We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverside Cafe Tea Room and Gardens

Houghton Bridge, Amberley BN18 9LP, England
+44 1798 831066
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good21%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“cakes” (34 reviews)
“burger” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Houghton Bridge, Amberley BN18 9LP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We have been going to this most charming and most delightful tea rooms for many, many years and always received excellent food and service and today was no different. We had afternoon tea which was absolutely spot on and delicious and we had excellent attentive...More

Thank EDDIE M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After driving through Amberley a numerous amount of times, I was keen to visit the Riverside Cafe for lunch! We came on a sunny Friday to which we were greeted by friendly faces. We sat outside, absolutely lovely views overlooking the river and countryside. Service...More

1  Thank lou123ise
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

stopped off here for lunch on a busy Friday. service was friendly but the menu was not what we expected - chips with almost everything! settled on a riverside savoury cream tea. sandwiches were freshly made and a warm scone went down well. for £30...More

Thank maddiePortsmouth
francescula, Owner at Riverside Cafe Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed our Riverside Savoury Tea but I must clarify that it only costs £12.25 per person! Best regards Francesca

Reviewed 28 September 2017

Despite arriving 10 minutes before closing we were given a very warm welcome. Gorgeous coffee and cake at the end of our long walk was much appreciated, made more enjoyable knowing we weren't being rushed at all

1  Thank Allison G
francescula, Owner at Riverside Cafe Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind review, it was our pleasure to welcome you near to closing time! We look forward to seeing you again soon, Best regards Francesca

Reviewed 21 September 2017

It was great for the kids. Good food and beer and atmostphere. It was a relief to get away from all the traffic and the river scene was great

Thank stephen c
francescula, Owner at Riverside Cafe Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and that your children did too! Best regards Francesca

Reviewed 15 September 2017

We came here again for lunch today, another lovely meal freshly cooked , the food is amazing , we visit here alot in the summer and sit outside in the peaceful garden overlooking the river , lovely to sit with a nice cup of tea...More

1  Thank Elaine B
francescula, Owner at Riverside Cafe Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience, we look forward to welcoming you back! Best regards Francesca

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We were walking the South Downs Way and we looked the worse for wear. But they deal with walkers all the time and the greeting was warm and cordial. The service was excellent as was the food. This is a absolute must visit, the price's...More

Thank Fusilier0810
francescula, Owner at Riverside Cafe Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, being so close to the South Downs Way we are used to welcoming wet and weary walkers! We hope to see you again, Best regards Francesca

Reviewed 10 September 2017

Hard by the river side, with tables outside and in, this is a great place to stop for coffee. There is a private car park, but it got rather full rather too quickly, and that made turning a bit of a problem. Friendly staff but...More

Thank Sally S
francescula, Owner at Riverside Cafe Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thanks for your review and sorry you found turning in our car park a problem, we hope that you return when you can sample our wonderful food! Regards Francesca

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

You can book, it's disabled friendly, there is a free car park (which fills quickly at busy times) and it's licensed. There is a large area of outside seating overlooking the river giving lovely views. There is also a pleasant enclosed restaurant. Most of the...More

Thank Mike J
francescula, Owner at Riverside Cafe Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Bank Holiday Monday we had 460 customers but some stick very firmly in my mind, yes you are one of them. I wouldn't have had to say something had you not been so rude to my waiter, politely asking is not what you did and...More

Reviewed 31 August 2017

Have been here for afternoon tea, which was excellent. Breakfast this morning, however, was disappointing. Bacon was overcooked, they were out of mushrooms, and the tomatoes were tinned. And prices are higher than one might expect for the quality. Fabulous setting, and pleasant service. I'll...More

Thank DKCD1234
francescula, Owner at Riverside Cafe Tea Room and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your breakfast, we were waiting for our fresh vegetable delivery as it was a bank holiday weekend they were running a little late, therefore the mushrooms hadn't arrived so we offered you hash browns (which you didn't mention!) and...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Bridge Inn
335 reviews
.04 miles away
Amberley Village Tearoom
86 reviews
.88 miles away
Queen's Room at Amberley Castle
117 reviews
.83 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Amberley Castle
158 reviews
.84 miles away
Parham House & Gardens
201 reviews
2.67 miles away
Arundel Castle and Gardens
2,480 reviews
3.01 miles away
Amberley Museum & Heritage Centre
614 reviews
.19 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lottie_1990Brighton
9 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from ronborrett | Reviewed this property |
there is some parking available and you can normally find a space
0
Votes
Charcasp
12 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from francescula | Property representative |
Sorry for the delay - yes we do! A very popular choice with our younger diners!
0
Votes
Brian L
17 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Debbie G | Reviewed this property |
Yes ring to book
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$16
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 16:30
Monday
00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday
10:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:00
Thursday
10:00 - 16:00
Friday
10:00 - 16:00
Saturday
09:00 - 16:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Houghton Bridge, Amberley BN18 9LP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Amberley
  • Phone Number: +44 1798 831066
Description
Situated on the banks of the River Arun, Riverside offers breakfast, lunch and traditional afternoon teas all year round. Enjoy sitting outside by the river in the South Downs National Park, drinking a cold beer or enjoying cream tea, we are opposite Amberley Station and 5 minutes walk from the South Downs Way.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing