We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British, Scottish
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (220)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
128
25
17
21
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
128
25
17
21
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones sausage rolls salad strawberry tart chicken goujons macaroni millionaires shortbread cullen skink sunday roast chilli burger afternoon tea fairly regular visitors enjoyable visit play park friendly quick service visited for lunch
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We popped in at the end of running our morning errands. Figured if it was too busy it wasn't meant to be but boy oh boy was it meant to be. Warm welcome, seated promptly. Service was friendly and attentive throughout. A real team working...together. Soup and sandwich was DELICIOUS and I definitely didn't leave hungry. My partner has coffee and a scone. She thought it was great. Glad we stopped. I even bought a kite on the way outMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were in for lunch today, seated and served by Abby who is a pleasant and very well mannered girl who always had a smile on her face, food was fantastic as always!

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went out for a late lunch today. Seated fairly quickly at a lovely table for two. I went for the chicken curry with chips which was absolutely delicious btw. Chefs nailed it. However one thing that we found bizzzar was the fact that our drinks...didn’t come out till we were half done with our lunches! And we only ordered a latte and an iced latte! Table of 4 next to us got their drinks before they got their cakes. Which you’d think it be other way around if only thing they had was cakes and we had an actual mean. Not sure if this is a common thing to receive drinks beforehand in this restaurant. Or if there was a mishap and they forgot our drinks! Nonetheless we did enjoy our meals!More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very disappointed from start to finish. Not a smile from waitress who seated us, in fact in the whole time we were there,I only saw one member of staff with a smile. Not very welcoming. We then waited 10/15 minutes for our order to be...taken. I specifically asked the young waitress if there were peppers in the salad, she assured me there were none. I have a severe allergy to peppers. Our meals came out, goujons a bit overdone and chips quite pale and listless. Imagine my delight when I was eating the salad to find chopped peppers at the bottom! When it was mentioned at the till, because there was no courtesy check, we basically got brushed off. I spent the rest of the day being violently sick. I would have thought that allergies should be taken seriously. Very disappointed.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Laing, Marketing at Threaplands Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Rosemary, We obviously have some points to focus on here, thank you for your views, we will work on the points raised. On the peppers though, please for your own benefit not just ask a server as they may not know or things could...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped off for breakfast. Lovely, clean building. Interesting items for sale. Welcoming waitress service in cafe. Food was sourced locally. Very tasty! 5/5 for toilets. Will definitely stop next time we’re on A96.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Visited today and was astonished to discover we were charged £24 for 3 teas and 3 scones! The scones were delicious but too pricey for me. Disappointed!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Laing, Marketing at Threaplands Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Shona, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and the scones were delicious but I would agree, it’s a bit pricey because we’ve made a mistake and overcharged you. I’m very sorry about this, your bill should have been £20.40 or, if...More

Reviewed 10 March 2024

This was an afternoon tea for 2 which cost near £30 I was too embarrassed to gift this as it was so went to the shops to buy more items to put in. Would not recommend a takeaway afternoon tea ….what a rip off!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Laing, Marketing at Threaplands Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

Hi Sarah, We emailed messaging to explain the quality ingredients contained within your tea which you bought online which had a full description of the items contained, nothing hidden and indeed has been the same price since Covid. I explained to the email you sent...More

Reviewed 7 March 2024

In the past I have ordered a pancake which was fairly dear for the size but it was tasty, I asked for the same today but was informed it was no longer on the menu and was replaced by a pancake stack which i ordered...When 'the stack' arrived it was two Very Small pancakes side by side on the plate. I thought a stack would have been vertical with a few pancakes nicely presented. The two together were less in size than the original pancake and certainly not worth £4.95. It is unlikely that we will return as our morning fly cost over £13 and certainly not value for money.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Laing, Marketing at Threaplands Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Hi Lorna, We will review this but unfortunately table service does come at a cost. The premium glass jars of jam with your pancakes comes at a cost and the plate you received them on comes at a higher cost of cleaning than ever before....More

Reviewed 27 February 2024

I saw The Breakfast Stack advertised and wanted to try it, it didn’t disappoint, really delicious and excellent presentation. Fantastic customer service from all members of staff also. Would definitely recommend Threaplands!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Laing, Marketing at Threaplands Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

We couldn't ask for a better review, thank you so much. We have worked very hard to create some extremely tasty breakfast dishes and the recognition for this effort is fantastic. We hope you and all your friends and family can join us again soon....More

Reviewed 22 February 2024

The food was fantastic and the service was excellent. It was very busy and after eating there I can understand why. Our server, Ellen, couldn't have been more helpful. Very impressed

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Laing, Marketing at Threaplands Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Thank you so much for your review, the team will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

It has probably been a year since we last dined at Threaplands, and nothing has changed since our last visit. Great service, a large varied menu, reasonably priced, and most importantly, a very enjoyable meal.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Threaplands Threaplands, Marketing at Threaplands Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and we would love to see you again soon (perhaps less than a year between visits this time) thank you again

Reviewed 10 January 2024

Went today for lunch with 3 friends and 1 dog we sat in a glorified tent no heating and dripping wet on arrival lady was very nice with menus then went down hill fast food nice service awful they are not set up for pets...will have to think hard before I returnMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Threaplands Threaplands, Marketing at Threaplands Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

Hi Kenneth, We don’t currently and won’t ever hear the marquee at the front of the building. It is not advertised as heated and doing so would have a negative environmental impact which is completely against what we stand for. You mention service was “awful”...More

Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

We stopped off for lunch, before choosing a Christmas tree. The restaurant was very busy and the food and service was great.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile

Have been visiting Threaplands for years but have noticed a decline in quality of food, quantity on plate and friendliness of staff the past few times we have visited. Today one of the wait staff was quite rude and both women that served us almost...made us feel like they were doing us a favour. It was busy so understand that it was perhaps more hectic than usual but still not the service we expected.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Threaplands Threaplands, Marketing at Threaplands Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2023

Hi Sarah, I’m sorry about your experience. We are all extremely tired after a much busier December than we expected. I know this isn’t an excuse but I’m sure you are aware it is t the normal. Although not our usual big smiles and personality,...More

Reviewed 23 December 2023

Great choice of gluten Free menu. GF chicken burger was fantastic, as was the rest of our meals. Big thumbs up from the 5yr old who fairly enjoyed his cheese burger! Staff friendly and welcoming as always. And can't forget Santa, thank you! Super gift...bag 🎅😁 Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Laichmoray Hotel
480 reviews
4.12 miles away
The Royal Hotel-Elgin
217 reviews
4.14 miles away
Sunninghill Hotel
139 reviews
4.48 miles away
The Mansefield Hotel
269 reviews
4.55 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Quaich - Cafe and Snack Bar
261 reviews
3.92 miles away
Speyside Coffee Roasting Co.
14 reviews
3.98 miles away
Fochabers Chip Shop
283 reviews
4.14 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Maverston Golf Course
26 reviews
1.79 miles away
Gordon Castle Walled Garden
232 reviews
4.10 miles away
Elgin Cathedral
855 reviews
4.12 miles away
Fochabers Heritage Centre
19 reviews
4.14 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Rosalynwie
1 March 2020|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from KarenMT10 | Reviewed this property |
The outdoor seated area is dog friendly
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THREAPLANDS GARDEN CENTRE, Lhanbryde - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Threaplands Garden Centre

Yes, Threaplands Garden Centre offers takeaway services.

Yes, Threaplands Garden Centre is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Threaplands Garden Centre is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4