We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

My first Mileage Run

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5,176 posts
16 reviews
Save Topic
My first Mileage Run

I was surprised to discover recently that I am only a few hundred miles away from Medallion Status on Delta. I say "surprised" because I generally don't fly enough in a year to get the necessary mileage for any kind of airline status. However in this case I benefited from a couple of trips to the west coast earlier in the year, plus two sizable MQM bonuses that I received courtesy of my Skymiles credit card. I have some long haul trips planned for later this year and early next, so decided to have a go at a Mileage Run to get the remaining miles for the status upgrade.

Since I'm new to doing Mileage Runs, I decided to try something not too terribly ambitious - just enough miles to push me over the threshold. I've read that ATL is not a great airport to base out of for this sort of activity, but I did find an inexpensive R/T flight to Louisville that departs on a weekday afternoon, has a short layover at SDF, and then returns to ATL by about 8:00 PM on the same day. It cost about $145 altogether and I'll get 1000 miles out of it - not such a great deal in terms of cost per mile, but for a first effort I guess it's not too bad (plus it's a small financial investment if I have to back out at the last minute out for some reason).