We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Leaving US, question about immigration.

Chicago, Illinois...
1 post
Save Topic
Leaving US, question about immigration.

I am an international student leaving US from Chicago. I have a connection flight from JFK, from where I actually go out of US. But the connection time in JFK is very less, around 1.5hrs. All the travel is on a single itinerary, with KLM.

I want to know if I can complete my immigration processing at Chicago, instead of JFK.

Thank you.

Milford, Ohio
Level Contributor
2,309 posts
116 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Leaving US, question about immigration.

Immigrations are processed when you ENTER a country not leave a country (with the exception of some flights to/from Canada and to/from Dublin - there may b e others but I am not away of them). Therefore, you will not be processed out of Chicago or New York. The agents there will simply make sure you ahve the right travel docuemtns for your destination.

Where are you flying into?

Hope this helps....

Travelling The World
Destination Expert
for Alghero
Level Contributor
14,637 posts
70 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Leaving US, question about immigration.

There are no exit formalities from the US. Your passport will be checked by the airline but not by US border officials.

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14,271 posts
117 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Leaving US, question about immigration.

"Immigrations are processed when you ENTER a country not leave a country (with the exception of some flights to/from Canada and to/from Dublin - there may b e others but I am not away of them)"

Not true at all. In fact, many countries require you to go through passport control to exit.