We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boot Inn

High Street | Berwick St James, Berwick St James, Salisbury SP3 4TN, England
+44 1722 790243
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“duck salad” (5 reviews)
“wedges” (3 reviews)
“mash” (7 reviews)
Opens in 17 min
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Street | Berwick St James, Berwick St James, Salisbury SP3 4TN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

The place is really cosy and charming especially with the fireplace! . Food was divine and the waitress just adorable! will go back 100%

Thank Julia T
Reviewed 1 week ago

This pub was recommended to us by William, the owner of the nearby Stonehenge Campsite and Glamping Pods where we were staying in our caravan. This is the second week of January and a bit chilly but there are so many places and pubs to...More

Thank Derek M
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for you lovely review, We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Boot in the future.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely homemade food served with humour and heart. Nice to have real food for once. Plus a real fire. Totally loved it.

Thank tamsk
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Warm, welcoming, social traditional English pub, with a menu that utilizes local ingredients to make traditional pub food with a twist, each food option is unique. My partner is a vegan, nearly all traditional independent pubs do not offer a fully vegan option but they...More

Thank jalaner06
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Many thanks for your lovely review, We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

Have been staying in the village for a week, and visited the Boot several times, eating there once. I can’t recommend it highly enough. Without writing an essay: good and well-kept Wadworths beer, friendly welcome, and excellent food (if you come here and don’t try...More

Thank MikeC1964
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Many thanks for your lovely review, I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Boot on another occasion.

Reviewed 17 November 2017

This inn is a real jewel of a discovery!! The menu is absolutely full of unique tempting dishes and ideas. It is the only establishment I have been in which offered such a choice I could have eaten them all--- and I am very fussy...More

Thank Neil A
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I'm glad that you enjoyed our food and hospitality here at the Boot and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 12 November 2017

What's not to like about this quietly aging traditional local pub sufficiently far from the A303 and set in a charming village with character houses and a Norman church. Friendly staff, cheery locals and a really good Sunday roast. It's an excellent centre for walking...More

Thank robinn669
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit here and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Boot in the future.

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Very unwelcoming.... just about let us use the toilets!.....wouldn’t recommend going there if you’re not local. We felt very uncomfortable on our arrival and were told there were no tables disputes there being several empty tables. Was a shame as it looked like a lovely...More

Thank GenieGee13
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

I am sorry that we where unable to accommodate you, We are a small pub with only 8 tables and they do fill up very quickly. We are a popular meeting place for people locally and from all over the country and to suggest that...More

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Yes a nice modest English pub in the middle of Wiltshire. A perfectly fine place to stop, rest and grab a pint and a meal if you want to. Don’t expect miracles, it doesn’t set out to do that, and you will be happy. Lovely...More

Thank R0062
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are a small team running a country pub and work hard to serve good food and good beer consistently. Sadly we are not miracle workers but we do what we do to the best of our ability on a...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

A good old country pub with proper pub food and good real ale. Think that this would be a great place to bring the kids in the summer as the beer garden looks amazing.

Thank Jonathanhb
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for your nice review, I am glad that you enjoyed your visit here. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps in the summer when you can enjoy our garden.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Berwick St James Hotels
The Antrobus Hotel
335 reviews
5.17 miles away
The Stones Hotel
322 reviews
5.23 miles away
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
656 reviews
5.36 miles away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
553 reviews
5.46 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Bell Inn
47 reviews
1.02 miles away
The Solstice Rest
64 reviews
1.05 miles away
Restaurant at Rollestone Manor
18 reviews
2.30 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Stonehenge
10,985 reviews
3.55 miles away
Salisbury Plain Safaris
25 reviews
4.29 miles away
Larkhill Space Station
17 reviews
4.60 miles away
Stonehenge public footpath
56 reviews
3.58 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ayla L
27 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Andrew C | Reviewed this property |
I am sure that if you contact them they will be able to assist your questions.
0
Votes
Stepherz2013
23 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Tony B | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14 - US$25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:15
Monday
18:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:15
18:30 - 21:15
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:15
18:30 - 21:15
Thursday
12:00 - 14:15
18:30 - 21:15
Friday
12:00 - 14:15
18:30 - 21:15
Saturday
12:00 - 14:15
18:30 - 21:15
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street | Berwick St James, Berwick St James, Salisbury SP3 4TN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury  >  Berwick St James
  • Phone Number: +44 1722 790243
  • E-mail
Description
The Boot Inn is a small country pub just a mile from the A303 and a few miles from Stonehenge we are located 7 miles from Salisbury in the pretty village of Berwick St James. With an open fire in the winter months and a large garden for dining in the summer months the Boot is a great place to be come rain or shine. We are family friendly and we welcome dogs so it is an ideal place to meet up with friends and family.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing