We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Booking via Opodo and potential missed flights?!

London, United...
4 posts
Save Topic
Booking via Opodo and potential missed flights?!

This is my first time booking my own travel and flights as I'm travelling alone so needed some advice! I am aware there are many of these threads on here but I'm a bit confused..

I am trying to book to fly to Costa Rica from Heathrow. The cheapest flight I can find is on Opodo, with a 2hr layover in JFK. Both flights are with AA. Unfortunately, exactly the same flights are listed/advertised on the AA website, but are £200 more than the Opodo ones, so although I'd much prefer to book directly through AA I am unsure whether it's worth the extra cash. The advice I have seen on this forum is that you need to make sure it's a single ticket - when it's via a third party, how do I know this? would it just be if i have made a single booking and paid for both flights together?

I'm worried about the connection times so I called AA earlier today and they said 2 hours should be fine to change flights since I think it is the same terminal, but they could only guarantee a later flight if I miss my connection if I book directly through them, and that if I booked through Opodo I wouldn't be covered if there was a delay. Is this true? And if it is - is it worth paying the extra money to have (hopefully) more reliable service with AA and a guaranteed later flight?

I have pretty good travel insurance but I know better than to rely on insurance companies for such things! Any help appreciated..thanks!

Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
2,657 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Booking via Opodo and potential missed flights?!

Also try and price the flights through BA - can often be price discrepancies (hopefully in your favour ;-). )