We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
17th Century riverside pub. Recently reopened after 7 months of renovation and refurbishment Specialising in game, seafood and spice alongside all the pub classics we aren't just a place to eat freshly cooked food, we now have a much larger bar area for those that just fancy a beer or a glass of wine while meeting friends or recovering from a good walk along the river. Dogs will of course be welcome in most areas.
PRICE RANGE
US$7 - US$30
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
British, Pub, Welsh, Gastropub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
143
24
6
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
143
24
6
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ox cheek hake pretzels oysters tongue banoffee bread and butter pudding creme brulee fritters chicken wings sea bass steak mash pie curry cakes the river
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

Went to The Boat last night for a birthday meal, the food was superb, the staff were wonderful and the views from the terrace are spectacular, I could not recommend this place enough, it does get busy so advisable to book. Well done. Fran and...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
OnAir12554851211, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Fran, Chrissy. Thanks for choosing us for your birthday meal and then for letting others know that we didn't disappoint; it really does make all the team feel good to know. All the best

Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff here are always so welcoming when you arrive. ThIs is our favourite place to eat and drink, from the atmosphere to the amazing food on offer. We had the pork/lamb Sunday roasts today which were amazing and cooked to perfection. The Boat Inn...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
GHP, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Linda Thanks for posting such a lovely review; comments like this make our hearts sing. We’ll look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best

Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I had our evening meal at the Boat which was a great success all round. The service was good the food was excellent and the place had a great atmosphere so what else could you want. My wife had great Stone Bass...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
OnAir12554851211, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Bob Thanks for the lovely review; we're absolutely delighted that you both enjoyed your food so much. All the best

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited on a blisteringly hot Friday afternoon, so was expecting it to be busy - it was! Unsurprisingly, almost every table was taken outside or had a reserved sign on. Bah! However, one of the staff approached us and told us to take a seat...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
OnAir12554851211, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi jan Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review, especially since you did have to wait. The lady in blue is Alex, our manager, and she works very hard to ensure the crew are focused on making sure our customers have...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for a long awaited and anticipated lunch. From ambience to quality of food and service nothing fell short of 5 star review. Cannot wait to repeat the most enjoyable dining experience. Well done to the whole team you certainly deserve to go from strength...More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
OnAir12554851211, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

This is great to hear Skezz; thanks for such a positive review. All the best

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our relationship with The Boat Inn goes back to the early 80’s. We hadn’t been to the Boat for several years and went with friends this evening for a meal. The place looks better than ever and the owners have made fantastic improvements. The staff...More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
GHP, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Naldotwod Thanks for the lovely review. With a place like the Boat, that has 100s of years of history, we are merely custodians for a moment in time and our job is to make sure the current crop of customers leave happy and contented...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Once again, for the third and last time I had the misfortune of eating at The Boat, terribly slow service and once again the food was awful, dry starters with no flavour or even a side dip to make it more palatable, main of teriyaki...More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
OnAir12554851211, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Naturally we're gutted by this review Mike. If you'd be kind enough to email me your phone number directly to graham@pricey.uk.com i'd appreciate talking this through. Thanks

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here, last summer, so holidaying in the area again, we decided to return. Our high expectations were exceeded! The Sunday roast - we had the beef and the pork - was excellent, in every detail. The half-portion fish and chips for...More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
GHP, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Andrew Thanks for making a return visit and taking the time to post such a positive review. All the best

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although there were five of us we had very very minimal waiting time between courses and drinks. Staff really friendly and very helpful and the choice of food absolutely amazing and so very very good and tasty, steak cooked to perfection and the lamb melted...More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
OnAir12554851211, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Fulham24. Thanks for such a lovely positive review; its really lifts everyone's spirits to know that their efforts are appreciated. We hope to see you again soon. All the best PS '61 was a vintage year without a doubt!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic welcome, with a well organised and friendly greeting , and escorted to our table which was a nice touch and a great first impression. Our first visit to the Boat Inn . Always kept meaning to go ... as you do ! SO GLAD...More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
OnAir12554851211, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Twizandlew; this is the sort of feedback that makes our hearts sing. Thank you so much for taking the time write such a lovely review and well be sure to let Lara know how well she did... a star in the making! We look...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Moreton Park Hotel
369 reviews
4.57 miles away
Lion Quays
1,684 reviews
4.86 miles away
Ellesmere Hotel
50 reviews
4.93 miles away
Travelodge Wrexham
270 reviews
5.18 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The White Horse Inn
89 reviews
1.16 miles away
The Greyhound Inn
441 reviews
2.48 miles away
The Royal Oak
346 reviews
3.30 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bangor-on-Dee Racecourse
87 reviews
2.52 miles away
Bridge End Inn
60 reviews
3.62 miles away
Bryn y Grog Hall Antiques & Collectables
21 reviews
4.09 miles away
Plas Madoc Leisure Centre
37 reviews
4.39 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Janet W
22 September 2020|
Answer
Response from DeadlySutton60 | Reviewed this property |
My wife’s cousin came with us and he suffers with Celiac , he called The Boat before we went and they gave him a Gluten free menu and there was plenty to choose from on the menu . They also cater for Vegetarians & Vegans... More
1
Vote
debmal123
2 March 2020|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Debbieparos | Reviewed this property |
There are some other options, Sunday lunch seems to be an 'as well as' not an instead of'.
1
Vote
SamICheshire
21 February 2020|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Sambiase | Reviewed this property |
Sadly not. Surprised the website is down!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Boat Inn

The Boat Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5