We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tudor Rose

££ - £££, British,
270 Coulsdon Road, Coulsdon CR5 1EB, England
+44 1737 553368
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good22%
  • Average15%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“fish cakes” (6 reviews)
“crab” (6 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
270 Coulsdon Road, Coulsdon CR5 1EB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a family meal to celebrate my Mum's 81st birthday and the speed of service was just to slow. The waitress claimed that there were only three staff working and they were overrun. The place didn't look that busy and it was certainly hard...More

Thank Syd_The_Sloth
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At the end of the day this is a pub, although half is set out as a restaurant. We stopped by for Sunday Lunch enroute to friends. We opted for the roast lunch lunch, and came away disappointed. Prices range from Pork at £14 to...More

Thank stelondon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped for lunch with a couple of friends... Service was very slow as there was only one waiter to cover the whole restaurant. He was trying is hardest but just too many tables for one person. The food here is terrible. The breaded buttermilk chicken...More

Thank Tim B
TudorRoseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

thankyou for your feedback.

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

I came here with my partner at 20:30, we had a few drinks until 21:45, by which point we were a little peckish. Bearing in mind the kitchen closed at 22:00, we made a quick dash to order some food. Only to be told that...More

1  Thank westcott94
TudorRoseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Our sincerest apologies that our kitchen closing at 21:45 led to yourself and your partner feeling thoroughly outraged. We have addressed this with the team. Thankyou for your feedback.

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Since it's revamp a few years the Tudor Rose got steadily better but since the beginning of the year its decline is speeding up. They don't care anymore, asked for extra gherkins on the burger, 'we can do that said the waiter' but the burger...More

Thank Eddie M
TudorRoseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hi Eddie M, many thanks for your time taken in giving this review. My apologies for the lack of gerkins with your burger (clearly a communication error on our part, which has been addressed). I'd also like to apologise for your steak, which, had the...More

Reviewed 4 November 2017

I have eaten here a few times now, they have a lovely menu selection. The sea bass dish here is fabulous as was the lobster & crab cocktail. It offers a specials menu which is reasonably priced. The decor is good and it has loads...More

Thank Amanda K
TudorRoseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hello Amanda K, Thankyou for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our menu and enviroment. My apologies with regards to the issues with your bill and hope that, on your next visit, this shown to be a one off incident. Many thanks for your patience...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017

My first visit to this restaurant with a couple of friends for a mid-week catch up. It was very quiet with only a couple of other tables occupied but the décor and menu looked attractive. Our first waiter was rather sullen and we were disappointed...More

1  Thank Sue H
TudorRoseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hi Sue H, Thankyou for taking time to leave a review. My apologies for the issues regarding substituting salad/fries/veg and the lack of Chocolate Brownies on your visit. I have discussed this issue with our kitchen. The brownies, which are not made in house, were...More

A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Food was first class for price, unfortunately marred a little by the wait inbetween courses. Our first waitress was friendly and attentive, but when her shift finished half way through our meal, no one seemed to take responsibility for our table. We were served our...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TudorRoseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hi, Thankyou for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your food with us. I apologise for the issues experienced due to a shift change over. This is clearly something that we needed to polish to ensure a consistent service is recieved by all and is...More

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Just returned from an evening meal with two friends in the restaurant. The food was lovely and very plentiful (especially the roast dinners). The crab and lobster fish cakes were very tasty indeed and I look forward to trying the fish and chips next time!...More

Thank P4penny
TudorRoseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hi P4penny, Thankyou for taking time to give such a lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed you belated birthday with us. I've ensured the whole team have seen your comments! We look forward to seeing you again! Thankyou

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Our four Sunday lunches ordered at 12.44 took more than an hour to serve yet the pub was not busy when we arrived, although it had filled up by 1.30. (When we had still yet not been served!) One of party had ordered a starter...More

Thank Winton8
TudorRoseManagement, Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hi Winton8, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your recent visit, unfortunately it would appear that service was not up to our usual high standards when you were here. I am terribly sorry about the unexpected delay for your...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Wattenden Arms
129 reviews
.76 miles away
Cafe Shack
37 reviews
.46 miles away
Rice N Spice
44 reviews
.64 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Surrey National Golf Club
78 reviews
1.45 miles away
GO Paintball London
142 reviews
1.61 miles away
The Miller Centre Theatre
21 reviews
2.58 miles away
The beauty spa
5 reviews
2.75 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Tudor Rose staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 270 Coulsdon Road, Coulsdon CR5 1EB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Coulsdon
  • Phone Number: +44 1737 553368
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing