We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Special Occasion Dining, Groups
About
Daytime restaurant serving home cooked fresh breakfasts, lunches, freshly ground coffee and homemade cakes and desserts
PRICE RANGE
£3 - £9
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast
CUISINES
Cafe, British
FEATURES
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free off-street parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly
Reviews (540)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
328
124
43
25
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
328
124
43
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes salad baguette black pudding beans burger salmon jacket potato cromford canal afternoon tea well behaved dogs derwent valley car park all day breakfast full english breakfast lovely lunch at lunchtime
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Driven past many times but went today for breakfast. Lovely choices and went for the traditional cooked breakfast. Really busy so had half an hour wait but was worth it. Only spoilt by so many dogs in the place - I don’t mind them but...not when I’m eating food. One large table had 2 on long leads near a door and they made no attempt to control them even though people were literally falling over them trying to get to the toilets and other room. Would try again but probably wait until the summer when hopefully all the dogs would be outside in the gardenMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Lovely for lunch/brunch. But book if you can - it gets busy. We popped in for lunch on a recommendation. Great ploughman’s and steak baguette, with some beers. Dog friendly - which always helps!

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Terrible from start to finish. There wasn't a spare table which made us think .. this is going to be good! We ordered and then waited approx 20 mins for our drinks. I had managed to track down a lad (so called waiter). He said...it will come when it does! It did . Small Rose wine (£4.70) It hadn't been fridged! So I had to go back and ask ... The young lad had taken the display ones and not cold ones from the fridge. It was a Saturday and the whole front of house was manned by boys, all probably under 20... They appeared to be totally untrained. When the food eventually came we found the salt grinder was empty.. I tried several only to discover all were pepper.. I asked for some salt .. he said .. there all out! Totally unprofessional. He eventually took the grinder to fill, by the time he returned, our meals were virtually cold! I think I spent more time on my feet than I sat! There was also a party being prepared in the function room. The same staff were dealing with them too. Basically they didn't have enough staff to cope. They surely will ruin their business with chaotic unqualified staff. The food was average. The menus were all peeling apart at the edges... not hygienic or giving a good impression. we were really shocked at the whole experience. We won't return or recommend.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2024

Always wanted to visit as it looks nice from the outside, we had a spare hour so thought we’d pop in. It was busy and the waitress asked us to wait while she did some paperwork. After 5 minutes she came over and said she...may have a table she’d check. 5 minutes later she came back and took us through. We waited 15-20 minutes for someone to take our order before we upped and left. Very disappointing, won’t be trying there again.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2024

Although the staff were polite, the service today was poor. After waiting to be seated it took over 20 minutes for our order to be taken, and this was after confirming with a member of staff that it was table service. Ordered tea, hot chocolate...and two cakes. The drinks eventually arrived after a further 10 minutes, but no cakes. One cake arrived 5 minutes later and the second one 5 minutes after that, when my husband had finished his drink. I noticed other reviews which mentioned the same poor service. It would seem that management are not taking much notice. We won’t be back.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2024

The food was really nice and beautiful the place was dog friendly and a very beautiful place to eat and drinks.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 December 2023

Good customer service nice breakfast in nice surroundings . Busy at popular times but plenty of staff available

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2023

Just went for a lunch visit on route to Cheshire, saw the reviews and thought I would give it a go! Unfortunately it took about 5 minutes for someone to come to me regarding getting a table, then when I finally sat down, no one...came to serve me for 15 minutes. In the end I just got up and left as waiting 15 minutes before even being offered a drink is ridiculous! Really poor service and won’t be going back again! Big shame as there were 4 staff on so plenty of people who could have taken my order!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2023 via mobile

Just had a lovely festive dinner at The Family Tree. The mulled wine was delicious and all the food was spot on. This family run business was friendly and welcoming and accommodated the tweaks we made to our pre-orders for the kids. It’s the second...year we’ve been for the festive dinner and we enjoyed so much we’ve already booked for next yearMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2023

Although we waited a while for our meals. We had plenty of time to spare, and really enjoyed our food. The fried breakfast's bacon black pudding were delicious and the eggs and smoked salmon went down superbly.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2023 via mobile

Visited for lunch. It was very busy due to a birthday function. We were told there would be a wait. We waited over 30 minutes for a bacon and egg bagel and a tuna jacket potato. The potato wasn't cooked and I asked for it...to microwaved for longer. It came back out again still under cooked. The bagel was only warm and greasy. Such a disappointment as we love this spot and have visited a number of times in the past.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2023

Oh dear. Where to start. Looks nice inside and the young person who seated us was helpful and polite. We sat for 15 minutes waiting to be asked what we'd like - a different person took our order. We waited again... a good half hour......the coffees turned up and ONE cake. Why?! why just one?! we'd all ordered sandwiches and cake (there were three of us). Another wait and by now we're getting frustrated as there doesn't seem to be many people. Another guy near by went to ask where his order was. We asked how much longer we had to wait. The guy said his coffee was cold... the waitress said there were four orders in front of us, so at least another half hour. We paid for the coffee and the one cake... and left. Very disappointing.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2023

Do not go here unless you want an impolite, intolerant attitude with very slow service. Unprofessional in respect of customer service.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2023

We popped in for a coffee and cake. It wasn’t too busy but after waiting 5 mins by the “wait here to be seated” sign and several staff seeing us but not acknowledging us, we walked out. We had a lovely walk down the canal...and back. It was about 3.15pm and noticed it was nearly empty, so decided to try again. A polite Irish lad took our order of an apple juice, cappuccino and 2 scones. We waited 15 mins for the drinks and in that time nobody else appeared to have been served, then waited a further 5 mins for the scones. Another table close by also had to wait for parts of their order to arrive which was similar to our own (nothing fancy) but was served bit by bit. However, a couple arrived who were stopping in a room there, were served within minutes of having their order taken, even though others still hadn’t been served. Poor service at a quiet time of the day even though there were 5-6 members of staff walking in and out……… Needless to say, we won’t be calling again until there is a sign saying “ Under New Management”More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2023

very disappointed when shown to our table a sign on it read reserved at 10.30 sorry for any inconvenience caused not the best welcome being made to feel like an inconvenience. Very poor service told unlimited tea and coffee was included. In the hour and...a half we were there for our sparkling breakfast not once were we asked if everything was OK nor were we offered further drinks we had to ask for them and then wait a further 15 minutes to get 2 cups of tea. Prosecco was given to us in unopened bottles no offer to open it for us. Cheap supermarket bread was used breakfast nothing special, very dry and bland. Frustrated by being ignored even had to ask for a napkin none on the table and only one brought out not even one each. we were not even asked when leaving if everything had been alright or if we d enjoyed it they probably realised their service was poor. This was a birthday gift which I was looking forward to but have been left feeling upset and disgruntled. Would definitely not recommend going hereMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Oakhill
641 reviews
2.61 miles away
Red Lion Hotel
126 reviews
2.78 miles away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
1,799 reviews
3.05 miles away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
541 reviews
3.37 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Old Black Swan Public House
168 reviews
1.17 miles away
Anila
140 reviews
1.94 miles away
Jug & Glass Inn
143 reviews
1.99 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Crich Tramway Village
2,487 reviews
.90 miles away
White Peak Distillery
575 reviews
1.60 miles away
Lea Green Development Centre
21 reviews
1.90 miles away
Birdswood
218 reviews
2.57 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
katyDoncaster
5 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from katyDoncaster | Reviewed this property |
I am KatyDoncaster. I gave the restaurant a criticism and wrongly thought my question would be linked to this review by tripadviser
0
Votes
jeffg06
18 November 2015|
Answer
Response from TheFamilyTreeMatlock | Property representative |
Yes "dog's with well behaved owners are allowed", we also have dogs bowls in the garden.
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE FAMILY TREE RESTAURANT, Whatstandwell - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Family Tree Restaurant

Yes, The Family Tree Restaurant offers takeaway services.

The Family Tree Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5