We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Botswana Safaris

Egham, United...
3 posts
Save Topic
Botswana Safaris

Trying to arrange a safari to Botswana is driving me nuts.I am a semi professional photographer travelling solo. I have my dates (5-22 November 2013), I know where I want to go, the Linyanti / Savuti area. I'd prefer to stay in lodges or permanent camps so I can concentrate on the photography. I need time on the ground for the photography.so whats the problem?

A) fly in safaris are a problem because of weight, I'm a big one and over the 95kg weight limit for passengers plus my photographic equipment takes up all my 20kg baggage allowance so I have to buy an extra seat adding to the expense.

B) why do they keep bouncing you all over the country?

C)I'm having trouble getting time on the ground,I am being quoted 7 days (read 5days on the ground) or 9 days (read 7) I can't seem to find anything longer. Botswana's a long way to go for a week!

D) I know Botswana's expensive but the prices I'm being quoted are making my eyes water!

E) I have a resonable budget for this trip but trying to get value for the price.

Anybody got any ideas?

Hong Kong, China
Destination Expert
for Hong Kong, Macau, Holiday Travel, Food and Travel
Level Contributor
27,266 posts
5,504 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Botswana Safaris

Hello Pathfinder700,

I would highly suggest researching and posting directly to the Botswana forum. It is fairly well supported by a lot that sort of take care of the South Africa, Namibia and Botswana forums collectively so I'd repost there. Here is the link if helpful.

tripadvisor.com/ShowForum-g293766-i9284-Bots…

Good luck with your research and hope you find the information you are looking for.

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 post
13 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Botswana Safaris