Martin's Pond

Martin's Pond - CLOSED

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1442 864318+ Add websiteImprove this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
£8.00 – £25.00
CUISINES
British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
features
About
Martins Pond is a 1920s built pub, facing the village green of Potten End. Serving lunch, dinner and Sunday roast, a variety of wines and selection of ales. The pub has a bar area plus outdoor seating and boasts an open log fire and a conservatory comfortably seating upto thirty. The pub can also cater for private parties and gatherings. As a family run business, Martins Pond is both child and dog friendly.'
PRICE RANGE
£8.00 – £25.00
CUISINES
British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Free off-street parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles746 reviews
Excellent
476
Very good
145
Average
58
Poor
41
Terrible
26
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

90jws
Hemel Hempstead2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 family
Just left Martin’s Pond pub in Potten End after Sunday lunch with the kids. Absolutely delicious food. Beef roast was just demolished. Kids had fish and chips - great junior portion and no problem swooping the peas for broccoli for the ones who doesn’t like peas. Choc brownies for both and the apple crumble for the adults to share. Jude and her team were so welcoming. What a friendly place. Definitely a return visit needed.
Written 4 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MissGraceyT
Berkhamsted16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 family
We visited Martins Pond today for lunch! We haven’t really eaten out recently since lockdown and I was really pleased to have chosen Martins Pond. The food was excellent with great choice, including a foot long sausage!! Also loads of gluten free options for me (I had gf fish and chips, a rare treat), the service was super efficient, very friendly and we all felt really safe. Highly recommended!
Written 13 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ilia G
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 none
As a customer who frequents pubs for Sunday roasts fairly often, and admit to being fussy about standards and quality of food, I must say this pub is a breath of fresh air and a delight. Our Sunday roast was perfect. One can tell that the food is cooked with care and love. No frozen/instant stuff as is so common in many places nowadays, even is the pricey establishments. The owner and staff were super pleasant, professional and on the ball. We will be back!
Written 17 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Uncle-Jayo
Wendover481 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
Ordered a vegan roast and it was served with a Yorkshire pudding. They can be vegan so I asked and they checked. It wasn’t. I was told that all roasts are served with Yorkshire pudding unless requested. If it’s not vegan it shouldn’t be served with a vegan roast. The kitchen staff must know the ingredients going into their food and meals. It could be a food intolerance issue. If they put their heads in the sand with that what else do they do? Was any of the vegan roast vegan? You should be able to trust the kitchen staff to supply what you request. Huge question marks over their knowledge of their own meals. A bit of a worry I would suggest. A disappointing experience.
Written 6 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

phillip m
Hertfordshire56 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 none
I looked online checking things out before I met up with family. The beer should have been a good selection of Red Squirrel a local brew. Not at all, one beer on tap only. It would be better off getting a good selection of bottled beer chilled. Pizza was good. Toilets were very grubby, so if the toilets are not clean then what is the kitchen like where the food is prepared. We all expect a lot more these days so spend more on cleaning. Good location if you sit on the common.
Written 25 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jude H
Apologies we do not have our normal selection of beers. I am sure you can understand do to the current pandemic and huge amounts of waste each time we have had to close, this has had a massive impact. we made the decision to reduce the selection currently on offer until we feel that hospitality is more stable. we are an independent freehold pub and getting through the pandemic has been incredibly hard. we have had all our inspections and have passed everything with regards to covid and operating. we also have a 5 star food hygiene rating. the toilets are cleaned day and evening and touch points cleaned throughout the pub every hour. I am sorry your visit with us did not meet you expectations.
Written 30 April 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ethan G
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022 business
Martins Pond hosted us (Emilios) for a jubilee celebration in Potten End over the weekend. Working alongside the team was a great experience, they continually extended their arm to help out in any way they could, and were fantastic hosts for 4000-5000 people throughout the day. We heard great comments and compliments about their team from customers at the event and very much look forward to working alongside everyone over there again! Special thanks to Jude and team who very quick to offer assistance if needed… would highly recommend stopping by for a bite or pint in the beer garden!
Written 5 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

mary
Hemel Hempstead11 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 family
We thought we would have lunch and have not been to Martins Pond for many years. We ordered fish and chips and they were hot but the fish was obviously out of a packet and looked like something out of Iceland and the price did not reflect this at over £15.95 for one dish of fish and chips, it was really disappointing. The chips also looked out of a packet of frozen chips. We also thought the drinks were expensive and a small glass of house white was £5.40. It was many years since we had been but we will not be returning.
Written 21 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Pilgrimgreen
Harpenden237 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 family
A lovely Sunday lunch after a long family walk. The roasts were superb (and great value) and the puddings delicious (and stunningly presented). Lovely staff, and kid and dog friendly too. We will certainly return.
Written 23 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Andy T
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2022 family
Visited Martins Pond for Sunday roast with the family on Sunday 25th. Four adults and three children. One of the best pub Sunday roasts we have had in some time! Meals were hot and plentiful and the apple and mixed berry home made crumble to die for! Kitchen was very accommodating in making slight amendments to the menu for us. Try it, you won’t be disappointed.
Written 29 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AaronHardy
Thank you so much for you comments, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Written 24 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David Fitzgerald
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023 family
I went into Martins Pond for Sunday lunch with my mum, what a fantastic experience it was. We were welcomed by a lovely lady who I assume was the owner and then served by a young lady who was absolutely brilliant, we never had an empty glass or wanted for anything as she had things completely covered. The roast beef dinner was absolutely lovely and served piping hot, you can tell everything is home made appart from perhaps the stuffing balls...this was by far the best roast I have had at any other pub around Berko/hemel, The beef was cooked to perfection and all the vegetables were also roasted really well too, it really was such a great experience and nice to finally find a pub that can pull off a decent roast. Mum had the roast pork with crakling, she said hers was delicious too and couldn't be faulted. I don't often leave reviews on anything but I felt I had to on this place. I will be back very soon.
Written 18 January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aaron h
Hello and thank you so much for your amazing feedback. We are so happy you and your mother had a great experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!
Written 20 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Holly C
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023 couples
Came here via a recommendation from a friend. Their sunday roast was one of the best we've tried! It is quite rare that both me and my boyfriend enjoy every single part of our roast, (normally leaving something behind), but it was all delicious! Portion sizes were good too & very reasonably priced! We also both had the prawn cocktail starter, which again was really tasty. Also on a side note, I want to say a big thank you to their lovely staff. My car battery ran out & they were so helpful with sourcing jumpleads & making sure we was safely away. Plus, once we got home we realized we left our wallet, again the staff were so helpful and found it in the carpark for us, and kept it safe until we collected it from them! We will definitely be returning for some more yummy food! X
Written 15 January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AaronHardy
Thank you so much for you comments, we're glad we could help out and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Written 24 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Carl L
London3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 family
Don’t believe the positive reviews. A large group of us arrived for lunch. £15.95 for a microwave curry; rubbery ham on the ham egg and chips; old grease taste on chips; paninis looked like they’d been cooked in the microwave; we ordered peas instead of beans with a children’s meal, which came with beans and then the ‘landlady’ pointedly refused to change it for peas because the chef was too busy. Rude, unwelcoming, dirty, horrible food. Avoid.
Written 26 March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aaron h
Hello Carl Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you didn't have the kind of experience that we strive for and for this we apologise. We are disappointed however, that none of these issues were brought up at the time (aside from the peas/beans senario). This surely would have given us an opportunity to attempt a resolution for you? You party were asked if everything was ok, with the response being "yes, thank you". Sadly you have chosen the option to vent your frustration after the event and share some scathing comments with prospective future customers. We have many happy customers, as demonstrated with numerous positive comments on Tripadvisor and Google (which you have also posted on). Is this an attempt to tarnish the reputation and good name of a small family run business, trying to make a go of a tough industry in particularly hard times? We have NEVER been referred to as "Rude, unwelcoming, dirty, horrible food". Our landlady also went out of her way to interact with the children in the party. All this said, we would be happy to welcome you back and hopefully change your opinion of us.
Written 28 March 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kathryn K
4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 family
We booked Martins pond based on some excellent sunday lunch feedback. I seemed to miss all the negative reviews left by others about the quality of food, mine was a tough tasteless leathery roast beef, others in our group had the ‘roast chicken’ which wconsisted of small dried out thigh/leg pieces, which they confirmed wasn’t enjoyable by leaving most uneaten, one had veg roast which was exactly as another reviewer described as weird crumbly dried out mushroom risotto, veg were mediocre bordering uncooked, roast potatoes good, thank goodness! 2 puddings ordered, one a weirdly textured‘brownie’, another ‘crumble’ with a powdery pale unbaked crust. front of house lady was lovely and friendly, the restaurant was almost empty at what is normally peak sunday lunch time, sadly won’t be back anytime soon and felt the need to post this as the food quality is not pub restaurant quality or standard by a long shot. perhaps there has been a change of kitchen staff as there is no way this food warrants anymore than 2 stars.
Written 2 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Barry S
Hemel Hempstead1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 family
Recently held my sons communion party at the pond which turned out to be be a fantastic day. From the moment we got there were welcomed with big smiles. We then had a sit down meal which was delicious and the portions of food left no one wanting more. All the kids had a great time out on the green whilst the adults washed down there food with a couple of refreshments. We will definitely be back for round two. Great pub with great people behind the bar and the nothing is a problem attitude shone through all day. Barry
Written 2 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

LizzieEv
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 family
Visited for Sunday lunch and couldn’t be more disappointed. Phoned to reserve a table which was quickly accommodated and no surprise why now - I can see why it wasn’t overly busy! Frosty welcome/seating on arrival. No wine list/drink menu as it “is out of date”. Attitude of staff made us feel like an inconvenience and food fairly miserable. Good job the children “ate free” as part of a current Sunday lunch deal. Meat of poor quality, as was veggie “nut roast” (seemed more like a deep-fried slab of mushroom risotto?) and vegetables mediocre. Despite feeling ravenous I couldn’t stomach it and we didn’t stop for pudding. Tables grubby, and wine glasses dirty (lipstick marks etc). Safe to say we won’t be returning sadly as could be such a great venue given the location.
Written 14 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 746
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
The Olive Tree Berkhamsted
££ - £££ · Greek
Zaza Berkhamsted
££ - £££ · Italian, European, Sicilian, Southern-Italian
Per Tutti Berkhamsted
££ - £££ · Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean
The Gatsby
££ - £££ · European, British
The Highwayman
££ - £££ · French
Tabure
££ - £££ · Mediterranean, European
The Fat Buddha
££ - £££ · Indian
Thai Cottage
££ - £££ · Asian, Thai
The Five Bells by Lussmanns
££ - £££ · Mediterranean, British
The Alford Arms
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Gastropub
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

MARTIN'S POND, Berkhamsted - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

All Berkhamsted HotelsBerkhamsted Hotel Deals
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire