We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Copper Beech

Is this your business?
££ - £££, British,
Alex Moorhouse Way, Costessey, Norwich NR5 0JT, England
+44 1603 743489
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good29%
  • Average20%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (10 reviews)
“pudding” (13 reviews)
“curry” (7 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 22:30 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Alex Moorhouse Way, Costessey, Norwich NR5 0JT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food was ok, we had a problem with the food we received, we didn't receive everything we ordered. So the assistant manager came over, well.. She was so rude she made it out like it was our fault.... Not once did she apologised for what...More

Thank Leah B
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am sorry you feel this way. This was brought to our attention immediately by the person in question. We have had a conversation and I have been expecting to be contacted on the email that was provided. Copper Beech.norwich@marstons.co.uk We strive to achieve high...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed my visit. The staff were good and courteous; even at their most busiest time they found a table for eight of us quickly; The food was good; the price reasonable and affordable. i would thoroughly recommend this place and i shall be visiting...More

Thank John C
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

This is great to hear, thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We hope you enjoy many more visits.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely carvery meal was had, and enjoyed by my wife and I, and a child's meal for our two year old. We always find the Copper Beech to be clean, tidy and seemingly well run. The food is always lovely and fresh looking, the...More

Thank jonrichardson1711
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

This is lovely to read. Thank you for your kind words and we hope you enjoy many more visits to the Copper Beech in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Six of us arrived on a Saturday night and the place was nearly full,always a sign that we would enjoy our meal.We found a table and ordered the carvery.The meat was plentiful and tasty as were the many vegetables on offer. The place was clean...More

Thank Tonyholland233
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We hope you enjoy many more visits in the future.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Vegetables over cooked as always but I can put up with that. Beef was like leather and inedible. Waited 20 minutes for manager to come over and no apology, just very unfriendly and unprofessional attitude. We were given a refund but it was virtually thrown...More

1  Thank smithdevine
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am really disappointed to read this and would welcome your feedback direct to myself at Copperbeech.norwich@marstons.co.uk. We have been experiencing quality issues with our beef and have been equipped to deal with this efficiently. I sincere apologise and hope you can contact me with...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We ordered our evening meal at 18.45pm then to get told we had a 40 min wait it was reasonably busy so we thought ok then after talking to a member found out how many staff were on holiday including 3 chefs so no wonder...More

Thank Angie D
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments, We always have senior management on duty. It was extremely busy and as expected we would experience a wait on food. This was communicated on the evening and I apologise for any delays experienced. Please contact Me via email to...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My son is at U.E.A and on our travels too and from we always pop in here for a carvery, which is always first class!! It's a very tidy modern pub with a massive selection of drinks and comprehensive menu both of which are very...More

Thank Paul R
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are pleased to read your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 17 April 2018

We live in Costessey, and watched this pub get built on visits to Sainsburys, but have never been in. Old school friends from long distant years gone by came to Norwich to see us, and we went to the Copper Beech for our first visit....More

Thank runton
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read and are glad you had a lovely time together. We hope you enjoy many more experiences here with us.

Reviewed 14 April 2018

Visited The Copper Beech for birthday carvery last Sunday. The car park was full by the time we arrived at 12.45 (a good sign?) so we had a short walk from the shopping area. Grabbed the last available table. Staff readily on hand to clean...More

Thank rickyh678
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thank you very much for your review, we are really pleased to ready your comments. Unfortunately pigs in blankets and crackling are extras at the moment but will feed this back to our menu team. We hope to see you again soon.

A TripAdvisor Member
126
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

good meal but can get a bit noisey at times but food is good quality staff are helpful and cheerful and very welcoming

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thank you for your comments. We do attract everybody and a lot of families so we agree it can be at times! If at any time we can help you find a quieter spot we always happy to do so. Thank you for your review.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Costessey Hotels
Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel
456 reviews
.24 miles away
Almond Tree Hotel and Restaurant
1 review
1.16 miles away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
651 reviews
1.70 miles away
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
569 reviews
2.26 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Glen Lodge Bawburgh Golf Club
34 reviews
.91 miles away
McDonalds
5 reviews
.17 miles away
Pizza Hut Norwich Longwater
162 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Wensum Valley Golf
28 reviews
2.20 miles away
The Base (Baseline Activity Sports Extreme)
65 reviews
3.83 miles away
Taverham Mill Nature Reserve and Fishery
11 reviews
1.72 miles away
Taverham Garden Centre
29 reviews
2.68 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
tokenfemale
30 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from CBMgt | Property representative |
We allow dogs in our front garden, just not in the family enclosure with play area, there are plenty of tables or boothes outside though for you and your dog,
0
Votes
Donna L
24 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CBMgt | Property representative |
Good evening, we do not serve breakfast I am afraid. Thank you for your interest though.
0
Votes
Harrydoodles
22 February 2016|
Answer
Response from love hospitality 1 | Reviewed this property |
They only take bookings for tables of 10 people or over, but no bookings on a Sunday.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:30
Thursday
11:30 - 22:30
Friday
11:30 - 22:30
Saturday
11:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Alex Moorhouse Way, Costessey, Norwich NR5 0JT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Norwich  >  Costessey
  • Phone Number: +44 1603 743489
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;