We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fickle Mermaid Chapel En Le Frith

Foresters Way | Chapel En Le Frith, Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park SK23 0RB, England
+44 1298 812346
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good17%
  • Average10%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible25%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
Foresters Way | Chapel En Le Frith, Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park SK23 0RB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Met up with family as a halfway meeting place. Excelent service from the young man who served us took our order and not a massive wait for starters but nearly an hour for mains. Had prawn cocktail and the prawns were tasteless. Followed by roast...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Lynda490
FickleMermaidChapel1, General Manager at Fickle Mermaid Chapel En Le Frith, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Lynda, I am sorry that we only got a 3 star rating off yourselves. We have been striving for so much higher and I feel gutted we fell short. It was a pleasure having all of you here though and I am sorry we...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

This is a Marson's pub and serves a limited range of Marston's beers, but it is in a very handy place adjacent to the A6, and we go there for convenience rather than a culinary delight.. We met some friends here and didn't expect too...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank nick w
FickleMermaidChapel1, General Manager at Fickle Mermaid Chapel En Le Frith, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for this amazing review, we have been trying so hard to get the right staff and menu for this pub and live the fact that customers are seeing the hardworking everyone is putting in.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went here on Sunday 18th November, me and my girlfriend both had the burrito with chicken and it was delicious will definitely be back!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank jd19001
FickleMermaidChapel1, General Manager at Fickle Mermaid Chapel En Le Frith, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We love the new burrito dish too. So glad it is also a hit with our customers. Look forward to welcoming you both back soon. Lianne

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We popped in today for Sunday lunch. Service was prompt and attentive and the food delicious. Shout out to Jake & Richard our servers and Andy who was the duty chef.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Worldcup2010fan
FickleMermaidChapel1, General Manager at Fickle Mermaid Chapel En Le Frith, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Fantastic feedback thank you so much. I will make sure all staff are aware and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Lianne

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hobgoblin Marston pedigree and Guinness beer have really improved in the last few months I think that someone must be looking after the cellar very well i will give them a 5 for the beer

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Janet T
FickleMermaidChapel1, General Manager at Fickle Mermaid Chapel En Le Frith, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

hi Janet, Thank you so much for your feedback. Yes the lines have been improved and you can really tell with the beer quality. I am so glad you are impressed and hopefully see you again on Sunday. Lianne

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly helpful staff. Asked a lot on our visit and nothing was an issue. Very clean, well kept and homely place, we will be sure to keep going back.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Meander18977477951
FickleMermaidChapel1, General Manager at Fickle Mermaid Chapel En Le Frith, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback cannot wait to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean place. Friendly staff. Food very good value and good quality. Food service was average with 20 minute wait. Some lightbulbs out. Drink service was prompt. No upselling. No check back. Friendly good bye. Would return no problem.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ikb289
FickleMermaidChapel1, General Manager at Fickle Mermaid Chapel En Le Frith, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am so sorry that you were not sold any upsells or you weren't checked back on, this is something we are usually really good at. I will pass on your comments and ensure that this is offered to all guests on their visits to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing place my mates and I where just meeting up for a long awaited catch up and a drink we ended up haveing luch and was definitely not disappointed we had the craft plater with chip shop bites, bacon popcorn and seaside wedges they where...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Cooper211
FickleMermaidChapel1, General Manager at Fickle Mermaid Chapel En Le Frith, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so glad that you and your friends had an amazing day with us and hopefully we can welcome you back for burgers and cocktails soon. Lianne

Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

Looked at the menu not very exciting usual pub chain food selection of beers quite good price bit over the top not much of an atmosphere staff more interested in looking after clients eating than serving drinkersMore

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Robert B
FickleMermaidChapel1, Manager at Fickle Mermaid Chapel En Le Frith, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Sorry to hear that you did not get the service you should have received and that you where not happy with the choice on our new menu . I'm sure that if you come back to us things will be better then you have experienced....More

Reviewed 21 October 2018

3 of us went for lunch on Saturday 20/10/18. Restaurant quiet when we arrived and we were given a smile and a friendly welcome. Advised about table service at only one end of the restaurant so we chose to sit there. We were asked if...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank cozycat2015
FickleMermaidChapel1, General Manager at Fickle Mermaid Chapel En Le Frith, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback I am so glad that the new menu has been received so well. Cannot wait for you to return to try some other new items. Many thanks again Lianne

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Navigation Inn
126 reviews
2.46 miles away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
1,234 reviews
4.81 miles away
The Palace Hotel
3,466 reviews
4.84 miles away
The Old Hall Hotel
1,552 reviews
5.02 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Kouros Cafe
99 reviews
.50 miles away
Rems Cafe Bar and Restaurant
128 reviews
.55 miles away
Vecchia Italia
88 reviews
.58 miles away
The Kings Arms Hotel
100 reviews
.61 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Old Cell Ale Bar
25 reviews
.56 miles away
Phoenix Day Boat Hire
65 reviews
3.12 miles away
Jacobs Ladder
129 reviews
3.39 miles away
Millenium Walkway
168 reviews
4.39 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
susanrats
3 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from FickleMermaidChapel1 | Property representative |
As one of the supervisors at the Fickle Mermaid I want to assure you that customer feedback is so so important to us! And we listen, take it on board and implement any changes necessary. Of course we would prefer feedback... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$5 - US$19
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Foresters Way | Chapel En Le Frith, Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park SK23 0RB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Chapel-en-le-Frith
  • Phone Number: +44 1298 812346
  • E-mail
Description
The Fickle Mermaid is a memorable name inspired by the myth of the mermaid's pool on the side of Kinder Scout. Legend has it that long ago, a beautiful mermaid used to lure men to her mysterious pool and either make them immortal or end their lives. Come to our pub, pull up a pew, and one of our locals may well tell you the tale over a pint of real ale and a plate of superb pub food. Sit indoors or out in the beer garden; as we are right on the doorstep of the Peak District, the views are stunning and the country air wonderfully fresh and invigorating. We have a real log fire, which gives the dining room a wonderful glow in winter. Charming vintage touches give us the look and feel of an archetypal country pub. Friendly staff and delicious food. The pub menu has a perfect balance of traditional and modern meals. Rotisserie chicken is seasoned by hand every day and gently roasted to achieve that magically delicious combination of tenderness and crispiness.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing