We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

About
Stunning seafood restaurant in a beachfront location with amazing views from inside or the outside balcony.
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Seafood, British
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Waterfront, Beach, Dog Friendly, Non-smoking restaurants, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (1,655)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,651 results
Traveller rating
954
291
168
100
138
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
954
291
168
100
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips crab tartare bread sea bass salad fish restaurant worth the wait curry sauce crispy batter take away pot of tea lovely restaurant lovely view sea front at lunchtime visit saltburn
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at restaurant approx 19:45, waiting at bottom of stairs for assistant. After 15 min went to dining area by lift, on entry asked if we could have a table for 2 stating we had not reserved. The welcome we received was somewhat negative...and off putting overall. When giving our order asked when they closed and was told last order time was 20:20 our order was given at 20:05 We ordered the fish nd chips with a portion of mushy peas. The fish was adequate whilst he chips were somewhat poor, luke warm scraps would be a good description, the so called mushy peas were cold and stiff!! Whilst waiting for bill it was noticed customers who arrived around 20:30 having reserved tables possibly had freshly cooked chips etc. When our Bill came we noticed a service charge was added automatically, I requested to the assistant that would prefer not to pay this, after paying bill it was still on final total. Calling the assistant over I had to tell her again and it was only after talking to her supervisor that we were given it back on our card. Whilst it was late when we arrived others followed us getting freshly cooked food and overall the service was somewhat negative, the food itself was very poor in quality, we did not complain as we were tired after a somewhat long day A business we have visited many times over the years, take away and restaurant, hopefully it was a one off?More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely beautiful crab brioche! Enjoyed the Picpoul De Pinet white wine to compliment which was perfect. Lovely staff, very pleasant restaurant with a stunning view of the sea, would highly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have been desperate to sample the Nadia and Fred’s recommended Saltburn crab brioche and it didn’t disappoint. Fabulous views and service faultless !!

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Seaview is a wonderful restaurant with delicious seafood, I had the Calamari starter which was to die for the sauce tasted out of this world. The main course was the British classic fish & chips I chose haddock a regular size was just enough....Then for a treat I had the caramelised apple crumble with clotted ice cream that was the best crumble I have ever had.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've eaten here probably half a dozen times and each time we're welcomed like friends by all the staff. How they remember us when they're probably seeing hundreds of people a day is an art! We've previously swerved the TV endorsed Crab Brioche - dismissing...it as "just a sandwich" and chosen something else. How wrong were we! The brioche is NOT just a sandwich and deserves ALL the hype. Featured on Remarkable Places to Eat and it was, remarkable! We've recommended this place to all our friends and taken family - none were disappointed when they visited! Don't be put off if there's a queue, your patience will pay off! Enjoy the amazing food and teat yourself to a "cheeky champagne". We'll be back!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2024

This restaurant had been recommended plus we had seen it on TV so we were looking forward to this visit. We were not disappointed, if anything we were more than impressed. Lovely atmosphere friendly and welcoming staff. I had heard so much about the crab...sandwich (as seen on TV) this was what I had planned on ordering. A customer close to us had ordered it, yes it looked everything I had imagined but after reading the menu I changed my mind, how glad I was once my meal was received. What an amazing evening with fabulous food. I love seafood but this experience had out done quite a few of my previous seafood evenings. I think my photos speak for themselves. Thank you Seaview for a memorable evening.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2024

Took my grandson for a takeaway, we've been several times(he likes the fish)... service is always very poor, staff serving at the tills are always slow... they're in the service industry, I don't know why they don't take a bit more pride in their work....They're late to open, surly & treat customers poorly.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2023

Was a bit reticent about joining the queue for the this restaurant but had heard so much about it and seen it on TV we decided it would be worth it. We knew you couldn’t book for lunch so thought the queue would go down...quickly. The Manageress came down and went along the queue giving approx waiting times, we were told 30 mins so decided to wait. After about 45mins it became apparent that the queue wasn’t moving that quickly and that people HAD booked and were walking to the front of the queue. We had invested so much time that we chose to continue waiting, after 1 hr 15 mins the Manageress again came down and told us another 15 mins. We eventually got in after 1hr 45 mins wait. We were cold and our patience had been tested but we’re looking forward to the meal. The food was good but no better than any decent Fish and Chip restaurant. The view was amazing which was the one thing this place has going for it. The management really need to get a grip on the queuing/ booking system, telling people 30 mins then having to wait more than 3 times as long is just not on. This was our first and unfortunately our last visit, not worth the hype and basically a decent fish and chip restaurant with amazing views, that’s all.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glenn Pearson, Owner at Seaview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2023

I'm very sorry you feel this way, however I feel this response is rather harsh. We are only a small restaurant and we offer a relaxed service, where people are not rushed out of the restaurant and are offered a relaxed atmosphere with fresh good...More

Reviewed 29 November 2023

Window table with amazing views. Food and wine to match . Fab ! Crab brioche lived up to expectations; delicious.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2023

Not as good as it was years ago, not sure what oil is used now but chips were a disappointment. Had a vegetable oil taste to them which is not at all pleasant esp compared to proper beef dripping chips. Fish and batter was cooked...through. Which many fish and chip shops cannot seem to manage, so that was good. Not sure would return in future though.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2023 via mobile

We were up locally collecting some wrought iron work from Katie Ventress, the creative blacksmith. Had seen this restaurant reviewed by Fred and Nadiya on TV, knew it got busy, but lucked out - last car park space and last table for 2 ! Initial...impressions were very good - superb location, shop and deli downstairs, restaurant upstairs. Lift and stairs, which was good for my friend. Architecture of the place was stylish and modern. Welcomed in, all staff happy, service was perfectly paced for lunch. A few moments, drinks and order, water provided for the table. I was deffo having the crab brioche, my friend plumped for the pan fried plaice. It takes a while - be patient - made to order. Food was superb, absolutely excellent. Glad we managed to get in as they were queuing when we left. Lunch is wait for a table, evening is bookable. It works well.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2023

When we arrived at the top of the funicular, we asked a couple of locals for the best fish and chips. Without hesitation, they both said here - not the cheapest, but the best. We had a large family group (19 including a baby) and...we were seated on the terrace on several tables in a long line within minutes of turning up. It was not a warm day and it was out of school holidays - but it worked! The food was good - everybody enjoyed it - and it is in a great location, with lovely views over the beach. We couldn't fault it - I don't quite understand some of the poor reviews on here - perhaps they were at busier times. Our verdict: we agree with the locals!More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2023

Booked for dinner as we had seen Fred & Nadia on TV really rating the seafood brioche. Starters were fine & I enjoyed my main of stonebass with curried mussels, however, it did need a side of chips which I ordered. The side did not...come, no one came to the table to ask if everything was OK so I did without as waiting on staff poorly trained - they keep their heads down & were solely focused on what they were doing at any one time so did not know what was going on around them & you could not catch their eye. My husband had their signature dish of crab filled brioche & he did not enjoy. The brioche was dry & there was hardly any filling in it - it certainly did not look like any of the photos in some reviews where the filling appears to be overflowing! My husband ate the brioche as short of getting up & making a fuss there was nothing else he could do as the waiting staff certainly weren't interested in checking if things were ok. We decided to order desert & coffee. The coffee came almost immediately. We finished our coffees still no desert after 25 minutes we were on the verge of leaving when the deserts arrived with no explanation as to what took so long. I don't know where all the good reviews come from for this restaurant as I found the experience very disappointing & I definitely would not recommend. A waste of hard earned money!More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2023 via mobile

We visited today and although the kitchen was closed so they were on a limited menu they were still very accommodating. My husband had cod and chips, my son had childs scampi and chips and as I don’t like fish I asked if there was...something else I could have (limited menu was just fish) and they did me an adult sausage. Very clean, including the toilets, and it was lovely to sit outside overlooking the beach and sea. Staff very friendly, made a fuss of our toddler and definitely earned their service change. Overall a lovely dinner in a beautiful setting.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 September 2023 via mobile

We booked for an evening, so no waiting. The dressed crab starter was really good, and the hake was superb. My husband also enjoyed his haddock and chips. Friendly staff, and a lovely view outside

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Spa Hotel
1,232 reviews
.10 miles away
Brockley Hall Hotel
630 reviews
.31 miles away
Rushpool Hall
66 reviews
.72 miles away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
546 reviews
1.78 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
No. Twenty Three
180 reviews
.19 miles away
Virgos Cafe
348 reviews
.21 miles away
Coco & Rum (Thai Fusion)
335 reviews
.26 miles away
The Kings Grill
284 reviews
.17 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Saltburn Cliff Tramway
788 reviews
.04 miles away
Saltburn Beach
572 reviews
.01 miles away
Saltburn Pier
856 reviews
.05 miles away
Saltburn Valley Gardens
12 reviews
.37 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
emmah291
19 September 2023|
Answer
Response from SeaviewinSaltburn | Property representative |
Hello It is only partially covered.
0
Votes
ruthmV364AH
6 April 2023|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from SeaviewinSaltburn | Property representative |
We use beef fat.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SEAVIEW RESTAURANT, Saltburn-by-the-Sea - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Seaview Restaurant

Yes, Seaview Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Yes, Seaview Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Seaview Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4