We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
154-158 Victoria Road West, Thornton Cleveleys FY5 3NE, England
+44 1253 856042
Today
08:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 321: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Met up with a friend last night, such a good evening had the curry deal what can I say, it was awesome, friendly hospitality staff good customer service, clean pub throughtout top marks to the Boss Hogg Tim for getting his Company standards perfect I shall be visiting more of his establishments it was well worth the 80 mile journey.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beverley63_13
TheJollyTars, Public Relations Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this review

Thank your for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again very soon. Many Thanks James More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After re-reading the signs a few times, popped in for coffee and returned later for dinner. Nice Spoons turning out some really lovely food from the usual menu. Quirky and clean, would go again.

Helpful?
Thank Amythystangel
TheJollyTars, Public Relations Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this review

Thank your for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again very soon. Many Thanks James More 

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went here on valentines night for dinner, and they had mislaid our booking, but it was no trouble to the manager, who found us a nice quiet table and even gave us both a complimetary glass of wine for the inconvenience. we both ordered steaks and although both were asked to be cooked differently they both came out cooked to... More 

Helpful?
Thank mfmckee
TheJollyTars, Public Relations Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this review

Thank your for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again very soon. Many Thanks James More 

Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The jolly tars, at the time of righting this review is a weatherspoons. It is exactly as advertised has a good choice of food at a reasonable price, they make an effort to vary it. The beer is good and I. General that atmosphere is family oriented. There is an open fire in the winter, seats there are hard to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Azbat-1
TheJollyTars, Public Relations Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this review

Thank your for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again very soon. Many Thanks James More 

Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this as we had a long journey and needed a nice meal. Weatherspoons is always good value for money . This one was friendly and a nice service.

Helpful?
Thank sharon r
TheJollyTars, Public Relations Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this review

Thank your for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again very soon. Many Thanks James More 

Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2017

Visited for lunch after shopping. We all had wraps, tasty. My chips were lukewarm, no problem, fresh brought out for me. The staff are generally very helpful considering the lady manager was very rude to us on a previous visit. Her staff apologised for her. We did email a complaint but no reply. It has not stopped us using the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 747MrsH
TheJollyTars, Public Relations Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this review

Thank your for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again very soon. Also I can only apologise for any other issues you have had in the past. Many Thanks James More 

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017

Went here on a Friday afternoon for lunch and for £7.99 we got fish,chips and peas and any alcoholic drink we rate that as good value. Even though it was busy the place was packed we had our meal on the table in 10 minutes. The food was nicely cooked and very tasty. We will be returning on our next... More 

Helpful?
Thank mummybear2222
TheJollyTars, Public Relations Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this review

Thank your for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again very soon. Many Thanks James More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017

As always with Wetherspoons, a varied choice of food at reasonable prices and service was so quick. Good selection of beers and after being ravenous, the quick service was much appreciated after a long day. Chicken and ribs combo nice but very filling!

Helpful?
Thank Craig R
TheJollyTars, Public Relations Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this review

Thank your for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again very soon. Many Thanks James More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Food is fantastic, drinks are priced as all weatherspoons and the staff are great. Love going here always feel welcomed

Helpful?
Thank jacqss1
TheJollyTars, Public Relations Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this review

Thank your for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again very soon. Many Thanks James More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017

I eat in here very often because it is good value and good food, however, I can't believe you would serve a steak with peas or a full breakfast on a cold plate. Surely a place that serves as many meals as wetherspoons should have a plate warmer.

Helpful?
Thank Terry G
TheJollyTars, General Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this review

Hello We do have a plate warmer! I really sorry your plates weren't hot and would like to look in to it and find out how this happened. If you want to contact me at the pub 01253 856042 and I will try my best to give you an answer. Kindest regards Julie Rodgers Pub Manager More 

Travellers who viewed The Jolly Tars also viewed

Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Fleetwood, Lancashire
 
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
 
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Poulton Le Fylde, Lancashire
 

Been to The Jolly Tars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Indian, Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 154-158 Victoria Road West, Thornton Cleveleys FY5 3NE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Thornton Cleveleys
  • Phone Number: +44 1253 856042
Description
The Jolly Tars is a warm and welcoming pub and is owned and operated by JDwetherspoon plc.

The current manager Julie Rodgers has extensive experience in the industry and is well known in trade and the local area.
The staff are friendly and polite and promote the ambiance reflecting from the stylish decor, it's almost like there's a corner to suit all tastes and moods. The pub is themed on the Performing group "The Jolly Tars" and contains artworks from reputable local artists.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Jolly Tars and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Jolly Tars staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?