We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Airline responsibility when flights cancelled due to weather

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 posts
23 reviews
Save Topic
Airline responsibility when flights cancelled due to weather

Hi All,

I have been an avid follower of this forum for some time, but this is my first time posting to it. I will start off by saying this is not a hysterical rant, I will use paragraphs and Virgin Australia did indeed get me safely from point A to point B (albeit 3 hour late).....

Last night at Brisbane airport there was a fair bit of chaos - I heard 3 announcements that flights to Sydney were cancelled due to weather (2 were Virgin flights, one was Jetstar). The first announcement was along the lines of "sorry, it's been cancelled, go collect your bags, head home, and call the guest contact center to reschedule your flight." Obviously fine if you lived in Brisbane....at which point people began swarming the service desk. I assumed they were being given vouchers for hotels/food/taxis etc. Apparently not - another passenger advised that as it was due to weather, they were not responsible for assisting people - Jetstar even went one better, and when making their announcements they actually said as much. By this stage, the line up was enormous, one woman was wailing hysterically and had one Virgin staffer trying (unsuccessfully)to console her...