We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lufthansa Economy carry on allowance IST to FRA?

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
128 posts
418 reviews
Save Topic
Lufthansa Economy carry on allowance IST to FRA?

Sorry for such a simple question but my wife and I are mostly United customers and are traveling to Istanbul in January. We are in Business class on UA going over but our return out of IST to FRA is on Lufthansa in Economy, we then get on a UA flight home in Business class. So technically we will begin our return trip as Economy passengers and are subject to those rules

For long haul international flights we typically each take 2 allowable size (for UA at least) carry on items on board. I am a photographer so I always have a camera bag with lenses and bodies and a second bag, usually a small back pack computer bag with a laptop and comfort items. My wife has a purse and a bag with comfort items for the long trip. We aren't talking about big roller boards or that kind of thing. And many of our items are not things that can be checked in luggage safely.

The airline website seems to indicate fairly strict limits on what you can take on board and even weight limits. Does anyone know if this is actually enforced as strictly as the website suggests?

Portland, Oregon
Destination Expert
for Air Travel
Level Contributor
29,975 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Lufthansa Economy carry on allowance IST to FRA?

Lufthansa does enforce its carry on rules yes**, including weighing the bags. Economy pax get one carry on at 8kg, and Business Class pax get two carry ons at 8kg. Check the LH website and see what they say regarding mixed class itineraries. I'm on a mobile right now so can't check it myself.