We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Young Pretender Beer Parlour

££ - £££, British,
30-34 Lawton Street, Congleton CW12 1RS, England
+44 1260 273277
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good34%
  • Average14%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (9 reviews)
“salad” (2 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
30-34 Lawton Street, Congleton CW12 1RS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice pub, great beer but avoid on Saturday afternoons, too many parents letting children shout, scream, run around and doing cartwheels. Maybe the staff should remind parents that it is well behaved children only.More

Thank Jane P
Tandy P, Public Relations Manager at The Young Pretender Beer Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Our sincere apologies for your experience at the YP. This is not a typical Saturday afternoon and after speaking to the Bar Manager, it would appear that a group of around 40 people with children arrived having previously been at the Fair and the children...More

Reviewed 2 October 2018

Great place for a friendly beer or eight! Good selection of beers and gins and the staff were great. will visit again

Thank paultims0n
Tandy P, Public Relations Manager at The Young Pretender Beer Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review Paul.

Reviewed 3 August 2018

Lovely place nice staff but just been charged £8.10 for a delerium Belgium and a coke , The dearest by far I’ve ever paid for this round and we have had it many times ,, it’s congleton not London guys , the place will get...More

Thank Mark H
Tandy P, Public Relations Manager at The Young Pretender Beer Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and our apologies for the delay in responding to it. We are always keen to be good value for money and at the time of your visit, we were in the process of reviewing our suppliers, one of which supplies...More

Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

I have visited the Young Pretender a few times now and have been really impressed with the choice of beers and friendliness of the staff. I have eaten there twice and tried the extensive tapas menu and today the club sandwich. Ok they don't do...More

Thank davef508
Tandy P, Public Relations Manager at The Young Pretender Beer Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your positive review Dave and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 19 July 2018

As a long term CAMRA member, I am very sad regarding the deteriorating beer quality at the YP. This has gone from the best beer outlet in Congleton to the worse. Visited yesterday, when all five of the cask ales were either cloudy at best...More

Thank johnspeck
Tandy P, Public Relations Manager at The Young Pretender Beer Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, the ex member of staff you spoke to was not in a position to comment that no one was looking after the cellar. We take a great pride in looking after our beer and it is our number one...More

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Arrived on a Wednesday night at 10.30 but all the chairs were on the tables and we were told they had finished serving desire the board outside saying open until 2300. We were with friends and had ordered a taxi to pick us up they're...More

Thank DRS0001
Tandy P, Public Relations Manager at The Young Pretender Beer Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

We were really sorry to learn about this, and yes, you are quite correct, we should have been open until 2300 as the board says. The matter has been raised with our team at the YP, so this shouldn't happen again. We hope that this...More

Reviewed 20 April 2018

Thursday night at the YP we were pretty lonely, just a handful of customers. It makes you wonder why, but then the answer becomes clear. The staff are not at all friendly or welcoming. One was busy doing crossword puzzles the other appeared from nowhere...More

1  Thank Pathfinder617
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Last night, I went to the Young Pretender with a few friends - actually there were 53 of us! The pre-ordered pies were cooked and served faultlessly by Matt despite delays of some friends in the snow and some cancellations. One of our group was...More

1  Thank dritherdon
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Great sharing platters enjoyed yesterday as a late lunch and enjoying the jazz. Lovely atmosphere, good service

Thank Enka29
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Sorry to burst the bubble but the staff are more interested in their own lives and are quite childish. This once great place had lost it's zing. It is no longer busy, at 7.30 on a Friday it is cold and quiet. More competition has...More

2  Thank An0n1973
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Alexandra Court Hotel
387 reviews
.93 miles away
Chimney House Hotel
790 reviews
5.36 miles away
Hotel Rudyard
308 reviews
6.28 miles away
Premier Inn Macclesfield South West Hotel
323 reviews
6.29 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Crema Deli
187 reviews
.19 miles away
Reubens 46
204 reviews
.03 miles away
Bojangles Brasserie
220 reviews
.21 miles away
The Loft Cafe
60 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Astbury Mere Country Park
164 reviews
.92 miles away
Congleton Visitor Information Centre
56 reviews
.12 miles away
Victoria Mill Antiques & Collectors Centre
52 reviews
.13 miles away
Congleton Museum
24 reviews
.09 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Young Pretender Beer Parlour staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$15
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
16:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
16:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
16:00 - 23:00
Thursday
16:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 01:00
Saturday
12:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 30-34 Lawton Street, Congleton CW12 1RS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Congleton
  • Phone Number: +44 1260 273277
  • E-mail
Description
We opened in April 2012 in the former Dean's Toy Store (where seemingly everyone in Congleton got their first bike). Apparently Mr Dean had seen a drawing of Bonnie Prince Charlie hiding in our cellar, so we gave our bar this otherwise irrelevant name. Part of our building is seriously old - check out the beams in the front part of the building - apparently our 'no. 30' was the oldest building on the street, once called Lawton Farmhouse. We have 10 keg fonts of European/craft beers, and 5 continually rotating cask ales on the bar, as well as real cider on tap, and fridges rammed with bottled beers from all over the world. We serve the best coffee in town and our 5 star awarded kitchens provide quality food all day - from sandwiches and snacks, through to tasty tapas - perfect for sharing. We also like hosting all manner of events - live music, Congleton SciBar, language conversation groups, film nights, craft nights, charity quizzes, etc.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing