We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boot Inn

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
High Street | Berwick St James, Berwick St James, Salisbury SP3 4TN, England
+44 1722 790243
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:15
18:30 - 21:15
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 18:00 - 20:00
Tue - Sun 12:00 - 14:15
Tue - Sat 18:30 - 21:15
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 223: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here for lunch with my family while on our way to Devon. To their credit the staff were very friendly. We were seated and given menus and my son was given the children's menu...he chose the 'handmade sausage and mash' and a juice (fruit shoot). Now I was expecting, as was he, that a delicious pile of smooth mash... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary R
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments, I was saddened to read that you where unhappy with your sons meal, we believe in providing the very best quality ingredients so all of our sausages are handmade and contain 100% meat, our suppliers do not use any ’fillers’ in their product and in so I usually have the opposite feedback, that the... More 

Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely family meal! The staff are so friendly, great service and as we were discussing the walk back with two small children at dusk a local sitting at the bar"Tony" said you don't want to be walking I will run you back to the campsite and wouldn't take a penny! Thank you lovely place and lovely people!

Helpful?
Thank Wevskiwev
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit and I pass on your thanks to Tony. More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Out with a pal having a bit of a wander around the Salisbury area , not our usual haunts, and we stumbled across the Boot Inn .....and what a cracking little pub ! Friendly service and when we mentioned that we wanted to eat they did point out that only the biggest table in the room was available but it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wokboy60
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am really glad that you enjoyed your visit here and I have passed on your comments to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Boot in the future. More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have read some recent reviews, a few of which have been negative. I found nothing negative about our visit today. Two families, eight people, had a delicious lunch, beautifully cooked and served by friendly staff. Well worth the miles travelled and I will willingly travel those miles again for a meal such as we had today. Well done the... More 

Helpful?
Thank chillhill2017
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed our food and hospitality and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Boot Inn. More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a very pleasant traditional local, food is excellent, staff are very efficient and friendly, general friendly atmosphere to the place, Wadsworth 6x bitter and IPA on draught. Worth a stop or visit for a meal.

Helpful?
Thank Andy E
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Boot Inn. More 

Level Contributor
153 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2017

A few minutes down the road from stone hedge . I was clean and the staff polite. The food was really good, and the prices fair. We had a group of five and no one had any complaints at all. Everything was delicious. Had Shepard beef and ale pie. Fluffy top pastry good tender beef .

Helpful?
Thank Tartutic
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Staying in a nearby campsite We took a walk in the afternoon past the pub and seen their board up with a list of entertainment on and decided to visit that evening. When we arrived we were informed that there was a private party on in the whole pub but if we wanted we could have a quick one. Unhappy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deethomas6758
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry. I had put a sign up on the door but as you rightly say nothing on the A board. I did contact the managers of the campsite the week before the party to let them know what was going on that night as this is not a usual occurrence at the Boot and in fact the... More 

Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Good beer, but we couldn't get food due to it being quiz night, so we walked to the next nearest and ate there.

Helpful?
Thank Phil S
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We have as a family had 2 or 3 meals here a year over the past few years and have always enjoyed excellent food and value for money. The last visit the food wasn't so great but we assumed they were having an "off day" so said nothing. Today we arrived as a party of eight with a table booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank richard_wilyman
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this review

As I explained at the time of your visit, we had sold a lot of ploughman’s lunches that day and by the time that you ordered we had run out of the half baguettes that we usually serve, however the bread served to you was picked up fresh from the baker that morning and sliced by us in house. I... More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a Sunday lunch as we were passing through the area on our way home. Staff were welcoming and accommodating as we hadn't booked but that's where the pleasantries stopped. My roast was disappointing to say the least my beef while delicious and tender was 80% fat in two measly slices. Veg over cooked and roast potatoes hard... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dpf87
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments. I am really upset and disappointed that you did not mention any of this during your visit especially when you were table checked. When you came to the bar to buy a pack of snacks you jokingly made a remark that your daughter was “being fussy” but made no other comments. Had you mentioned... More 

Travellers who viewed The Boot Inn also viewed

 
Winterbourne Stoke, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Boot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$13 - US$23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:15
Monday
18:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:15
18:30 - 21:15
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:15
18:30 - 21:15
Thursday
12:00 - 14:15
18:30 - 21:15
Friday
12:00 - 14:15
18:30 - 21:15
Saturday
12:00 - 14:15
18:30 - 21:15
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street | Berwick St James, Berwick St James, Salisbury SP3 4TN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury  >  Berwick St James
  • Phone Number: +44 1722 790243
Description
The Boot Inn is a small country pub just a mile from the A303 and a few miles from Stonehenge we are located 7 miles from Salisbury in the pretty village of Berwick St James.
With an open fire in the winter months and a large garden for dining in the summer months the Boot is a great place to be come rain or shine.
We are family friendly and we welcome dogs so it is an ideal place to meet up with friends and family.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Boot Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Boot Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?