We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

about a stupid mistake and the huge consequences

Save Topic
about a stupid mistake and the huge consequences

(Sorry for the long reading)

I'm a student studying abroad in Canada. About three months ago,I booked a round way ticket to go back to my country and see my parents, both ways have 1 hour stop in Seattle.What I should have known(what was I thinking…) was the States' policy was different with countries like Korea or Singapore,I need a visa even to stay 1 min in an American airport, which I didn't have.

So when I was going to check in for my flight, I was told that I couldn't board without the visa. I panicked so I called the booking website I used to cancel the flight,I paid $150 and it worked, but the ticket was non-refundable, so the $1550 went into a Delta's credit voucher, I can pay $350 to book another flight for myself or it disappears next year.

Since I don't have a visa and I don't need to go to America again(Delta's flights are all related to American airports),I knew I was bummed and the money was basically gone anyway. All the processes cost my parents nearly $2000, it was a huge lose for anyone.I thought about not going back after the lose, but it's my family, I had to see them, so my parents paid double for a non-stop flight so we could be together for a month.

Sorry for the long words, and I know it's a dumb mistake and no one can help me with it, I probably just want to scream it out and warn some passengers who possibly aren't aware of this problem(if there actually is anyone who doesn't know this) so no one would end up like me. Thank you for being patient enough to read this, have a good life!

London, United...
Level Contributor
27,178 posts
29 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: about a stupid mistake and the huge consequences