We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

) #1 of 3 Restaurants in Martlesham ££ - £££ , British,
Main Road, Martlesham IP12 4RN, England
+44 1394 382169
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good25%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“onion rings” (8 reviews)
“pate” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road, Martlesham IP12 4RN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Making our annual visit to Dans Meadow caravan park for the Martlesham fair and we always visit the Red Lion as it is a short walk away and excellent welcome and service. We met up with another couple this time and we were all pleased...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank dennisgreeno
RedLionMartlesham, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for visiting again, hope to see you next time!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I ordered ribeye steak and I don't know what animal the cardboard-like thing I got came from but I doubt it was a cow. Everything else was low quality too, especially for the high prices. Basically it was Deben Inn prices for much inferior food...More

Thank Fox M
RedLionMartlesham, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry to hear we didn't achieve our usual standards, will double check the steaks to ensure they are of the required quality.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great meal and night out with my wife on my birthday always great choice on the menu and good wine list and good choice of ales

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank kevinmurphy246
RedLionMartlesham, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review, see you next time!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Each year I meet up with my good mate and have a meal at the Red Lion. My friend had the prawn cocktail which he enjoyed and I had the farmhouse pate. The pate, I thought was quite nice but the ale chutney was mediocre:...More

Thank Martin B
RedLionMartlesham, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, thanks for visiting again. Yes some of our dishes have changed since your last visit, next time just ask for us to use the older recipe and we would be glad to accommodate!!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fake roasts would be nice if they did done proper home cooked food and we weren't forgotten about. Lots of hungry kids and whiney adults.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank S4265HQamya
RedLionMartlesham, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry we disappointed you this time, we do use real meats for our roasts, will look into this to make sure we keep the standards higher.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were hugely impressed by whoever is the Chef at this pub. Each dish we ate was cooked to perfection and we are honestly delighted to have found this gem. The staff could have been a little more attentive to us but that did not...More

Thank LoveTravel09Uk
RedLionMartlesham, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, glad you enjoyed the food, we do use these reviews for team training to make sure we are better next time for you.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall a very nice meal out, easy and comfortable atmosphere to go with the children. Food is 'pub grub' but tasty and good value. The staff were very friendly and polite, we would visit again.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Shane W
RedLionMartlesham, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks, no doubt we will see you next time!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the Red Lion for lunch today. Used to be regular visitors but for one reason or another we haven't been for some months. The place was very empty and there were 3 female staff on duty. Our meal was nothing special but...More

Thank cindie15
RedLionMartlesham, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am very sorry this has occurred. You are correct that this is totally unacceptable! The staff members have been spoken to and the appropriate action taken, please call 01394382169 if you wanted to discuss further. Please accept our apologies, you can be assured that...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I went with family to have a meal, which was very nice although we had to wait 30 mins before receiving our food. We were told beforehand by our waiter. The only complaint is that not one person who served us smiled, everyone of the...More

Thank Deanovic
RedLionMartlesham, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, sorry our service was not to standard, it will be improved for next time!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited for Father's Day, there were 6 adults in our group. We were shown quickly to our table after I had booked up online which was very easy. Our order was taken and we didn't wait long for the drinks or any of the food....More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank 253dawnf
RedLionMartlesham, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad you had a good time on one of our busier days, see you soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Black Tiles
275 reviews
.64 miles away
Tesco Extra
10 reviews
.95 miles away
Duke of York public house
400 reviews
.82 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Beacon Rally Karts
9 reviews
.29 miles away
Play2Day
8 reviews
1.11 miles away
Sutton Hoo
994 reviews
2.42 miles away
Martlesham Heath Control Tower Museum
6 reviews
1.20 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kimheadboard
13 July 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Richard S | Reviewed this property |
Yes an outdoor play area
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Martlesham IP12 4RN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Martlesham
  • Phone Number: +44 1394 382169
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing