We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horse & Farrier Inn

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly
Reviews (999)
Filter reviews
996 results
Traveller rating
528
252
103
60
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
528
252
103
60
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips lamb steak and ale pie sunday roast pudding cumberland sausage the pub old railway lake district booked a table stayed here lovely meal an evening meal long walk blencathra lakes sally
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I visited the pub today after a long walk for a well-earned drink. As we entered the pub my wife went straight to the toilet whilst I waited at the bar with our two small Toy Poodles, one of which is extremely...anxious and was crying as my wife wasn’t present. A friendly member of staff approached our dogs and the anxious one began to bark at her, I did explain that he didn’t like people he did not know and she was fine with this, My wife returned and I was waiting at the bar when a gentleman who we now know to be the owner approached my wife and quoted ‘we do expect a certain level of control over your dogs.’ I had no issues with what was said, it was the manner in which it was said. He went onto ask if he would calm down once we were seated, we explained that he would but due to how loud this comment was made and the tone in which it was made we found it extremely embarrassing, because of this we decided to leave and spend our money in a ‘real’ dog friendly pub. I appreciate that noisy dogs can be annoying but this incident lasted no more than two minutes and would the same have been said to a parent about their child if the pub had play faculties ? This was such a shame as the pub came highly recommended.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good selection of food, proper chef making and preparing the dishes. Large portions of quality. Excellent service from all the staff but special mention for James who is very conscientious and obliging. Highly recommended

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fish and chips for some were very good. My pan-fried pork was dry and tough, no sign of cream sauce and the plate looked as if it was sreved with a shovel. Green beans un-cooked

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Walked along from Keswick to threlheld got to horse and farrier been here a few times in the past nice peaceful walk and wanted some food we sat up on the grass as our dogs no good with other dogs likes her space and there...was a loud table outside so that’s why we moved away and sat up on the empty tables up a height went to order food and they said no food served up there I said well I’ll order on a table below and carry it up ourselves and no not aloud so they’ve just lost out on our money not helpful at all will not be back after 30 odd years !!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On the ‘upper end’ of pubs in the Lakes. Interesting old beamed building with pleasant rooms. Good value specials on the menu which seemed like home cooked food.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 18 April 2022 via mobile

Booked a table here for twelve on Easter Saturday but when we arrived they had a table for two for us. After producing the E-mail confirmation we were put on a cobbled together table configuration with a walkway between them (mixing square and round tables...doesn’t work!) and one person literally sat on a window sill behind curtains. Finding somewhere else for twelve wasn’t an option so we made the best of it. Service was slow and surly. The food was very good. The manager public shamed the member of staff who had made the mistake with the booking which lacks class. Mistakes happen - decent service would have gone some way to overcome it. Perhaps we visited on a bad day but not really feeling a strong desire to go back.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 6 April 2022

I called in here for a pint after climbing nearby Blencathra. It was a lovely sunny day so I sat outside with my dog in the top area, which had lovely views. Friendly bar staff.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Horse and Farrier, Marketing at Horse & Farrier Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2022

Dear poshpinkpoodle, Thank you so much for your kind words. We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We do feel very lucky to be situated right beneath Blencathra and love to share it with our customers. We are hoping to see...More

Reviewed 31 March 2022

£5.25 for a pint of Jennings Cumberland is just a rip off. These might be tourist rates but I am local and live in Cumbria, so I won't be going back. You can buy 8 pints in Booths just down the road in Keswick for...a tenner, and people wonder why pubs are closing. This was my favorite pub to visit at the end of a day's walk up Blencathra, always a nice way to finish with a pint well deserved but not at this price. Interesting to note that the local chap that always props up the bar was absent, probably can't afford to drink there any more. What a let down!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
Horse and Farrier, Marketing at Horse & Farrier Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2022

Dear Wendy, We are really sorry to hear that you feel that our products are not worth the price. Yes it is true that you can buy a multi pack from a supermarket for a 'tenner' however we are two different establishments. We are family...More

Reviewed 28 March 2022

£5.25 for a pint of Carsberg! which a two weeks ago was £4.70. That's a 9% increase! When I asked why it had gone up so much I was told 'it is what it is!' Next time I'll stop at the White Horse rather than...going here. We used to love stopping here for a pint or two but these prices are just a rip-off.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?2  
Horse and Farrier, Marketing at Horse & Farrier Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2022

Dear B7120LLmartinb, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. We were saddened to read that you think we are 'ripping' our customers off. We are a family run business and with a heavy harts we had to increase the prices of our product...More

Reviewed 27 March 2022 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights - in their sister hotel The Sally and ate in the Horse and Farrier. Asked to book a time for breakfast - not ideal on a break. Food good but menu not changed from our previous visit and...service really slow. Staff seemed tired and disorganised. A shame as service usually good. On a separate note the room in The Sally had the smallest en suite imaginable - it was really difficult to use and The Sally closed in the evening by 10pm. Also couldn’t get a pot of tea during day or evening. In day just a takeaway cup and nothing in evening. Really disappointing.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
Horse and Farrier, Marketing at Horse & Farrier Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2022

DearkarenyP7969QK, Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at our Inn. We highly value your feedback as we always strive to improve with each and every stay. Please accept our apologies for not exceeding your expectations. In regards to booking a...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2,145 reviews
3.38 miles away
Inn on the Square
1,097 reviews
3.69 miles away
The Kings Arms Hotel
688 reviews
3.70 miles away
The Skiddaw Hotel
107 reviews
3.71 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Threlkeld Coffee Shop
292 reviews
.16 miles away
White Horse Inn
312 reviews
1.60 miles away
Hayloft Cafe
28 reviews
3.08 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Threlkeld Quarry and Mining Museum
291 reviews
.66 miles away
Derwentwater
2,934 reviews
3.62 miles away
Latrigg
119 reviews
2.90 miles away
Keswick Brewing Company
241 reviews
3.60 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
karenhG9684KC
18 May 2021|
Answer
Response from Suzanne555511 | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Amanda W
24 October 2020|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from H-F-KESWICK | Property representative |
Hi Amanda We serve lunches between 12 and 3.30pm and dinner service run between 5 and 8pm Mondays till Saturdays. On Sundays we serve food all day between 12 and 8pm. Regards
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Horse & Farrier Inn

Yes, Horse & Farrier Inn is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Horse & Farrier Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5