We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Red Lion

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
South End | 2 miles towards london from Woburn, turn left., Milton Bryan MK17 9HS, England
+44 1525 210044
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 19:00
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 299: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We have been here on numerous occasions and have enjoyed it immensely. This time we need 'gluten free' but no gluten free gravy, not much on menu for a coeliac either!!

Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went here a couple of times 25 years ago but stopped going because the landlord was so miserable! Had heard it was good and so booked for a late lunch on Easter Sunday. It wasn't quite as busy as I thought it might be but definitely happy that I decided to go back after so many years. The four of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike4Owls
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited your beautiful restaurant on Bank Holiday Monday. It was busy and had a lovely atmosphere. We hadn't booked a table and was told that there was an hour wait for food. As we were in no rush it gave us a chance to sample some lovely wines. Our food was definitely worth the wait as it looked &... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bbbbbcccxx
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have always loved having this as our local pub - family and dog friendly, a great atmosphere, brilliant food, fantastic wine, what's not to love! Service always helpful but not too in-your-face, an enjoyable meal whenever you visit. Would recommend also a drink in the newly refurbished garden area, comfortable and stylish. Would highly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank ellieden97
Toddington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to The Red Lion for lunch, they had great food and a large selection of drinks to chose from! The garden is really lovely, and it's dog friendly. Will definitely be back :)

Helpful?
1 Thank mollyallan1
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Every time i've visited this pub everything about the meal has been amazing, great quality food, super friendly but not intrusive service from all the lovely staff members, comfortable and inviting atmosphere and all round a great way to spend an evening or afternoon. Can't wait to come back and try some of the new menu!

Helpful?
1 Thank Megan C
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've been to the red lion a few times and always have a lovely meal. This time was no different. Lovely, friendly waitresses and delicious food. The roast dinners are amazing. My partner had a ribeye which was cooked to perfection. The pub was busy but had a great atmosphere. Cannot recommend enough!

Helpful?
1 Thank Leticia S
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went on Friday night and it was buzzing, great atmosphere and we had fantastic food with great wine and gin. Service was faultless and will definitely be going back. Thank you all at the red lion

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa A
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having enjoyed a previous visit we returned today for our daughter's birthday. The restaurant was almost empty when we arrived so having to wait well over an hour for our food after ordering was unexpected. It took over 30 mins for bread and olives to arrive and when they did it was haloumi instead of olives. 2 steak sandwiches came... More 

Helpful?
Thank AmandaOllier
nelstricko6, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apologise. It was a bank holiday and we were overwhelmed of how busy we were, we did over 100 people yesterday and even turned people away. We are very proud of how much we have built our lovely restaurants reputation so far and your experience is definitely not the norm. Yes we were short staffed... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food was okay however we did however encounter awful service. Five gins unavailable, and the first choice of red wine. Other drinks were wrong. Someone was given an out of date menu so their first choice starter was not available. Garlic bread which was extremely burnt. Two mains were wrong, and one didn't arrive until every one else had finished.... More 

Helpful?
Thank TONICHOUSEOK
nelstricko6, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apologise. We were short staffed and a lot busier than anticipated. It was Easter Monday, the last day of a very busy weekend for us and we did over 100 people and even turned people away. When your table was told about not having the langoustines I was walking past and stopped to explain that... More 

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Woburn, Bedfordshire
 
Aspley Guise, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Validated Parking
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 19:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: South End | 2 miles towards london from Woburn, turn left., Milton Bryan MK17 9HS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Milton Bryan
  • Phone Number: +44 1525 210044
Description
The Red Lion at Milton Bryan is a stunning country pub in the Heart of Milton Bryan in the gorgeous Bedfordshire countryside serving amazing food and drink!
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Red Lion and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Buckingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Red Lion staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?