We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Mill Restaurant

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Food and ambience

Location and contact

About
The Old Mill - A new beautiful restaurant for Botley in a unique historic setting, recently opened and serving quality British cuisine put together with locally sourced ingredients. The Old Mill is rapidly building a reputation as a great place to enjoy a lunch, dinner or Sunday roast This is only part of the story though as there are three beautiful dining rooms, making it one of Hampshire’s most unique venues. The main dining room with its stunning original features including a waterfall and milling hopper is a great place to enjoy your meal, whilst the Ruston Room still has the fantastic early 1900’s engine in place. The Heritage Room is the ideal place to celebrate something special and
PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$25
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
British, Contemporary
FEATURES
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
125
21
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
125
21
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheesecake amuse bouche lamb fillet smoked bacon triple cooked chips black pudding sunday roast three course meal starters and mains parsnips prawns cakes great surroundings perfect sunday lunch wander around water wheel historical building
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first trip to the Old Mill, we went for my wife’s birthday. Unfortunately we were sat next to a table of around ten to twelve cackling women, who cranked the volume up a notch every time another bottle of prosecco was brought to their...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank HereBeMonsters
JamesDxxx, Owner at The Old Mill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi HereBeMonsters Thanks for taking the time to leave us this great review. It’s nice to know you enjoyed the food and your comments about the Chef are brilliant to read. Reference the free Prosecco for ladies on Fridays it is simply meant to be...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not only is the food fabulous, all the staff extremely friendly and just so darn nice, but the setting is so unique too. Highlight of my trip to Southampton.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Pilsbury71
JamesDxxx, Owner at The Old Mill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Pilsbury Thanks for taking the time to leave us this great review. We are all really pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Old Mill and proud to see your comment about being the highlight! Hope to see you again. Thanks again - The...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After seeing the valentine day menu on social media I decided to book a table for our anniversary. Only one word can describe our evening - exceptional! From the warm welcome from James as walked through the door, the classy but understated decor to the...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Pompeygirl7
JamesDxxx, Owner at The Old Mill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi PompeyGirl7 Thanks for taking the time to leave us this brilliant review. To be described as exceptional makes us all feel really proud. We look forward to seeing you back again for your birthday when there will be a warm welcome waiting for you....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My son and I visited for Sunday lunch which was excellent. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the traditional Sunday roast was excellent and the desserts delicious. We shall be going back.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank I7493UKpatriciae
JamesDxxx, Owner at The Old Mill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi I7493UKpatriciae Thanks for taking the time to leave us this great review. We really appreciate it and the elements you have mentioned are everything we try to do well for our customers. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon -...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Quality ingredients Quality cooking Quality staff James is a convivial host and his team are attentive without being intrusive. We had a thoroughly enjoyable meal and definitely will return.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank T T
JamesDxxx, Owner at The Old Mill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi TT Thanks for taking the time to leave us this QUALITY review. It is really appreciated and we are all pleased to know you enjoyed your time at The Old Mill. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again soon - The...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The restaurant setting is lovely.Temperature in the room just ok,any cooler and it could have been a tad warmer.Lovely menu,could have eaten everything on it.The amuse bouche was fresh,just shy of needing more seasoning.All the starters went down well,particularly the scallops.A scoop of blackcurrant sorbrt...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Tillyreine
JamesDxxx, Owner at The Old Mill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Tillyreine Thanks for taking the time to leave us this great review. You have mentioned the quality of the staff, food and the fact you all had a nice evening - so that’s all we want to hear when someone visits us. We do...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were given a voucher for Christmas and couldn't wait to pop in and have lunch. We weren't disappointed, the food and service was brilliant. A very warm and friendly atmosphere and the lunch menu was absolutely superb. We highly recommend and are looking forward...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank richardlatto
JamesDxxx, Owner at The Old Mill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi richardlatto Thanks for taking the time to leave us this brilliant review. You have said it all and the team are really proud to see these comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon and there’s always a warm welcome waiting for you....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here on Valentines night, and I particularly booked this because it was high up on the ratings on here, and I wanted something away from town. We wasn’t sure what to expect, my partner had never heard of it and I was looking...More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank KrazyKatlover
JamesDxxx, Manager at The Old Mill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi KrazyKatlover Firstly I want to thank you for leaving this fantastic review for us! Your comments have hit on everything we try to achieve, and all the elements combined to try to make our customers time at The Old Mill a great experience. We...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had dinner for five of us. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we had a great dining experience. The scallops I had as a starter were properly cooked and presented. A very unusually mild black pudding crumble was amazing. Those...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Classicmininutter
JamesDxxx, Owner at The Old Mill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Classicmininutter Thanks for taking the time to leave us this great review. It’s great to see you all enjoyed the food, wine, service and unique setting here. My favourite is the scallops followed by the steak, and I love our triple cooked chips a...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

First visit and won’t be the last. Food was excellent quality with attentive staff who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The setting is interesting with the old mil engine still in place. It is a little pricey but still provides...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank NICK_SEMPS
JamesDxxx, Owner at The Old Mill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nick Thanks for taking the time to leave us this great review, it is much appreciated by all the team. You have said it all in terms of unique setting, quality of the food, service and that you will be coming back and there’s...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Botleigh Grange Hotel
1,038 reviews
1.16 miles away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa
2,509 reviews
1.29 miles away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
1,484 reviews
2.38 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
1,190 reviews
2.53 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 15 nearby restaurants
Brewery bar
321 reviews
.06 miles away
Regginas Ristorante Italiano
661 reviews
.10 miles away
King's Country Kitchen & Bar
277 reviews
.34 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 5 nearby attractions
CrackleRock Brewing Company
17 reviews
.12 miles away
Botleigh Grange Spa
90 reviews
1.16 miles away
Cineworld Whiteley
226 reviews
2.15 miles away
Bursledon Brickworks Industrial Museum
160 reviews
2.18 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
JuanGeorgio
7 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 1947Colin22 | Reviewed this property |
I can only repeat what Gooner 59 suggests.
0
Votes
921nickyd
28 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from JamesDxxx | Property representative |
Hi We love dogs but not in our restaurant, unless of course it's a guide dog or similar assistance dog. Sorry
0
Votes
Glo1949
22 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from JamesDxxx | Property representative |
Hi Glo1949 We have parking onsite and we are all on one level except for one step. Please mention this when you book and we will do all we can to help on the day. Thanks The Old Mill
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing