We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tafarn y Phoenix

££ - £££, British,
1 Penygroes Road | Gorslas, Llanelli SA14 7LA, Wales
+44 1269 844438
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good24%
  • Average14%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible27%
Travellers talk about
“plaice” (4 reviews)
“curry” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Penygroes Road | Gorslas, Llanelli SA14 7LA, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Always enjoy coming here, the best “Stella” in the area. Staff go out of their way to make you feel really welcomed, particularly love the beer garden in the summer

Thank Nhs24
Tafarn P, Manager at Tafarn y Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

thank you for your feedback. I will make sure your lovely comments are fed back to the team, and hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great time at the Phoenix at New Years. Music was good - just a shame the singer decided to have a strop and leave early. Buffet was really nice and the evening was a bargain for £5. The only real negative of the...More

Thank Joanne D
Tafarn P, Manager at Tafarn y Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thank you for your review for New Years Eve. I am sorry the singer left as he did but I'm glad you enjoyed your evening with us and especially the buffet. look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a total wash out for a New Year’s Eve! As previous reviews say- the entertainment finished well before midnight. The only music was a radio station which had poor reception. There was as a result a mass exodus to another local pub to see...More

Thank Nolene W
Tafarn P, Manager at Tafarn y Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am very sorry about your visit New Years Eve and the music finishing early. As I explained this was out of my control, the singer decided to leave even though he was booked till midnight, I have taken it up with the agency we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the Phoenix last night for New Year's Eve, we live nearby so purchased tickets for the tickets which promised a buffet and entertainment. The buffet was ok, but my first drink had to be taken back. I had been given a unwashed...More

Thank Mandy H
Tafarn P, Manager at Tafarn y Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am really sorry about your visit, I have taken up with the agency we use as the singer was booked for the night but he decided to leave. I thought I had spoke to everyone and apologised but I am sorry I missed you....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bought tickets for this evenings party in advance as in the past they had sold out. Arrived to find the entertainment setting up. Buffet looked nice and was set up in the corner of the lounge. Evening started off well, the singer sang a good...More

Thank phillipm252
Tafarn P, Manager at Tafarn y Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I can only apologise for the singer, as I did on the evening I am taking this up with the booking agent as this was not the arrangements we made. I am sorry if this spoilt your evening. I am glad you enjoyed the buffet...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food was cold, very poor quality. Plates were greasy and absolutely stunk. Zero atmosphere. No music playing. When asked if music could be played we were told “You might be on your Xmas meal but others here aren’t”. We spoke to the manager about all...More

Thank lewistommason
Tafarn P, Manager at Tafarn y Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am sorry to hear about your experience with us. I have spoke with the holding manager on my return and discussed your visit. I have addressed the issues and given feed back to my team. Once again I am sorry you were disappointed wit...More

Reviewed 3 December 2017

Food, drinks & service was excellent & punctual: no complaints whatsoever. Would recommend to family & friends

Thank Llyr D
Tafarn P, Team Leader at Tafarn y Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Hi Llyr Thank you very much for your lovely review. We aim to please and are glad we met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks, Helen.

Reviewed 3 December 2017

I called here with a few friends towards the end of November. The food was lovely - I had the Cajun chicken with sweet potato fries and peas. The service was also very good (I asked what ingredients was in the meal I ordered due...More

Thank 89Jenks
Tafarn P, Team Leader at Tafarn y Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Many thanks for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and we met your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Many thanks Helen.

Reviewed 2 December 2017

Stopped off on trip away for a spot of lunch and ordered off the 2 for £10 menu and was pleasantly surprised by the quantity and quality of food. Great food Great serviceMore

Thank Grif2010
Tafarn P, Team Leader at Tafarn y Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you were impressed with our 2 for £10 offer. It is one of our most popular offers and we glad to hear it is still pleasing our customers :) We look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Went to Tafarn y Phoenix on a Tuesday night with my son, and have to say I was glad I did. You can see they've worked hard to create a homely and Christmas feel with their crackling wood fire and exceptional welcoming service from the...More

Thank simon h
Tafarn P, Manager at Tafarn y Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and am glad to hear your son cleared his plate, we all know how challenging that can be. I will pass on your comments to my team as they...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Llanelli
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
217 reviews
.79 miles away
The Cawdor
494 reviews
6.39 miles away
White Hart Inn
100 reviews
6.55 miles away
Waun Wyllt B&B
44 reviews
6.88 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bean on a Bike
18 reviews
.22 miles away
Caffi Ar y Llyn
52 reviews
.82 miles away
Crosshands Hotel & grill Limited
42 reviews
.97 miles away
Dwbi's Restaurant
107 reviews
.95 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Llyn Llech Owain Country Park
58 reviews
.43 miles away
Play Cwtsh Chwarae
35 reviews
2.32 miles away
Quad Challenge
94 reviews
2.77 miles away
National Botanic Garden of Wales
898 reviews
4.24 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tafarn y Phoenix staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Penygroes Road | Gorslas, Llanelli SA14 7LA, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Carmarthenshire  >  Llanelli
  • Phone Number: +44 1269 844438
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing