything seemed too much trouble. Various things on offer that we asked for, we were then told we couldn't have. We were to feel as though it was... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank dizzy4780
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

The Landlord is more interested in shutting up early and keeping people away by the way he talks and acts. Zero people skills. The way it is run is a discredit to what it was before. Such a shame for the locals. From the best pub around with so much going for it, the new landlord has destroyed the brilliant... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank puzzle1000
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

This was our first visit (on recommendation) and we understand that the management has recently changed so older reviews may no longer be relevant. The welcome was warm and friendly. We'd called ahead and asked if they could adapt the veggie menu for vegans but they did more than that and willingly did us a special main course and dessert,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oldpigsqueal
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal at the rose & crown this evening , the steak was one of the best steaks I've had in a long time , I have my steak well done to medium and my partner likes his rare and they were both perfect. The landlord was friendly and welcoming . Highly recommend this pub as the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lia M
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2017

The Rose and Crown has a new Landlord, Simon. He is exactly what this pub has deserved for more than 9 years. It is now clean, friendly, with a calm and relaxing atmosphere. The real ale is kept and served in a condition which is second to none, I would go as far as to say that you will have... More 

Helpful?
Thank MotorradSmith

Travellers who viewed The Rose & Crown Inn also viewed

 
Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to The Rose & Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rackenford Road, Calverleigh, Tiverton EX16-8BA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Tiverton  >  Calverleigh
  • Phone Number: 01884258612
Description
The friendliest and most welcoming country pub in Devon, serving home cooked food day

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Rose & Crown Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?