We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn

5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
+44 1569 762617
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good39%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (22 reviews)
“cullen skink” (56 reviews)
“fish sliders” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, European, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The Ship Inn is a pub, a hotel and a restaurant. The restaurant is light and airy with large windows overlooking the harbour. The menu is varied from seafood, meat, and vegetarian dishes which are both tasty and plentiful. There’s a good choice of wine....More

Thank quarryfield
Reviewed 5 days ago

We had dinner here and the restaurant was full! The meals were tastefully prepared and the local produce on the menu are must haves.

Thank ADavis1977
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Travelling through stonehaven found this pub/restaurant at the harbour. We ordered duck and the fish sliders. Both dishes were well presented and the fish in the sliders melted in the mouth. Would definitely return. Very busy.

Thank les_mac62
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food was good if not remarkable. Prices fair. Service was lacking but the place was extremely busy as there’re aren’t a lot of options in town. Booking is recommended.

Thank Nick M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great lunch. The mussels were superb. Lovely 1771 year old bar and restuarant. We really enjoyed sitting out watching the local boats sail into the harbour.

Thank Scott C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food were fresh and delicious, served at a reasonable time. Servers were attentive. A little overcrowded with the tables too close together and you can practically hear what the other tables were speaking about

Thank shuzhenk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went Saturday for evening, was busy ,fortunately we had booked and we were not disappointed great selection in the main restaurant .Staff were very attentive and efficient.The food was fab my wife and I both went for the mussels as a main. It was exeptional...More

Thank Fraser W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the night we went for dinner it was really quiet luckily for us as we had not reserved. The food was excellent although the quantity was a little small

Thank Rosemary R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm really disappointed as it is a place we go often, but today we did not have a very nice meal at all. To be asked to pay £16.95 for a plate of...tempura batter, isn't my idea of a good honest meal! Yep, the promise...More

Thank Justgivemehonestfood
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Very disappointed to see this review. The Fritto Misto is one of our most popular dishes - which it would not be if we were in the habit of serving meals as described here. Our Fritto Misto comprises 2 pieces of Lemon Sole, 2 of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying overnight and it was lucky that we booked beforehand otherwise we would have had to go somewhere else. Glad we did as the food and servce was really good and better than most pubs (probably why it was packed).More

Thank Tom M
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tom M - Thanks for the five-star review! It is indeed a busy time of the year - and when the sun is shining like it has been, then we get even busier. But who could blame everyone when we have such a great...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Stonehaven Hotels
Ship Inn
533 reviews
.01 miles away
Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
402 reviews
7.56 miles away
Maryculter House
443 reviews
9.18 miles away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1,060 reviews
10.12 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Cool Gourmet
126 reviews
.11 miles away
the villa
212 reviews
.15 miles away
The Tolbooth Seafood Restaurant
516 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool
210 reviews
.65 miles away
Tolbooth Museum
149 reviews
.07 miles away
Stonehaven Beach
307 reviews
.26 miles away
Stonehaven Harbour
57 reviews
.09 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Alison R
20 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from | Reviewed this property |
Yes it is. Two entrances - Bar and Resturaunt.
0
Votes
Sandranne C
18 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Simon C |
We allow well behaved dogs in the bar. They should be on a lead and stay on the floor - not on the seats.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
View, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Aberdeenshire  >  Stonehaven
  • Phone Number: +44 1569 762617
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Ship Inn
Description
Historic inn (1771) on the edge of Stonehaven's picturesque harbour. Stylish glass-fronted restaurant (38 covers) with extensive and varied menu. Seafood a speciality and daily specials board. Meals also served in cosy bar which offers a good range of draught (including real Ales)and bottled beers and ciders. Wine available by the glass or from wine list. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wide selection of soft drinks and excellent freshly ground coffee.We also have an outside terrace overlooking the harbour where we serve meals (weather permitting).11 luxurious ensuite bedrooms (7 with harbour views).
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;