We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tudor Rose

££ - £££, British,
270 Coulsdon Road, Coulsdon CR5 1EB, England
+44 1737 553368
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good22%
  • Average14%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“lamb rump” (5 reviews)
“brie” (4 reviews)
“crab” (6 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
270 Coulsdon Road, Coulsdon CR5 1EB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is our local, we dont usually drink here because the prices are a bit high, however we had a family meal the other evening and have to say it was very nice, with good food and excellent service .More

Thank john s
TudorRoseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi john s, Thankyou for your review. Your comments have been shared with the team and warmly received. With regards to prices, we do conduct regular price checks with our nearest competitors to ensure that we remain competitive. Please do have a look at our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with family excellent service and meal however the restaurant was very cold. Two elderly members of our group felt extremely cold. Discussed the temperature and additional blow fan was brought out but unfortunately did not make a big difference

Thank Slimjim05
TudorRoseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thankyou for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the service and food on Boxing day, and our sincerest apologies with regards to the heating. Your comments have been passed on to the team. Again, many thanks.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were amazing first of all. Giving up their Christmas day to come and do two busy services should be applauded. They were fast and friendly at all times and nothing was too much trouble. I hope they all got a nice bonus we...More

Thank John M
TudorRoseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou for your fantastic review. We're glad yourself and your party had a great Christmas and we look forward to seeing you again next Christmas, though, hopefully we'll see you before that! Again, many thanks

Reviewed 3 December 2017

We had a family meal to celebrate my Mum's 81st birthday and the speed of service was just to slow. The waitress claimed that there were only three staff working and they were overrun. The place didn't look that busy and it was certainly hard...More

Thank Syd_The_Sloth
TudorRoseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou for your feedback. My apologies for the slow service, something that has been addressed. Many thanks.

Reviewed 1 December 2017

At the end of the day this is a pub, although half is set out as a restaurant. We stopped by for Sunday Lunch enroute to friends. We opted for the roast lunch lunch, and came away disappointed. Prices range from Pork at £14 to...More

Thank stelondon
TudorRoseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou for your feedback. Your comments with regards to the roast potatoes has been passed onto the kitchen team.

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Stopped for lunch with a couple of friends... Service was very slow as there was only one waiter to cover the whole restaurant. He was trying is hardest but just too many tables for one person. The food here is terrible. The breaded buttermilk chicken...More

Thank Tim B
TudorRoseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

thankyou for your feedback.

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

I came here with my partner at 20:30, we had a few drinks until 21:45, by which point we were a little peckish. Bearing in mind the kitchen closed at 22:00, we made a quick dash to order some food. Only to be told that...More

1  Thank westcott94
TudorRoseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Our sincerest apologies that our kitchen closing at 21:45 led to yourself and your partner feeling thoroughly outraged. We have addressed this with the team. Thankyou for your feedback.

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Since it's revamp a few years the Tudor Rose got steadily better but since the beginning of the year its decline is speeding up. They don't care anymore, asked for extra gherkins on the burger, 'we can do that said the waiter' but the burger...More

Thank Eddie M
TudorRoseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hi Eddie M, many thanks for your time taken in giving this review. My apologies for the lack of gerkins with your burger (clearly a communication error on our part, which has been addressed). I'd also like to apologise for your steak, which, had the...More

Reviewed 4 November 2017

I have eaten here a few times now, they have a lovely menu selection. The sea bass dish here is fabulous as was the lobster & crab cocktail. It offers a specials menu which is reasonably priced. The decor is good and it has loads...More

Thank Amanda K
TudorRoseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hello Amanda K, Thankyou for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our menu and enviroment. My apologies with regards to the issues with your bill and hope that, on your next visit, this shown to be a one off incident. Many thanks for your patience...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017

My first visit to this restaurant with a couple of friends for a mid-week catch up. It was very quiet with only a couple of other tables occupied but the décor and menu looked attractive. Our first waiter was rather sullen and we were disappointed...More

1  Thank Sue H
TudorRoseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hi Sue H, Thankyou for taking time to leave a review. My apologies for the issues regarding substituting salad/fries/veg and the lack of Chocolate Brownies on your visit. I have discussed this issue with our kitchen. The brownies, which are not made in house, were...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Coulsdon Hotels
Coulsdon Manor & Golf Club
494 reviews
.75 miles away
Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe
281 reviews
1.96 miles away
Chez Vous Rooms
45 reviews
2.86 miles away
Travelodge South Croydon
127 reviews
3.08 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Wattenden Arms
129 reviews
.76 miles away
Cafe Shack
38 reviews
.46 miles away
Rice N Spice
44 reviews
.64 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Surrey National Golf Club
79 reviews
1.45 miles away
GO Paintball London
142 reviews
1.61 miles away
The Miller Centre Theatre
22 reviews
2.58 miles away
The beauty spa
5 reviews
2.75 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Tudor Rose staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 270 Coulsdon Road, Coulsdon CR5 1EB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Coulsdon
  • Phone Number: +44 1737 553368
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing