We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
We are now open for both inside and outside dining and are complying with all covid guidance and regulations. We have plentiful outdoor covered seating in our beautiful rural situation and we also have some bookable tables inside in our characterful cafe rooms. We have a delightful and attractive farm shop and cafe situated in the picturesque Duchy of Cornwall village of Newton St Loe. Our business has developed around our home produced beef, lamb and pork, all of which are on sale in our shop and cafe. We are a family business with members of our family actively involved in the day to day running of the shop. We remain a traditional family farm, and as well as using our farm shop to market
PRICE RANGE
£5 - £15
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
CUISINES
Cafe, British
FEATURES
Takeout, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Free off-street parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (490)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
313
94
31
24
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
313
94
31
24
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes coleslaw pulled pork sunday roast burger sausage rolls newton st great cafe looked amazing brilliant service booked a table afternoon tea falconry bath vegetables slice
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wow! Stunning roast dinner! Been here a few times and your roasts do not disappoint! Melt in your mouth Newton Farm reared pork belly and beef, beautifully cooked vegetables and Yorkshire Pud to accompany. Cauliflower cheese (extra cost) was gorgeous, the cheese used in it...is very tasty. Friendly staff serving. Best roast dinner in the local area in my opinion!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I ordered a pulled pork roll, which was very salty. The waitress never asked how our meal was and for a small roll at nearly £10 with a small bit of garnish on the side, very overpriced. Complain to the management. Who...just took our drinks off the bill. I will not be eating here again., as the food was tasteless , except for eating just salt and very expensive for what you get, Definitely need to train staff in better customer service . I would not recommend this cafe to anyone.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Myself and my two sisters meet here for lunch today , Our recent experience was not good. we ordered the soup , potato and leek, green in colour , completely tasteless, no leek or potato. we asked the waitress if this was the soup of...the day as it did not taste of any leek or potato , we also said it had no taste at all apart from salt . she said she will go and check , she never came back to us ! we did pay our bill of £7.95 each for a bowl green spew ! A tip for the manager , get decent mature staff , and a decent chef as a tin of Heinz would of been better then what we had . Will not be returning .More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have been here before for a lovely Sunday roast. We made the mistake of turning up with our dog. No dogs allowed indoors. So we sat outside. But then found that no roasts are served outside. So that was it we headed home for...a cheese sandwich instead. Pity, I’ve recommended this place to others before too. Don’t think i will from now on.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2024

Very disappointing expensive lunch!! Surly waitress who did not engage at all, everything seemed an effort! Lentil and veg stew was disgusting and luke warm, asked for it to be reheated, soup was luke warm and was not the best tasting, chunky chips were mix...of hard and soft, bread was flashed at the grill arrived anaemic with a crust! Would I come to this over priced farmshop again, very much doubt it, too expensive for the quality of food provided!!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2024

Very disapointed, came for afternoon tea for my birthday, my daughter paid £90.00 for 4 people. We were showed to our table and then had to wait half an hour, by then had to ask a member of staff if we could have our food...and drinks. The sandwiches were very salty ( I love salt, but was too much for me). They told my daughter the menu and a couple of things were missing. Had to keep trying to get a member of staffs attention for more tea. Overall very upset and overpriced for what you get. Will be recommending to people not to waste their money going here.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Celia Gay, Owner at Newton Farm Shop and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Hi Pnbr18311, thank you for for leaving your feedback. I'm sorry that you were unhappy with your visit. We were short staffed that day due to sickness which meant we were unable to give as efficient service as we would normally expect to give, for...More

Reviewed 13 December 2023

I am very intolerant to garlic. Only two items on the menu were garlic free - both flatbreads. So I had smoked salmon on flatbread and chunky chips. I had wanted pulled pork but that had garlic in. Sadly I think something still had garlic...in as I was violently ill immediately which is how I react to garlic. I had to stop on my 30 minute journey home. I rang but the phone was not answered. I left a message but have had no response. Lovely ambience and friendly staff but I feel this preponderance of garlic is a big problem.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2023

Excellent Sunday roast, great service, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for good food.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2023

Excellent place for food and shop. Staff in cafe and shop very polite and customer caring for needs. Becky was great with meeting greeting very organised. Shop staff excellent in product knowledge. Great place. 👍🏻

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2023 via mobile

Lovely brunch, catered for us all including adults, children & a baby. We had booked and it was almost full so glad we did! Food was lovely, service efficient and staff friendly. Maybe a little criticism with the portion size of the kids pancakes -...my 6 year old could have eaten another pancake & ended up helping me with my breakfast! Otherwise an excellent meal & would definitely recommend and return!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2023 via mobile

Great food, great service. Great choice, warm and comfortable. Very nice surroundings. Local produce so very tasty. Excellent

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2023

We turned up 'on spec' for a lunch and joined a queue before the staff member organising everyone told us the place was full but we could try one of the outside huts. Unfortunately someone beat us to the hut, so I popped back in...to say we would go elsewhere. Just then a couple left from inside, so we were kindly allocated their table. Thereafter the service was brilliant: quick and friendly. Our pie meals were delicious, there was no pressure on us to vacate the table and we had an excellent experience. Congratulations all round.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2023

Had been recommended by a friend so decided to try the Sunday lunch. Went for rare roast beef from the local farm, came with roast pots, parsnip/swede crush, Yorkshire pudding, braised pickled red cabbage, leeks and broccoli. My friend had carrots on their plate but...sadly I missed out on those. Ordered a side of delicious pigs’n’blankets. Gravy came on the side which I like, allowed me to douse the areas I wanted. Beef was sublime, can easily recommend. Pots were ever so slightly underdone but tasty, everything else perfect and very very filling. Other people’s desserts looked large, couldn’t manage anything else other than coffee to complete meal. It’s not cheap but quality never is. Will revisit.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2023

Very disappointed that we drove up here. The farm shop had a small butchery but everything else being sold was ultra processed, from limp supermarket style sandwiches to scotch eggs filled with additives like soy protein. I asked the shop assistant about this as I...was so confused to see such a long list of UPF additives in a farm shop, and they said five chefs had quit in the last few weeks so now they were just buying in cheap processed food and repackaging it as farm shop food (with a farm shop price). So cynical.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Celia Gay, Owner at Newton Farm Shop and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

Hi IsMT, The review you have written here is untrue and I feel the need to reply to the points you have made as I don't want anyone looking at this and thinking this is a true reflection of our business. The small butchery you...More

Reviewed 1 October 2023

We visited with my grandmother a couple of weeks ago for a Sunday lunch. We booked the table for 2pm, the roast was delicious and one of the best we’ve all ever had! Once we had finished our food but it seemed like most of...the staff had gone. Our plates didn’t get collected and the same for the other 4 tables around us all seemed to be looking around. My partner got up, found a young waiter and asked if we could have coffee. Assuming it was the manager over heard and came out with ‘only if it’s quick’ which came across quite rude considering we are paying customers and we had been waiting a good 20 minutes once finishing our meal. I hope none of the other tables wanted desert or coffee. But the food was delicious, roast beef was cooked to perfection!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Bathen House Boutique Hotel
385 reviews
1.43 miles away
The Bath Priory
2,116 reviews
2.00 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Bath, an IHG Hotel
2,095 reviews
2.28 miles away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1,966 reviews
2.57 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Old Crown Inn
382 reviews
1.57 miles away
Riverside Inn
96 reviews
1.64 miles away
Rooted Cafe & Supper Room
265 reviews
1.65 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Saltford Brass Mill
8 reviews
1.76 miles away
West of England Falconry
388 reviews
.06 miles away
Bath City Farm
93 reviews
1.43 miles away
Fairfield House Home of HIM Emperor Haile Selassie I
10 reviews
1.31 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Guide207944
17 August 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Celia G | Property representative |
Hello Yes we have 2 ground floor toilets open between 9am and 4pm. One of them has disabled facilities.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

NEWTON FARM SHOP AND CAFE, Newton St Loe - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Newton Farm Shop and Cafe

Yes, Newton Farm Shop and Cafe offers takeaway services.

Yes, Newton Farm Shop and Cafe is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Newton Farm Shop and Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4