We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Charnwood Arms

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Beveridge Lane, Coalville LE67 1TB, England
+44 1530 813644
Website
Today
12:00 - 11:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 11:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 220: English reviews
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nipped in here one Sunday after walking the kids round Thornton reservoir. We got the kids Sunday roasts and we had snacks. All were pretty good. As far as this chain of pubs goes this is a very good one. The food was fresh and there was plenty of it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tez197831
Management response:

Thanks for your kind comments. I am pleased that you feel your meals were good value for money. Us at hungry horse pride our selfs in the big plate special. We hope you come back soon More 

Coalville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was second to none. Customer service excellent. Always happy each visit. Will be going there again thanks

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank AngeWithers
Management response:

FANTASTIC review. Thanks so much we really appreciate this. I will pass on your comments to our team they will be thrilled. New menu is out, come and have a taste! More 

Coalville
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Used to visit a lot but the last time the food was dry and burnt. The ladies toilet was very smelly. Will not be going back. Others were also dissatisfied nearby.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
1 Thank Web Site S
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback from your recent visit. I am sorry that on this occasion we didn't meet your expectations. I Can assure you this isn't our usual high standard. We have just launched a new menu and would love for you to come and visit us again and see our improvements. More 

Coalville
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cool food slow service to be expected really have been many times in the hope that these comments help but apparently not

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
1 Thank scottlN1787RX
Management response:

Afternoon Scott thank you for bringing this to our attention I can assure you all feedback is taken seriously and methods put in place so we can improve. We have a brand new menu with a fresh new team. come and try us again. the dishes are amazing. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place was refurbished not long ago the main difference seems to be the service, if you order your drinks when you order your meal you don't seem to get them until you get your meal, which in some cases can be quite a while, which in turn leaves you twliggleing your thumbs. Once served its not bad value for... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback from your recent visit. I have passed on your comments to the team and we are putting actions in place to try speed up service especially around drink dispense. I am pleased you think we are good value for money and our team are friendly. We hope you come... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here once a few years ago, didn't like it until I came again for a family meal again recently, since then Charnwood Arms has been my go to place for a meal, the food and drink is super cheap, great quality and overall good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank JamesMiller0799
Management response:

Thank you james for taking the time to leave us such great feedback. We are happy that you think our meals are of good quality and value for money. I have passed your great comments onto the team and We hope you come and visit us again soon. More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Been here few times with friends its always quite busy and has good atmosphere. Food is of good standard...it is not amazing but is still a good meal

Helpful?
Thank Faye J
Management response:

Good Morning, Thanks so much for such great feedback we will continue to please our guests with a good atmosphere and service. We cant wait to see you and your friends again soon. More 

Lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2017

I have just read a load of reviews and disagree with all the negativity. It is a family pub so there are going to be lot's of kids? THe food is cheap and it is a chain pub, what were you expecting? The staff were all lovely, the food was tasty, I am a vaggie so maybe the meat is... More 

Helpful?
Thank artyhiker
Management response:

Good Morning, thank you for taking the time to leave us comments. I am pleased you disagree with the negativity, we welcome families and we are so pleased that you rate our team and food. We will continue to do this and look forward to seeing you all soon. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Absolutely vile from start to finish. What part of a chicken my dinner came from I dread to think & the peas were like bullets. If you don't care about what you eat & you're short on cash, then this is the place for you! My friend wrapped up all our leftover food for her neighbours dogs, poor dogs!

Helpful?
Thank fieldhead4
Management response:

Good Morning, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback from your recent visit with us, I do apologise that on this occasion we didn't meet your expectations and can assure you this is not our usual standards, we will work on your comments and hopefully when you return you wont have to bag up your dinner... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

We visited yesterday I saw a sign that said set up a tab and we will serve you extra drinks and desserts at your table so this is what I did. After finishing our meal we wanted to order desserts we waited about 20 minutes but nobody came so I ordered at the bar commenting to the girl behind the... More 

Helpful?
Thank melfarmer
Management response:

Good Morning, thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I am terrible sorry about the little girl I bet that was awful for her, as a mother my self I totally understand your comments and I apologise that some of our team made you feel uncomfortable however, I am extremely pleased that Alan made you feel... More 

Travellers who viewed The Charnwood Arms also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Charnwood Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$14
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 11:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 11:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 11:00
Thursday
12:00 - 11:00
Friday
12:00 - 11:00
Saturday
12:00 - 11:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Beveridge Lane, Coalville LE67 1TB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Leicestershire  >  Coalville
  • Phone Number: +44 1530 813644
  • This restaurant is at Charnwood Arms

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Charnwood Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Charnwood Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?