We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tastebuds at the Wharf

Station Road, Rufford L40 1TB, England
+44 1704 822888
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good22%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (11 reviews)
“ice cream” (10 reviews)
“cakes” (26 reviews)
Closed Now
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
Station Road, Rufford L40 1TB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Wow, what a great selection of savoury and sweet Christmas themed goodies served with a big pot of tea. Lovely service and great price at £14.95 pp Great general menu as well and an awesome selection of cakes Well worth a visit

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 13suzb
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with a group of friends on a bike ride. Brilliant selection of cakes!! I had lemon meringue pie, which was delicious. Others had chocolate cake, teacakes, poached eggs on toast and beans and eggs in toast. All really happy 😊 Lovely selection of coffees....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank millsychelsea
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A great place for lunch and a snack. There is a great selection of homemade cakes and meals. We had the afternoon tea which was delicious. There was plenty of tea to go with it. Staff very friendly and polite. This was our first visit...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Fje70
Reviewed 6 October 2018

The menu was quite varied and inviting. The staff were very quick and also friendly which is always nice. Best of all the food was delicious and we would not hesitate to repeat our visit - just to eat.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank George E
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Although my husband's order was wrong he was happy enough to eat it. The staff were very attentive and insisted he had his money back even though he enjoyed what he had. It makes such a change from places where the customer is NOT always...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Pat T
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Visited with my family yesterday and not one complaint could be found. My steak sandwich was absolutely delicious, with the apple pie and custard for dessert to top off the visit. No request was any bother, and the cafe is in such a lovely setting!...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Bethany T
Reviewed 14 August 2018

I called at Tastebuds with some friends for breakfast last Sunday and it was AMAZING! The food was served quickly and was very good quality! My friends, who have not been before, had travelled from Derbyshire for the visit and were VERY happy with their...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank eroseb96
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Going to keep it short and sweet but this places never fails me. Excellent every time, loads to choose from. The menu is different to the rest! not just your average boring food there is something for everyone. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank leahlouh
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Called here today my husband had the special burger and my my it was special, he said it was one of the best he'd ever had steakburger,black pudding,cheese and all the trimming a real feast. When it arrived we all gasped it looked so good....More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank tinassss625
Reviewed 8 August 2018

I like this place. We have been a few times and the food is very good so no complains on that score and most of the staff are very pleasant. One complaint though, I’ve noticed that they have a system of preparing drinks even as...More

Date of visit: August 2018
9  Thank John T
lisa h, Owner at Tastebuds at the Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Sorry to hear of your recent experience regarding your breakfast. It is always difficult with self service getting the balance just right especially on busy days when food may take a little longer than usual. However I am glad you have brought this to my...More

Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Rufford Arms Hotel
308 reviews
.88 miles away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
1,190 reviews
4.66 miles away
Ramada Chorley South
562 reviews
4.79 miles away
The Wrightington Hotel & Health Club
572 reviews
5.19 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Rufford Arms
249 reviews
.89 miles away
The Boat House Brasserie
357 reviews
.16 miles away
The Hesketh Arms
174 reviews
.32 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Rufford Old Hall
473 reviews
.30 miles away
Cedar Farm Galleries
51 reviews
2.01 miles away
Windmill Animal Farm
355 reviews
2.04 miles away
Lancashire Canal Cruises
687 reviews
2.94 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
6 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Tracy S | Reviewed this property |
They have an outside space where you can eat, they except dogs in this part.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Waitstaff, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
09:00 - 17:00
09:00 - 16:00
09:00 - 16:00
09:00 - 16:00
09:00 - 16:00
09:00 - 16:00
09:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Station Road, Rufford L40 1TB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Rufford
  • Phone Number: +44 1704 822888
  • E-mail
Tastebuds Cafe/Tea Room is situated at Fettlers Wharf Marina along the canal at Rufford. Serving delicious home cooked breakfasts, lunches, afternoon teas and a mouth watering selection of hand made cakes. Outside seating area also available to indulge in our ice cream, smoothies and milkshakes.A lovely place to stop and treat yourself. Open from 9.30Am - 5.00Pm seven days a week. Free Wi-Fi available. Disabled Access. Cyclists welcome.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing