We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Major Passport issue, need help!

Madison, Wisconsin...
Level Contributor
11 posts
6 reviews
Save Topic
Major Passport issue, need help!

Hello,

I'm somewhat new to TA, but not to traveling. So, my boyfriend and I are planning to go to Cabo San Lucas Jan. 6th-12th 2014. I have a valid passport, but he had to apply for one. He made an appointment for Dec. 2nd 2013 at our local court house to send in his passport application. I know, a little late, but we made the plans kind of late, and were assured that an expedited application would get us a passport in time. Long story short, he lost his DL, but had his BC, and many other forms of ID, based off the list we got from calling the passport agency. I was not at the appointment, but my BF said the man told him he had plenty of identifying information.

Fast forward to know, the application status online says "in process", and we called about the passport Dec. 12th, Dec 17th, and one other day around there, and got nothing but "its processing, but you'll have it before your trip." So on Monday Dec 23rd, we get a letter stating that they don't have enough identifying information from my boyfriend. The letter was post marked Dec 11th...we could have been working on this so much earlier! Anyways, we called, they said they needed as much as we had with either his name and photo on it, or his name and signature on it. There was also a long list of stuff. He still hasnt gotten his replacement DL from the DMV yet, but they gave him that temporary paper with his name, photo, and signature on it.