We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Will my North Face backpack be allowed on WOW Air flight?

5 posts
Save Topic
Will my North Face backpack be allowed on WOW Air flight?

I'm flying with WOW Air for the first time from San Francisco to Reykjavik in 2 days and was wondering if anyone has some insight to whether my backpack would fit? The backpack I have is a North Face Surge backpack with the dimensions of 19.75" x 13.75" x 8.5" and the allowed personal item size for Wow Air is 17"x13"x10". I'm a photographer so my backpack would be filled with camera gear and my laptop, and I usually put a compact tripod in a water bottle holster on the side, and a water bottle in the other holster. Has anyone had any experience with WOW Air in this regard and how strict they are with it? I've been on other overseas airlines with this same backpack setup and have had no trouble fitting it into the overhead or under seat compartments. I'd rather not pay the extra fees for a large bag, but if needed, I can bring a smaller backpack instead. Any input is much appreciated and I'd love to hear it!

Edited: 09 March 2017, 06:24
21 replies to this topic
Portland, Oregon
Destination Expert
for Air Travel
Level Contributor
33,667 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Will my North Face backpack be allowed on WOW Air flight?

It's oversize on two of the three dimensions, one by nearly 3". WOW is a low cost carrier that makes money through the fees, including/especially the full size carry on bag fee.

What makes you think you'll get away with it? Even if someone on here says they got away with it, if they call you out the "some bloke on a TripAdvisor forum said you let him take it on for free" is hardly going to cut it.