We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Booking flights from abroad

London, United...
Level Contributor
107 posts
73 reviews
Save Topic
Booking flights from abroad

I was booking a flight online and it asked me if I am a UK resident as apparently they are not allowed to sell flights abroad (I actually read this part after I booked and paid).

I have a UK address, bank account, income etc and I am a British Citizen however I am currently in Mexico which is where I booked from, as I didn't realise this would be a problem.

Is there any chance I will face problems as I was abroad when I booked my flight or is it enough that I am a UK resident? The booking went through fine.

Portland, Oregon
Destination Expert
for Air Travel
Level Contributor
29,627 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Booking flights from abroad

Which airline(s)? And who did you book with?

Sorry but saying you booked "a flight online" without giving any details isn't much to go on.

London, United...
Level Contributor
27,178 posts
29 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Booking flights from abroad

You need to give more info as usbt says, it could be a local tax issue, also are you resident in Mexico or just visiting and booking a return ticket.

Sorry. But you have not provided enough info to enable anyone to help. However do note the fact the booking went through could be totally irrelevant, when they check your passport at the airport, that's when the issue could arise.

UK
Level Contributor
49,561 posts
92 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Booking flights from abroad

I have a UK address, bank account, income etc and I am a British Citizen

-------

I would say that's a good definition of being a uk resident. Most especially if you paid with a uk credit or debit card. I wouldn't worry about it.

London, United...
Level Contributor
107 posts