We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

UK Visitor in Transit Visa - Questions

Bengaluru, India
1 post
Save Topic
UK Visitor in Transit Visa - Questions

Hi,

I am a student from India heading to the USA.

I am transiting through London and have a very long layover (22 hours) at Heathrow.

My flight from India arrives at noon at heathrow and the flight to USA departs the next day at 10 am.

My plan is to do some sightseeing in London in my long layover.

The UK site says I need a Visitor in Transit visa if I need to leave the airport. But since I hold a valid visa to USA, I may be exempt from that too ( mentioned in the same site )

My Questions are -

1. Is the Visitor in Transit visa only applicable for people transiting to another airport within UK or can be used for some sightseeing also ?

2. What are the chances of being allowed entry to London without a Visitor in Transit visa ?

3. Even if I get a visa, is there a chance for my entry to London getting denied ?

4. I plan to meet a cousin in London and do some sightseeing with him. I plan to stay at his home for the night. Do I need to disclose this at UK border control office ?

Edited: 14 May 2014, 09:01
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
11,381 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: UK Visitor in Transit Visa - Questions

1 There are no checks on what you do after you have gone through passport control so the question is academic You won't have anyone following you

2. look to be high

3. There's always a chance - but a very low one

4 not sure on this one

Edited: 14 May 2014, 09:24
UK
Level Contributor
49,561 posts
92 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: UK Visitor in Transit Visa - Questions

4. If they ask, tell them. If they dont ask, no need to tell.

Just say you are staying at your cousins and hes showing you round the sites before you depart.