We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
123 Sooning St, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
+61 7 4758 2419
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 269: English reviews
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Ordered the barramundi, obviously very fresh fish ( as you'd expect for the price). Our waitress for the night seemed uninterested in our table (possibly because we are the the type of clientele they would typically get through the restaurant). All in all, the food was great, but I probably wouldn't eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank drink-a-beer-josh
Nicholas R, Executive Chef at Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you drink-a-beer-josh for your review on your recent dining experience with us, we only serve fresh locally sourced seafood, we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal. We are sorry that it was let down by the service, hopefully we can welcome you back to Boardwalk Restaurant in the near future More 

Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017

We went to this restaurant while staying at Peppers Resort on Magnetic Island and it was lovely. The service was good and the food selection and wine choices were great. The staff were helpful and friendly. This restaurant had been recommended to us and we weren't disappointed. Would highly recommend a meal or two here!

Helpful?
1 Thank scottcQ2617FV
Nicholas R, Executive Chef at Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you Scott for your wonderful review on your recent dining experience at the Boardwalk Restaurant. We always strive to give the best service and food that we can, seeming you were recommended means that word of mouth is always the best advertising. We hope to welcome you back to dine with us again in the near future. More 

Shoalhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch with 4 people and the food was really nice, interesting,fresh and reasonably priced. Calamari was excellent and the noodle salad. We enjoyed it so much that we returned for dinner in a few days. Unfortunately not as good. Fairly boring menu, steak, chicken, fish and sides of vegetables or salad extra making the meal overpriced. Seriously,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin W
Nicholas R, Executive Chef at Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you Martin for taking the time to review your recent dining experiences with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed the service and food at lunch (will talk to the staff member to ensure he continually wears deodorant after having his break). The menu prices are due to the high quality of produce that we provide and service that... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Have been twice in the last 2 weeks. Menu for New Year's Eve was okay but night was not worth $125 per person plus the cost of the ferry. Tried again last night. I asked for barramundi and some sides (a slight change of menu). As it was simply just taken out of the broth it was very wet and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Petrina D
Nicholas R, Executive Chef at Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you Petrina for your review on the recent experiences with us, we are sorry we did not live up to your expectaions, we always strive to give the best possible service and provide the best possible food and menu changes. We hope to welcome you back to Boardwalk restaurant in the near future. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Beautiful views overlooking Nelly bay marina. Food was amazing. Staff were friendly and professional. Cocktails are very nice. Happy hour is from 5pm to 6pm. Lovely for a romantic dinner

Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
Nicholas R, Executive Chef at Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you Sandra, we agree that the views are beautiful here in our restaurant, we are delighted that you have a wonderful experience and look forward to welcoming you back to the Boardwalk restaurant in the near future. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

This is our second time to Maggie Island and Peppers in 3 years, but it was much more memorable this time round due to the great dining experience we had at Boardwalk! Had a light dinner here the first night after arrival, and all the dishes were impressive: the lamb cutlets and the quail and the scallops, all perfect. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank megleigh
Nicholas R, Executive Chef at Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you megleigh, it was a pleasure to meet you the other day when you stayed with us and appreciate the generous feedback. Once again I am blessed to have such a great team behind me. We strive to ensure all our guests that dine with us have the very best experiences. We hope to see you in the near... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017

We made a booking at the restaurant for 7.30pm. It was the night for the seafood special so we thought let's try it and if it is good, we will go back there for the degustation menu for a special treat on the last night of our stay on Maggie. We arrived at 7.30, were seated at a lovely table... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen N
Nicholas R, Executive Chef at Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you Karen for your review on your recent experience with us, we are sorry that this time was not up to our usual standards and that we missed out on creating a degustation for you. We strive to give the best service we can and will take this feedback on board. We hope to see you again in the... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

Dined here several times over an 8 day stay. The food is of high quality, the service friendly and efficient. Somewhat expensive especially the bottled wine. Breakfast service also excellent.

Helpful?
Thank ritae2017
Nicholas R, Executive Chef at Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you ritae2017 for your fantastic review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you have a great number of experiences and strive to give the best service and cook the best food possible. we look forward to you dining with us again. More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Stopped here whilst on Magnetic Island, was a lovely place to stop in a great location, we only had drinks but the staff were friendly and helpful, it's very relaxed there and weren't hurried to move on.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We had lunch here, paid over $20 for a burger which was dry. Salad was not very tasty, and only chosen due to very limited gluten free options.

Helpful?
Thank MarkCharge
Nicholas R, Executive Chef at Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you Mark for your review on your lunch experience, we are sorry that you did not have a good experience, we take constructive feedback seriously and hope that you will return so we can show you that we action and take seriously all feedback. More 

Travellers who viewed Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Magnetic Island, Queensland
Magnetic Island, Queensland
 
Arcadia, Magnetic Island
Picnic Bay, Magnetic Island
 
Magnetic Island, Queensland
Horseshoe Bay, Magnetic Island
 

Been to Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$14 - US$33
Cuisine
Seafood, Australian, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, View, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 123 Sooning St, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Magnetic Island  >  Nelly Bay
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4758 2419
Description
The Boardwalk Restaurant & Bar has a great variety for all occasions.From Lunch on the deck over looking the marina,too fine dining at dinner.Executive Chef Rodney Smith has combined fresh ingredients and local produce in his menus that will tantalize your taste buds. Now we have gone back to what we do best and wow our guests with the flavour combinations that we are renown for.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?