We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Talbot

££ - £££, British,
73 Grange Road, Biddulph, Stoke-on-Trent ST8 7RY, England
+44 1782 512608
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good26%
  • Average14%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (7 reviews)
“pies” (6 reviews)
“country pub” (10 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegan Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
73 Grange Road, Biddulph, Stoke-on-Trent ST8 7RY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Dreadful, moved to room in the back on tables pushed together all different heights. Christmas music speaker not working. Inexperienced staff served second rate food at expensive prices. Rare steaks not cooked correctly and sent back, steak pie tasteless, soggy chips, waited an age for...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Trish H
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent menu, food & the staff who although busy were also happy to help. Would highly recommend a vusit here.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank stevegloriabrown
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Really pleased to hear your great comments regarding your sunday lunch and lovely to hear you would recommend us to others! We hope you'll be back soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited before about a year ago and at that time really impressed. Not so this time. Sunday lunch for 4, booked at 1230pm and arrived at about 1200. When we advised we were booked the lady at the bar pointed out our table and gave...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Raymondson
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Sorry to read this following your visit to us. We will ensure the comments regarding the food are actionned by the kitchen manager as we pride ourselves on delivery excellent standards of food and service. We usually seat guests and I apologise that this wasn't...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Attended an 80th birthday party on Saturday 1st of December The Talbot is a Wonderful warm well run business and somewhere I have been many times without complaint. However on this occasion The food more the Main courses where really poor The Beef With mash...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Coastal68645844391
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for passing on your comments which we can then react too, however, if we do not know about it at the time, we cannot possibly rectify the situation there and then, which we would prefer to do. Beef isn't cooked to order due to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was poor, over cooked tough Gammon Steak (no steak knife offered ) Hot Beef sandwich was also very tough and very difficult to chew. Not really child friendly, the meal from the children’s menu was served on hot plates and bowls, there was...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Sightsee756781
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor, Facebook and Google. We regret to hear you were disappointed with your visit.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wasted £60 young AA to get 20% discount . Lies/ rubbish . Rang on 3 occasions to confirm discount was available on AA on the weekend treat menu and told yes . Staff on the night did not know what soup was on at at...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank mark w
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I have contacted you directly following your communication with head office regarding your visit, in order to rectify this situation. At no point did a member of staff lie to you. Discounts can only be provided when terms and conditions are met and we have...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time visit for a late weekday lunch. The menu was good with different pies on offer because Wednesday is Pie Day. There is also a good value set lunch menu available. The pork belly dish was excellent with really tasty vegetables and lovely dauphinois...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank CheshireDes
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving this review, to enable us to fine tune the timings that you felt were too long, but also to celebrate the lovely feedback you have given. We hope you'll be back again soon.

Reviewed 12 November 2018

Came for meal with friends which enjoyed very much lovely atmosphere very busy pub only downfall I was sat next to a boiling hot radiator and with it being busy I was very hot. I had the hunters chicken which was very nice and for...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Jenny G
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did on your evening visit with friends. We are pleased you enjoyed our hunters chicken and apologise that you were hot next to the radiator. We hope you have a great day!...More

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Highly recommended Roast Trio Platter. We regularly visit on a Sunday. As a couple we don’t book but we’ve always been given a table. Food is normally served within 10 - 15 minutes. The quality of the food & the service is always very good.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 1,005,323
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Thanks for taking the time to drop us a review via trip advisor, and the fact that it's a 5 star is super! We're pleased you enjoy our sunday roasts and will see you again soon, I'm sure!

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

My friend and I came for a meal here when on holiday. The pub itself is lovely, tastefully decorated with a good outside area which is fenced off from the road... good for children and animals! The bar team were friendly enough, although a little...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank freddiejohnson95
talbotbiddulph, Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit, particularly regarding the ambiance & steaks. Apologies that you seated yourself round the corner from where a private meeting was taking place. This is confidential information and was held within the sectioned off area of the pub....More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Hotel Rudyard
309 reviews
3.61 miles away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
389 reviews
3.61 miles away
Premier Inn Leek Town Centre Hotel
931 reviews
6.08 miles away
Travelodge Stoke Talke
217 reviews
6.34 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Roti Restaurant
336 reviews
1.57 miles away
Roaring Meg
96 reviews
.99 miles away
The Castle Inn
336 reviews
1.20 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Biddulph Grange Garden
1,034 reviews
.43 miles away
Mow Cop Castle
23 reviews
2.81 miles away
Astbury Mere Country Park
165 reviews
3.50 miles away
Biddulph Country Park
25 reviews
.30 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
dollydelash
2 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from stanfold | Reviewed this property |
Microwaved meals
0
Votes
Pauline66112
20 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from talbotbiddulph | Property representative |
can view all our menu's online if you search for our website.
0
Votes
HayleyC75
3 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Rox4554 | Reviewed this property |
When we went they said no dogs inside, but they have a small terrece at the back outside and they could sit there. So I'd only go on a sunny day because outside there is no cover or heaters etc. Hope that helps!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$20
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 73 Grange Road, Biddulph, Stoke-on-Trent ST8 7RY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Stoke-on-Trent  >  Biddulph
  • Phone Number: +44 1782 512608
  • E-mail
Description
Vintage Inn, country pub dining in the staffordshire countryside. Roaring log fires in winter, full table service outside dining in summer. Children welcome. Bookings online or via telephone.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing