We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Air France pilot strike - all of September?

Kaua'i, HI
Destination Expert
for Kauai, Poipu, Lihue
Level Contributor
17,844 posts
35 reviews
Save Topic
Air France pilot strike - all of September?

Aloha from Kaua'i!

I just heard that there is a possibility of all the Air France pilots going on strike for the month of September.

I am booked on Air France from LAX to CDG on Sept 7th for two weeks - rented a flat in Paris.

My question is this - what happens when this occurs? Does Air France rebook you on another airline they are partners with - do you just lose your flight entirely and the money you paid?

I have no experience with this and since this is a hugely important vacation for me - obviously I am worried.

I appreciate any info you can give me. It appears Air France is issuing a statement on August 28th, so until then - nothing is definite.

Malama Pono (take care)

Janet

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3,441 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Air France pilot strike - all of September?

You would probably be rebooked on KLM or Delta since they are all part of Sky Team. They will either have to get you to your destination our give you a refund. It's not like the airline is going bust, so your fare you've paid is safe. But I think it's highly unlikely that they would strike for an entire month.

Edited: 26 August 2014, 04:52
New York City, New...
Level Contributor
437 posts
109 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Air France pilot strike - all of September?

Worrisome indeed. My 2 cents:

1) Hopefully you have travel insurance which covers strikes by airline personnel. (Having to cancel/postpone a holiday you're really looking forward to really stinks... but getting something back in what you've invested is still something)