We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hows does the connection work at Frankfurt?

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
135 posts
7 reviews
Hows does the connection work at Frankfurt?

Hello

Planning another trip to London this summer. I flew British Airways last summer, and I enjoyed it however I want to try another airline, which in this case is Lufthansa. It's my first time traveling with a connection flight and I am curious as to how the process would work (please bear with me).

The flight would be YUL-FRA-LHR.

The flight from yul arrives at terminal 1, and I have a 4hour 30 minute layover. The flight to LHR leaves at Terminal 1 as well. How does this work? Do I just walk over to the departure gate for my next flight, or do I have to go through some sort of security? (I am terrified...it's my first time)

The flight home would be LHR-MUC-YUL

Thanks for your patience!

Edited: 06 January 2014, 04:18
Portland, Oregon
Destination Expert
for Air Travel
Level Contributor
29,253 posts
6 reviews
1. Re: Hows does the connection work at Frankfurt?

With a 4hr30 layover you'll have no worries. That's more than enough time for an air side connection (I'd recommend 2 hours).

You will need to reclear security which will be done somewhere en route from your arriving gate to the departure concourse. Just follow the signs to your gate/concourse. FRA is a bit of a maze so just make sure you watch the signs and take the right directions. You won't need to any form of immigration as the UK is not part of the Schengen area.