We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bugle Inn

££ - £££
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
10 High Street | Botley Hampshire, Botley, Southampton SO30 2EA, England
+44 1489 691082
12:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Sun 12:00 - 22:00
Mon - Sat 11:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 103: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What a lovely evening an experience to be repeated. Convivial atomosphere, good company and great wines and cheeses to die for.

Thank Clare H
Botley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I attended the Cheese & Wine tasting evening at the Bugle Inn on Monday. The wines supplied by Solent Wine Experiences & the cheeses from a local Artisan Dairy. The event was held to raise money for local charities – Botley Market Hall & Save Botley School Pool. It was a very good turn out with all... More 

Thank Christa_Mazzoni
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

As locals, when the Bugle reopened we were apprehensive about what the new owners would be like but we have not been disappointed! Paul and Lou have kept the pub traditional, homely, warm and welcoming. Paul pays great attention to the beer being just perfect (or he won't serve it) and Lou ensures the food is perfect, proper home cooked... More 

1 Thank Tracy P
Botley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Under new management, and not quite interested in the locals. Hoping it works out for them, but having been to their opening, and a few times since, they are not listening to anyone. Rubbish Rose, not prepared to get the right one in. Food is good sometimes, would be in a better position to try it out if they had... More 

Thank 1arumlilly
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice local pub. The food looked good even though we didn't eat the staff seamed friendly and were chatty at the bat

Thank jnksie
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went on Valentine's evening for the set menu - wow we were not disappointed. From presentation to taste the food was fantastic. I particularly enjoyed my ox cheek Wellington. Will we go again - soon. Thank you to all involved.

Thank James S
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2017

Just had a great evening, we were accommodated even though the they were fully booked, fantastic food, great ales, will definitely come back. I have been coming to this pub for over 20 years and seen good and bad times. It's nice to see things are ' on the up'.

Thank Andy C
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017

Went for Sunday dinner and was very disappointed indeed. Ordered roast beef and wasn't pleased to find that the meat had not been carved from a joint ! It looked like the frozen beef you can buy that you boil in a bag. Apart from being very thin (you could not carve meat this thin yourself) 3 small slivers was... More 

Thank HampshireAnnette
Management response:

Dear Annette Thank you for taking the time to review our pub / restaurant, we welcome all feedback. We are sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience with us for our Sunday roasts, we have checked back at our customer feedback and resolutions diary but i`m unable to find an entry, we will address this internally to ensure we... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017

The new owners have only been in the pub for 2 months, the food is lovely I love the steamed vegetables. and the Sunday roast is very good with Jazz playing in the background.

Thank patriciaredington
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Welcomed by the bar man still chewing on some food and he pored my beer disinterested. Offered some chat to my wife which seemed more pervy than casual to my ears. Very quite pub for a Saturday early afternoon. Kids running around and the barman's (may he was the owner) family making up most of the patrons. Seemed like a... More 

Thank tom2002cl

Travellers who viewed The Bugle Inn also viewed

Botley, Southampton
Southampton, Hampshire

Been to The Bugle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$19
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Kids, Groups
Open Hours
12:00 - 22:00
11:30 - 23:00
11:30 - 23:00
11:30 - 23:00
11:30 - 23:00
11:30 - 23:00
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 High Street | Botley Hampshire, Botley, Southampton SO30 2EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Southampton  >  Botley
  • Phone Number: +44 1489 691082

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bugle Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Southampton, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bugle Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?