We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dolphin

26 High Street | Sutton on Sea, Mablethorpe LN12 2EX, England
+44 1507 442096
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good28%
  • Average9%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible21%
Travellers talk about
“haddock” (7 reviews)
“mushy peas” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
British, Seafood
26 High Street | Sutton on Sea, Mablethorpe LN12 2EX, England
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

wow what a lovely clean place served efficiently polite friendly waitress food cooked to order lovely fresh fish and chips cod skinless and boneless, loved my diet coke in a bottle , followed by lovely Cornish Kelly's ice cream what more could you want at...More

Thank Zoe W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've only ever been to the other well known chip shop in Sutton on sea, it was closed so we went to the Dolphin. We're converted! Staff were really friendly, service was prompt and food was both great in price and portion size. Most importantly...More

Thank Bumfy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I had a meal at the Dolphin which was very disappointing , the fish seemed overcooked or rewarmed as the fish was yellow and hard inside the batter ! . The chips were not the best and vinegar seemed watered down ,...More

Thank Jamie G
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just got a portion of chips to eat on our walk back to the caravan site. Actually only ate a few as they were bland and tasteless even having requested lots of vinegar which I can only assume was watered down as I couldn't taste...More

Thank NessieNoo
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

More often fish cafes have a choice of one main fish type,usually in Lincolnshire this is Haddock, however, this little restaurant had the choice of Cad,Haddock & Plaice. The portions were on the large side and the service good. The whole environment is ultra clean...More

Thank challenger530
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

A good quality fish and chip meal, very well cooked and presented. The price is good, 2 meals for £10 is a rarity nowadays. Will definitely return

Thank covlocks
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

We had cod chips and tea bread and butter. Good food and efficient service. All really clean. Would go again and recomend..

1  Thank Jango321
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Very nice inside clean etc, we had our meal in side ,order was taken straight away didn't wait for long ....I think my sausages had been sat in the heat unit for a time as hard and unpleasant ,chips bland and funny texture staff seamed...More

Thank Paul M
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Friday evening, the sun was shining and what better to do than drive to the coast for a Fish and Chip supper. I've eaten here many times and introduced many friends to the place. Eat In, the service is friendly and the fish is always...More

Thank Chris C
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

We have eaten here many times over the years and considered their fish and chips one of the best, but unfortunately today that was not the case. The chips were very dry and looked like and tasted worse than microwaveable chips and were cold. The...More

Thank Beverley M
Nearby Restaurants
Sea Breeze Restaurant
305 reviews
.04 miles away
Fat Seagull
406 reviews
.84 miles away
Waldo's Fish and Chips
221 reviews
.13 miles away
Stepping stones cafe
82 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Beach Bar
32 reviews
.26 miles away
Love Sweets
11 reviews
.02 miles away
The Crows Nest
16 reviews
.01 miles away
The Stables Pony Parties
8 reviews
.31 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Pamela S
Why do the quality of the chips vary so much and why no scraps.
31 May 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Zoe W | Reviewed this property |
the reason no scraps is because when the pans are cleaned the bits go in the same place as the scraps no one wants to eat lots of bits now do they
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 26 High Street | Sutton on Sea, Mablethorpe LN12 2EX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Mablethorpe
  • Phone Number: +44 1507 442096
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing