We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Is food selection the biggest gripe regarding cruises?

Wellington, New...
Destination Expert
for Wellington, Bay of Islands
Level Contributor
10,017 posts
201 reviews
Save Topic
Is food selection the biggest gripe regarding cruises?

I am in the initial stages of finding out to get the best out of our first cruise scheduled for Feb 2015. An experienced traveller but a complete novice when it comes to cruising. We have selected our cruise and its from Auckland New Zealand to Perth Western Australia and is for 17 nights.

I have read threads here on the Cruising forum and on Cruise Critic and the same underlying theme seems to be appearing and in general it is the quality of food presented. On one post someone complained that they used and paid extra for the specialty restaurants because they were tired of the 12 choices put up in the main dining room.

Give me a break at home I don't get a choice.

Am I to spend 2 1/2 weeks on a cruise ship worried about the quality let alone the amount of food we are going to eat.

I looked at the drinks packages on offer. For me to take the minimum drinks package for the two of us will add an additional $NZ2000 to the trip. That's an awful amount of booze in anybodys language.

Am I being over synical here or not

Wigan, United...
Level Contributor
2,580 posts
106 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Is food selection the biggest gripe regarding cruises?

Hi,

Welcome to the wonderful world of cruising !

Where 12 choices of main meal is not enough for some !

OK, my cynical hat has now been taken off.....

There is absolutely nothing wrong with the standard of food on your average cruise. People are bmw's.. b*tchers, moaners and whiners. They whine about anything and everything !